We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
32
33
30
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
33
30
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of hot water third floor electric heater fireplace dunkel plaza wifi lake altitude tour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 105 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

This was a last minute booking when we decided to spent a night in Puno instead of the second one at Uros. This was by far the worst place we stayed during the entire holiday in Peru. We wanted to stay in Puno as we were already hiking and staying at homestays for the number of nights do we wanted a bit of comfort. We chose this hotel based on a great review in the Lonely Planet, but it was a massive let down. The rooms are really old and have a horrible red carpet on the floor. The bathroom had mounded shower curtain and the drain was blocked in the the shower tub. The breakfast was a joke with a horrible cheap ingredients which was so different to what we got everywhere else in Peru. The hotel is super cold and receptionists are wearing coats and scarves to keep them warm. The charge for this hotel is 60 USD which seems extortionate for what you get.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Agnieszka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during our Intrepid tour the night before going on the lake and the home stay.

The hotel is located in a busy area within walking distance of bars and restaurants in Puno.

The hotel is dated but the lobby etc are fine if you know what to expect, and are not too keen on modern design!

Not many facilities available, and the breakfast was basic (we haven't tried the restaurant for lunch or dinner).

We had a "suite" which had a room with a couple of sofas and a fireplace, a bedroom and an ensuite with a jacuzzi (!). It was fairy cold and required the mobile heater to be on all night. No noise insulation to speak of, so you can hear the local life very well during your sleep. Bed was ok.

In summary:
Pros: ok bed (versus other accommodation on this trip)
Cons: noisy, dated

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank BenDub0169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Casona Co... S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona Colon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017


Good morning, dear guest, thank you very much for your opinion, we are a restored architecture hotel of the colonial era with touches of Art Nouveau, and we maintain this type of infraestructure to trace our clients to a republican era
Thank you very much for your time, we are here to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

Casona Colon Inn is a perfect place to stay in Puno: friendly staff, central place in town not too far from Plaza de Armas and Lima street with lots of bars and restaurants. The breakfast is well in line with the Peruvian kind of breakfast... and last but not least they have the famous Belgian beer Duvel... :-)
We could leave our bags there without any problem for the 2 days we went out for a tour on the lake.
To recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bernard987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Casona Co... S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casona Colon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017
Google Translation

En nombre de toda la familia del Hotel Casona Colon Inn, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en su próxima visita a Puno lo esperamos como siempre con un servicio de primera y con mas novedades. Que tenga un buen día gracias por visitarnos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

Great stay at the casona colon inn. We arrived sick and tired (and unexpectedly) and this hotel nursed us back to health. Wonderful staff helped us find a garage in the area for our rental car (literally got in the car and drove with us there). The dinner meal was amazing, breakfast was free and the server incredibly friendly. The free tea 24 hours a day on each floor, along with the cozy sitting area on the third floor were a big hit for us. It's not a Hilton (don't expect 5 star American standards anywhere other than 5 star American hotel chains), but it's amazing all the same.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank annalisa1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Casona Co... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casona Colon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017


Good morning, thank you very much for your opinion, your opinion is very important for us, your comments lodge us and motivate us to continue improving to serve you better.
We look forward to your next visit to the city of Puno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

We arrived to Puno with a hotel booking and upon arrival to our hotel we were told they didn't have it and didn't have a room. We searched all over the city, going into several places desperate to find a place at 8:00 at night with all our luggage.
We stubbled across Hotel Casona Colon and I had high hopes that even though they wouldn't have a room, maybe the staff would help us find somewhere else.
We walked in and were greeted so graciously. I asked if the receptionist spoke English and he said 'alittle'. He is a liar because his English was fantastic! I told him our story and he found us a room in no time at all. I actually started to cry seeing as to how for an hour I thought we would be sleeping in a bus station... not this beautiful hotel. We were escorted to our room, given the wifi and treated with utmost care and professionalism. I will always be SO grateful for this hotel, their staff and their very very comfy beds. We stayed on feb. 5th - I can't remember the concierges name but thank you thank you thank you!!!! I highly recommend and if we are ever in Puno again, we won't think twice before staying here!

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AMZ224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews