We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Location”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Great location, very close to shops, restaurants, and Plaza de Armas. Bathrooms were upgraded, which was great. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the interior is very dark, but nonetheless it was clean and adequate for the price that we paid for. Wifi was pretty much nonexistent in our room, so we had to go down to the lobby for better signal.

Breakfast buffet had a pretty good selection. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night, and the guy working there alone was really nice and hardworking (should've asked for his name!).

Overall, we had a pleasant stay!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ad1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We appreciate all your comments, we intend to provide the best care and services at all times so we apologize for the failures of the WiFi in your room. We value your time to write and also for choosing us as the hotel to stay in the city of Puno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 448 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor and booking.com reviews, and we were not disappointed. The rooms were lovely, a bit cold but they provided a heater. You might ask for two to keep you warm at winter :)

The bathrooms were very nice, clean. The service was excellent, with delicious breakfast. Complimentary tea/water/coke any time. Very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned for all our guests we provide some courtesies in the room like a bottle of water and coca candies. You also can serve coca tea at any time without additional cost. We appreciate that you chose our hotel to stay in Puno and that your stay here has been pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent location, very helpful staff, facilities, breakfast, etc. So nice to have an actual bath for a change!!! Coca candy, free water, good mattress. Great breakfast! Stayed over holidays 2013, and staff found me a shared taxi on NY morn to the airport! Good value. I give this one a rave, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanJoseCA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest we really appreciate your comments and the time to write about your experience. Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We only stayed one night, arriving on the train from Cusco and departing the following day (after a lake tour) for Lima. The hotel is a little old fashioned but very clean and has everything you need. Following a suggestion on tripadvisor we requested not facing the street so didn't get the noise mentioned by some. There was complimentary water, chocolates and reasonable wifi signal, and hot water (although the shower was somewhat bizarre having to climb into the end of the bath and do a bit of a balancing act), and a good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. The hotel is very reasonably priced but what let it down for us were the very complacent unfriendly staff on reception, both when we arrived, the following morning when we were trying to leave our luggage for the day, and when we were were leaving in the evening. The guy who took our bags to the room couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant staff were ok too, so perhaps the reception staff were just having a bad couple of days. However they made us feel that they didn't want to put themselves out for us even by checking us in - it was very cold in the reception area and they were wearing their coats, so perhaps they were just not comfortable! Otherwise, it ticks all the boxes for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank v_excited_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, which I have shared with my team. We do our best to serve our guests in the best way but like you said perhaps our reception staff were just having a bad couple of days and I apologize for these lapses in our service during your stay. We are committed to improve our service at all times. We hope for your understanding and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had two different nights here book ending our homestay on the lake. Our first room was large and because it was not in the main hallway, very quiet. We enjoyed listening to the heavy rain all night. The second room was smaller (bathroom was bigger, though) but nosier, we could have recited back what our loud-talking next door neighbors were saying in their Skype conversation (luckily they were quiet later). So that wasn't ideal. Also not ideal was that the wifi signal wasn't strong enough to reach the first room and had to be used in the hallway (there was a sofa) or in the lobby.

Bathrooms were clean with lots of hot water.

The lobby staff and restaurant staff were exceptionally welcoming.

We ate both dinners in the restaurant, which we do not usually do as we prefer to explore. The first night was because we arrived after dark in pouring rain, second time was just because we had a good experience the first time and were finding at that point in the trip that most touritic fare is the same in each restaurant. We were the only ones in the restaurant both times and staff never seemed annoyed and were attentive and fixed us great food.

Breakfast was delicious with lots of fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, toast, cheese, juice, coffee and tea.

It was a little offputting that they save on electricity by keeping lights on floors not in use turned off. So as you walk up the stairs to the third floor you pass through two unlit floors. Nothing scary but it was just, well, odd.

We stayed here only because we were doing a homestay on the lake, we did not explore Puno at all so I am not aware of whether it is a convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send your review of your stay at Qelqatani Hotel. We are very pleased that in general you enjoyed our service and restaurant. We take note about your room change and WiFi signal. Sometimes our signal is not good enough in some rooms or areas but we will improving this soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We Stayed here over the New Year and the central location of the hotel meant this was a bit noisy, as the hotel is one block from the main restaurant and shopping street in Puno. We enjoyed the stay, good service, ok breakfast and all in all good!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Comfortable stay. Close and walkable to Plaza de Armas, restaurants and other local attractions.
They also provide complimentary breakfast which is very good.
Would definitely recommend this place to other travelers.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Prakash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest, we really appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments and appreciate you chose us as the hotel to stay in the city of Puno. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#22 of 64 in Puno
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $24 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing