We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Puno and at the Qelqatani Hotel. It was really well located only 5 minutes from the main street and main square. The rooms were great, with ensuite bathroom and chocolate and bottled water supplied each day. Breakfast was great, with a massive buffet selection and eggs cooked anyway to order. The lift was helpful to assist with the change in altitude from Lima!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheets_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We're glad you had a good experience during your stay with us and thank you for have told us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    180
    81
    18
    7
See reviews for
56
202
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I would highly recommend Qelqatani to any travellers visiting Puno! Electric heater in room, hairdryer provided on request, hot shower, great selection of breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff who spoke english and check in was prompt! Water and coca candy was provided too! Great location - the hotel was located just behind the main shopping street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobopoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We value your feedback, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights after completing the Inka trail. (Bussed it to puno). It's clean, the rooms are spacious, if a little spartan. The main problem is no heating, I suspect this is standard for Puno, and this part of Peru. They do supply an electric radiator, but you would not want to spend too much time just sitting in the room. Apart from that the staff were pretty good. It's well located for the main tourist areas, and breakfast was also good. It's also good value for money. Puno is OK, but let's be honest, the only reason to go is to visit Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the heating, but know that if it does not work you can contact us to arrange the heating or change to another heater that does work. We are here to serve you and help in any way possible, just let us know how you feel during their stay at the hotel in order to solve the problems that you had. After leaving the hotel understood that we can not give a solution, just apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We checked in to the hotel later in the evening. The first room we were given was worn with old carpet and older bedding. The major problem was there was no key to work the in room safe. The front desk asked if we would just bring our things,including our passports, down and let them hold them at the desk for us. We asked for a room with a working safe. After a few sighs and some conversation they gave us a different room. This room has been remodeled and was very nice with a new heater that worked great and a digital safe. The location was convenient and the rest of the stay went well. The staff was very helpful and polite after the room change. The hotel does have a nice view from the roof.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We appreciate your time to write about your stay with us and hope to improve on everything you need to better meet our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is really cheap for what you get. Very nice spacious rooms with good showers / bath with warm water. Breakfast is good, specially for Peruvian standards.

Location is great, just 2 minutes from the pedestrian street (Lima) with plenty of nice restaurants.

Only minus is the temperature. When we went here in July, it was really cold inside. The girls at the reception had to wear their jackets all day and also in the breakfast restaurant it was freezing cold.

All by all: great hotel for a good price. Would go there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorisbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. July is our winter so we understand you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of August. Great rooms - comfortable beds, big bathrooms, hot water in the morning (lukewarm at night). For breakfast, they will make scrambled eggs with ham and/or fried eggs on request. Otherwise there is fabulous fruit, juice, pancakes (!) On arrival we were brought coca tea - water bottles in the room. We got stranded because of unusual snow in the area and they were very accommodating! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbb4740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your time to write about your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Compared to other hotels during our trip to Peru, the price performance ratio was the best in this place! We loved the heating and the rooms (big bathroom!), breakfast was above-average with pancakes, fruit salat, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which doesn't go to the street. The windows aren't thick, so you hear ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peru_Lover_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 65 in Puno
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#8 of 65 in Puno
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#20 of 65 in Puno
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Property: Qelqatani Hotel
Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing