We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland with Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 25, 2006

This hotel claims to be 5 star but it certainly isn't. The views are good and it probably is the best option when staying in the Puno area. The whole hotel is souless. The rooms are small - you will walk into the bed at least once during your stay! The service was generally poor with the exception of the bar. No bell boys when we arrvied so carried out bags to the room ourselves. Whilst we are perfectly capable of doing this it is not what you expect in a 5 star establishment. The bar was deserted but the manager was quite happy to get us snacks, even things that were not on the menu so full marks for service there, it did take a long time to get the bill though. Breakfast was quite a poor selection and we had to ask 4 times for coffee. The hotel does not have its own generator so when the area experiences power cuts everything stops. The Sonesta does appear to have a generator as when the whole of Puno shut down we could still see lights at the Sonesta.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackiemUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2006

This was a great hotel!!It was very clean, modern, the view of the lake was terrific. The staff were very helpful in arranging a lake tour and calling taxis. We used the internet several times and there was a one time charge which was reasonable. Each evening there was live music in the bar. The food in the restaurant was fine, but after several days a little tiresome. The resuarant has large windows overlooking the lake. You can make reservations ahead of time and select your table. The hotel has their own boat dock, very convenient for lake tours. We arranged with the hotel ahead of time by e-mail for a pickup at the train station in Puno. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

This hotel had great views, but the hotel itself does not have alot of personality. Rooms are small with tiny bathrooms and the hotel is expensive for what it offers. There are not alot of options on the lake, this hotel and sonesta. We did meet a frequent business traveler to the area who enjoyed staying in Puno city.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheeltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Puno isn't a very attractive or interesting town and staying in the centre isn't important. The Libertador is a modern hotel (it used to be a mental hospital!) on an island in Lake Titicaca linked by a short causeway to the shore. It is modern, but attractive. The service was very good indeed, as was the food. The bedroom was fine, but a little small. Because it's on an island, all rooms have a view of the lake, -- but only those with a "lake view" have a view of the lake alone; those with a "lake and city" view look over the shore and the city and aren't quite as good.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JRLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Boris Tito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Palomita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank belisa279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#13 of 64 in Puno
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#7 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing