We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit”

Museo Carlos Dreyer
Ranked #15 of 54 things to do in Puno
Attraction details
Edmonton
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Interesting museum - especially liked the paintings. Eight different rooms including a historical room with Inca gold and a replica of a burial site and mummies..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChanteEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    59
    48
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
271 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Treasures of Sillustani”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thats about all there is of interest in this museum. Its good for a 15 min stroll before dinner but apart from the limited treasures from Sillustani the ret of the colection is jut average.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Museo Carlos Dreyer”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you love museums, probably worth a visit. Something to fill a half hour in a day. My wife liked it but I did not get too excited. I would not have been disappointed if we did not go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection in a small museum”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just loved our visit to Museo Carlos Dreyer. The collection includes a great survey of pre-Incan artifacts. The display of photography, gold and other artifacts is well worth the admission fee. Helpful museum staff answer questions specially regarding some of the museum texts that are available only in Spanish.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christiano_Munoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This museum is almost completely in Spanish. I've you've come to Peru and can't read the language you will likely only be able to read Dreyer's Bio and then have to simply look at all the artifacts. Our entry fee was 15S each which we found reasonable. They had some nice paintings, pottery, and silver pieces. The gold was underwhelming. This isn't a huge museum and you should be able to get in and out in 30 mins if you read everything.

It would be better if they had more descriptions as there are some interesting silver artifacts that have no name or description.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank S4Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Carlos Dreyer also viewed

 
Puno, Puno Region
Puno, Puno Region
 

Been to Museo Carlos Dreyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing