We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in a forgetable town - but stop here for the Amatani Island Tour”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Puno is a must stop city... but only because it is the launching point to Lake Titicaca and the Uros Islands / Amatani Island. Puno itself is forgetable but there is nothing wrong with it. We ended up staying two nights here - one before and one after our Lake Titicaca tour.

If you too, find yourself needing to stay in Puno, then we recommend Presidente Inn (also called Hotel Presidente). It was nothing flash, but it was just fine.

We had a private matrimonial (double) en-suite room. The bathrooms were small but clean. There was only hot water in the mornings and at nights - if you want to shower when there is none, ask them to turn it on then wait half an hour. Our room had cable TV plus free wifi. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable enough. Rooms on the back side are slightly quieter than on the street -- but we had no problem sleeping in either location.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They only spoke Spanish, but we were able to get by with our limited vocabulary. They also gave us a little map and showed us were a few budget restaurants were.

The hotel was dated and the walls a tad bit thin, but again it was not a problem for us. Do not expect five star elegance but do expect value for money.

Presidente Inn is close to Puno's walking street and the only place you will want to go. The walking street has travel agencies, ATMs, restaurants and two nice plazas.

The Hotel is far enough from the bus station that you will want to take a cab. Ignore the bus station touts that will claim this hotel has closed down - leave the station and look for the auto rickshaws. The ride to the Presidente Inn cost us just over one US dollar.

We saw this hotel listed on TripAdvisor in December 2009 (when we stayed here) so we just turned up and got a room at a great price. Our room cost 35 Soles which is 12 US$. Very good value. We left our luggage here when we did the Amatani Island tour and our bags were kept safe.

Presidente Inn
Jr Tacna No 248
Puno, Peru
Phone - 051-365573
Email - Presidenteinn@hotmail.com

Room Tip: Turn up and look at a couple rooms
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Presidente
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

Not sure at first (initial problem was they lost our reservation), but once I saw the room it was fine. Had twin room with ensuite just across from the little cafe. Great bathroom, constant hot water. Staff very obliging, even brought us in a heater in case we were cold. Location was great, easy walk to the places we wanted. Manager got up at 1/4 to 6 on the morning we left and took us to the bus station, free of charge. Breakfast was fine. Great value for money

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We had an amazing room with a big king size bed!! Our view was on the corner so you could see all the daily activity!! We celebrated my birthday here so we ordered in room service unfortunetly my boyfriend got very ill that night and we knew it wasn't from altitude sickness as once he heaved up the food he felt fine!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritLovePeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I´m a 31 bloke and been travelling for a while with the Mrs....this hotel is clean, has a hot powerful shower (and clean towels which aren´t always part of the deal in this neck of the woods), a comfortable bed, proper cable TV for us English to understand....and for 40 Soles (8 pounds), you can´t complain. Its also central and 50metres from the main street, but quiet enough for a good kip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wappster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank adenir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoscar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Santa Maria Inn Puno
#41 of 64 in Puno
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#39 of 64 in Puno
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ururi Stay Puno
Ururi Stay Puno
#61 of 64 in Puno
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#27 of 64 in Puno
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Turistico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Tacna 248, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing