We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hostal Pukara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Pukara
Ranked #43 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Breakfast: excellent
Service: excellent
Rooms are with carpet, TV, table, chairs.
The bed are old, we was two in a matrimonial bed....when one move the other feel all....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALaPlageYuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    18
    3
    11
See reviews for
3
26
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We found Puno to be a quet place with little character and suggest that most travellers stop here en route to Lake Titicaca. The hostel has basic but comfortable rooms with showers, hot water etc. Breakfast is pleasant with plenty to chose from. The highlight of this hotel was the host on reception who was so helpful and always available for advice and a top up of Coca Tea.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Pukara -... P, Director de Recepción at Hostal Pukara, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We hope you come back to Perú and Puno city.
You are wellcome and we will be wait for you here!
greeting of the all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

It was slightly higher than what I normally pay for a hotel on a budget trip, but this place was worth it. Super hot water, great central location, wonderful breakfast, internet, phone in the room, cleaned rooms..... you get exactly what you pay for! I will recommend this hotel. If you don't like stairs, get a room on the 3rd floor because that will be halfway to the lobby and halfway to the top floor restaurant for breakfast! Lots and lots of stairs. Each floor level has a really nice lounge/couch area and is uniquely decorated. The staff was really nice. Safe location. Puno was great!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Pukara -... P, Gerente at Hostal Pukara, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Yes, It has lots stair.. but when you ask rooms in below floor, we book for you.. because for you and all our guest This is your home! Many thanks for your visit.
Our stair for the other people who goes to inka trail are good, they can practice here.
Best Regards for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petts Wood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This was recommended in my Footprint guide book and I couldn't fault it. I emailed them the day before arrival to make a reservation and my email was answered very quickly and efficiantly and they arranged a free transfer from the bus station to the hotel.
It is much nicer inside than it looks from the outside, its a bit quirky as you can see from some of the other photos posted on here.
The room its self was very clean, the bed was very comfy, the tv had a good choice of channels and the bathroom seemed rather new. There was even a heater in the room if you were cold.
Location wise its very central to the main street with restaurants, shops and travel agents to book your trips on the Lake. Puno its self has its own charm and I'd certainly stay here over Juliaca.
The lady on reception was very helpful and spoke great English.

I'd recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I find myself in Puno again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We spend 2 nights here. Our stay was great, the room was small but very clean. The hostel itself is very nice and clean... they had a great breakfast and also 2 computers with free internet access... Very close to the main pedestrian street... greatly recommended!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelManiacX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Spent two nights in a room at the front of the hotel. The first night, they had some sort of sound proof panel that they put in front of the window to muffle the loud noise from the street. The second night, I came in late and didn't request the panel - and the noise from the street was pretty brutal. Request a room away from the street if at all possible. The rooms are small and plain. The rest of the hotel is cute and cozy, especially the lobby and upstairs breakfast room. I appreciated the free internet.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights either side of a trip to Lake Titicaca. We were not looking for luxury just comfort and good value for money and we cetainly found that.

They picked us up from the bus station which was very handy. the hostel itself may be on a busy road and near discos but they did really disturb us and definitely better than being in Lima!! It was very convenient for the restaurants and as we really did not have much time in Puno it suited out purposes well. The hostel is bright and welcoming and the staff very friendly and insisted on carrying all our luggage to the room. The room was clean and tidy, had hot water, you got enough free internet to check you emails and a fews other things, and heaters were provived in the rooms instead of having to hire them.

The room for breakfast has a great view across Puno to Lake Titicaca and there is a good variety to eat.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Friendly welcomng atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alih71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Mosoq Inn
Mosoq Inn
#19 of 65 in Puno
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 65 in Puno
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 65 in Puno
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pukara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pukara

Property: Hostal Pukara
Address: Libertad 328 | Cercado, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Pukara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Pukara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pukara Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing