We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and nice rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quechuas Backpackers
Ranked #19 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in Oct 2012... Very good place and would definatley recommend. Rooms were clean and bathroom nice with hot water. Wifi in rooms and computers downstairs. Good breakfast included. Staff very helpful for booking trips to the floating islands and buses on to La Paz.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Quechuas Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Quechua Backpackers. Large and very comfortable beds, large flat screen cable TV, strong hot showers, clean comfortable room. All at a very reasonable rate and including a nice buffet breakfast with good bread rolls, ham and cheese, fruit juices, coffee,or tea. Leo was great. He even went out of his way and went with me to the Bolivian consulate to help interprete for me what requirements were needed for a visa. We found out it's not necessary to get one in advance, just have the money ready and get it at the border. It's very easy. You will be happy if you choose Quechua Backpackers. Thanks again Leo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Quechuas Backpackers in Puno and were really impressed with the place. The owners were very helpful and assisted with booking tours for us and even left out some breakfast for us the day we were leaving as we had a very early start.

Breakfast was nice - bread, eggs and fresh juice, tea & coffee.

Room was nice size and bathroom had nice hot shower!! Great location - 5 minutes from one of main streets with loads of restaurants, bars & shops.

No complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a street view room and appreciated the light. I would confirm what AnitaNZ6 and Agnieszka S said. The hot water was hot and there were reading lights and a warm comfy bed Nice to use the computer downstairs. Leo and Freddy were friendly and helpful. Convenient location too. Great for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased with our stay. Breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs, bread with jam and butter and fresh pineapple juice - much better than the typical bread and jam breakfast at most hostels in Peru. Our double room with private bathroom was comfortable and the shower had hot water. The only negative was our room was right next to the staircase so it was quite noisy, however we are heavy sleepers so was not too much of a concern. The staff are friendly and we were able to book well priced tours and bus tickets at the front desk. Laundry was prompt. The hostel is in a very good location right by Jr Lima where most of the bars and restaurants are located, there is a supermarket close by. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaNZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived on 26.08.2012 and stayed there a couple of nights. For us, the place was almost unbeatably good and this is why:

1. Location is perfect with just 100m from the main tourist street in Puno.
2. The place is very well equipped
3. The price was also good.

We got a small and cozy double room with:
- a private, very modern and comfortable bathroom (fully "western" standard! )
- really hot running water 24/7 (gas, not poor electric like in most places we experienced in Peru)
- Wi-Fi internet connection that was really ok for website surfing and really working 24/7 with no problems
- a very comfortable and clean double bed of adequate size

Other reasons we heartily recommend the place are:
- There are two internet terminals in the lobby and also wi-fi in the rooms and this on every floor!
- Owner Leo is a well available, helpful and really friendly, agreeable type of person whom we instantly liked. He gives you information on buses, trips, even organizes one for you if you want and is well informed and very helpful.
- Tea and coffee are free in the lobby for guests
- There is a well equipped kitchen that can be used by guests
- There is comfortable dining space (you can also order a breakfast if you wish)
- The rooms are quite warm which is not always the case in this region in winter
- You can get an electric heater for the room with no extra charge.
- You can meet some people from all over the world
- In general, the place is quite quiet, so you can rest well and sleep allright (not everywhere the case)
- Checkout is at 12:00 which we very much liked, so you can also sleep longer
Really excellent! The place is good for one night, it is as good for a week to stay and take some rest.

And for all that we negotiated 40 Soles per night for both of us (we stayed for a couple of nights) and we believe this price was more than adequate for the good service we got here. A regular price is somewhat higher.

If we were to come again to Puno, given a good price we would want to stay in Quechuas Backpackers and we would not bother looking for any another place.

Aga & Kamil

Room Tip: All of the rooms are for 2 or 3 people, no crowded dorms. We were in 2 different rooms, both were al...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Giovana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.5 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#1 of 99 in Puno
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inka's Rest
Inka's Rest
#6 of 70 in Puno
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puma Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
El Inti Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechuas Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechuas Backpackers

Address: JR. Independencia Nro. 301, Puno 0051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range: $23 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quechuas Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quechuas Backpackers, we are located in the heart of the historic center of Puno in an extremely characteristic and quiet area.We have rooms with view to the mountais and Lake Titicaca.We have the best prices and the most comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quechuas Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing