We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient”
Review of Huchuy Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huchuy Wasi
Ranked #17 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sufficient”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is clean. Rooms a bit outdated, but so is the entire town. Owners and stuff are helpful. Hostel is close to the main square, supermarket and market and a 10 minute taxi to the tour peru bus station.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely hostal in Puno, we were only there for one night but we were very happy with our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful giving us a map on arrival with suggestions on where to go (all in walking distance). Room was clean, not very big but spacious enough with plenty of blankets. Bathroom was spotless as well. Could not fault this hostal. Breakfast was great - pancakes, fresh bread, eggs, juice & tea/coffee we were very happy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Friendly, if a touch overbearing staff, who went out of their way to help. Good security, comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast. We were on the top floor so it was nice and quiet. Our beds were very comfortable and it was a nice treat to have a television! Only complaint is it is a little far from the centre - 10min walk at the most though so not a hassle, and the wifi was slow but hey, this is Peru!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. You have to hike up the stairs but it is worth it for a quiet nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our trip to Peru was a combination of 4* hotels and hostels. I like to have a bit of local feeling while luxury hotels tend to be the same all over. besides, it allows me to save some money. But in case of Puno it turned out to be a rare blessing: my husband got common cold in Cusco where weather was changing from very hot to very cold in a matter of an hour. We learned to carrycoats, t-shirts and rain ponchos with us everywhere but by the time we arrived to Puno things were looking quite bad. He was coughing non-stop and had trouble breathing. Initially I thought we'd have to move to a luxury hotel but he was in no condition to be moved. It turned out that Huchuy Wasi was the place to be - despite of being a very basic hostel it had a great personnel with willingness to help and multiple connections. A physician was called to see my husband, diagnosed bronchitis aggravated by altitude sickness and prescribed antibiotics as IV, saying that we had no time to wait for pills to act. One of the Huchuy Wasi personnel was a nurse who administered IV to my husband and looked over him the whole night by staying in the next room. Marilin brough oxygen and it turned out to be a life saver as the nurse had to give it my husband at night twice. The physician came to see my husband next morning and declared him better but recommended to leave ASAP or stay at bed until next day when our flight was scheduled. My husband insisted of seeing Uros and could not be persuaded otherwise. Eventually Marilin organized a private trip - for S/. 200 only - to Uros with a very nice guide, Rivi, who picked us up by a car, got us on a boat (two of us only), and brought us to Uros. We visited a small island with very nice families and were able to enjoy all that Uros has to offer without the downside (pressure to purchase something). Then my husband was returned to the hostel, and was seen by the physician again at the evening. At that point my husband, though still coughing, was feeling much better and we left next day quite happy. The service of the physician and the nurse wereS/. 100 each and I paid S/. 60 for medical supplies and antibiotics (Marilin was so kind that she went to a pharmacy herself and brought me all the receipts). I guess my travel insurance would pay it but even if not - it's not a big deal. Rivi took us to airport in the morning and we were given a boxed breakfast since we left very early and did not have time to eat. Again, it was a basic hostel with a simple room and very basic bathroom with no frills but my husband and I could not thank Marilin and Glorelisa (the nurse) enough for what they did to us.

Room Tip: we got a room on 3d floor since everything on 2d floor was occupied (and 1st floor is reception). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm not quite sure how all the other reviews of this place are glowing, because I found it very average.

We stayed in a private double ensuite room for one night, and left the next day.
The first room we were offered was small, right above the main entrance (which had a very loud, long and annoying door bell) and right next to a noisy street.
I asked for a different room, which was not a problem at all. The second room was far bigger, with a double and single bed, one was soft and the other very hard. The room had very thin curtains on the interior window, and no curtains at all on the high exterior window. I was glad to see carpet, but it was dirty. The room was also extremely cold at night, with no heaters offered, and 3 incredibly stiff, heavy, thick wool blankets on the bed that almost crushed us once in bed.
The shower was not good at all, very low pressure and ran out of hot water quickly. We notified the staff, and this was fixed.
The breakfast was basic, including stale bread, eggs, margarine, jam and tea.

The place could be great with a spruce up and attention to detail. Yes it was fairly cheap, but we checked out after one night and moved to Qelqatani Hotel, which was more expensive but far and away more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huchuywasihostel, Propietario at Huchuy Wasi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Doddos

Thank you for the time dedicated in writing this review.

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay at our hostel. It is the first advice that we have received about noise and the others inconvenient. Yet, be completely sure that we will revise this problems and solve it immediately.

Once again, we are so sorry that you did not sleep well in our hostel, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Huchuy Wasi Hostel
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Hostel is nice, small, quiet and well located, clean and with good wifi-connection. It is run by an extremely nice and helpful family! They arranged everything for us when we had problems with getting to Cusco and even offered to prepare breakfast at an earlier time, since we had to leave so early in the morning.
Very recommendable!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked Huchuy Wasi upon reading its great reviews on trip advisor and we're not disappointed!! Marilin and her family are lovely and couldn't do enough for us. We also booked a tour through Marilin to seethe three Islands of Lake Titicaca (Uros, Amantani and Taquile) staying overnight on Amantani...and so far it is the highlight of our trip in Peru! I would highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for a quiet friendly place to stay that is a 5 minute walk from everything!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.5 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#1 of 96 in Puno
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacha Hostel
Pacha Hostel
#8 of 96 in Puno
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Pinos Inn
Hostal Los Pinos Inn
#24 of 96 in Puno
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.8 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huchuy Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huchuy Wasi

Property: Huchuy Wasi
Address: Jr. Iquitos 186 | four blocks from Parque Manuel Pino, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huchuy Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Huchuy Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing