We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Good price. And hot water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casona Colon Inn
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had spent the two previous nights shivering and hearing loud street noise in another hotel in Puno, so we decided to look into alternatives. The guidebook showed the Casona Colon Inn to be about two blocks away, so we walked in. We were greeted in English by a well-dressed man at the front desk. It was all so much more friendly and easy than our other hotel that we couldn't believe it. We gleefully hurried back to our first hotel, threw our clothes in our suitcases, checked out, and hurried back.

As other reviewers said, this hotel is very really old, and the views from the rooms are somewhere between so-so and ugly. But the rooms are warm, the beds are comfortable, the central location is convenient, and it was the first time in 8 days that the electricity was stable enough for me to charge both my phone and my camera. It felt luxurious!

Breakfast was OK. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was extremely good and the fireplace felt wonderful. Our waiter put little flags on each table to show where each group was from, and we could see a mix of French, Spanish, Canadian and American visitors.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWScottJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just one night at Puno and the hotel were up to our expectation, a clean and comfortable room. A bit dark but it is a old building with its charm. Location was the key point, besides tourist points we need some IT stuff, car insurance and groceries, all to be found not farther than 2 blocks. Breakfast was ok but we were not happy to have to pay for a typical broken fallen glass, tipping money, but it was a bit weird.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroeira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and thought it was average.

Pros: good central location, friendly staff who spoke English well, clean rooms with a heater in it, extra blankets / bedding, the hotel staff gave us a few rooms options to choose from.

Cons: hotel is somewhat outdated and the rooms don't offer much of a view.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good location, helpful staff but the rooms are small and dingy. The worst thing was that the hotel had no heating whatsoever apart from small electric heaters in the room which are certainly not up to the job. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetFruitloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were very disappointed with the stay we had in Colon Inn, room number 209 on 08.10.12.

We arrived to:
- A dirty bathmat screwed up on the bathroom floor which what looked like faeces on it
- Broken toilet seat
- Broken heater
- Plug sockets hanging off the wall (next to the mini bar cabinet)
- Dirty carpets
- A temperamental bathroom light

For $60 per night we feel we have been completely ripped off.

Once more we complained at reception and the lady pretty much laughed at us so we left a complaint letter for the manager and have still received no response.

We saw Colon Inn in the Lonely Planet guide and have subsequently written to them to recommend they remove the hotel.

If you're looking for a great place to stay in Puno try Intiqa Hotel. Only $10 more and it's amazing!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 209!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Austin_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nicely located in Puno. Restaurant food was superior quality and a decent price. The hotel is a bit dated, the heavy red curtains and bed spreads need updating. Hot water was a treat. Our bathroom was not clean and the carpet in our room very dirty. Helpful, friendly staff. Not a great grasp on English - when I reported I had been robbed, they replied 'that is good'.
Laura J

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we arrived to Puno we liked the Lake Titicaca. we had no hotel reservation but thanks to information from my lonely planet. we go to Colon Inn Hotel to stay 02 nights. Was very nice pleasant quiet and a good price we liked a lot and I always will recommend this hotel in the city of Puno. thank you very much to everyone who works in the Colon Inn hotel.

Franz.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#23 of 64 in Puno
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mosoq Inn
Mosoq Inn
#19 of 64 in Puno
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 64 in Puno
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Hotel Kuntur Inn
#26 of 64 in Puno
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona Colon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Colon Inn

Address: Calle Tacna 290, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $38 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Colon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colon Inn, an antique mansion of the early republican period that has captured all the elegance of this architecture, invites its guests to relax, transporting them to an era where charm reigned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casona Colon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Colon Hotel
Hostal Colon Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing