We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view - but no tea/coffee making facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our last hotel in Peru and we only stayed one night. For a 5* hotel we found the rooms very small and were dismayed that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - I suppose they think that if you can afford to stay there you can afford room service. The bathroom was lovely with all sorts of luxury bath things and the view when I opened the curtains just as the sun was rising, was fantastic. Our room faced over Lake Titicaca but there was no time to sit and gaze as we had a boat trip organised from the hotel's own jetty. Breakfast was very good and there is coca tea available all the time in reception. Staff knew their jobs. I loved Lake Tititcaca, it was serene, calm and fortunately the sun shone on us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the lake rather than Puno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greystones23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you very much for commenting on your experience, we will take note of your comments and see the opportunity for improvement.

attentively

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our last stop of a two week trip around Peru was at the Libertador. We stayed one night and were very pleased! Large room and bathroom. Soft, comfortable beds and extremely clean room. Excellent, helpful staff. Great food and drinks! The complementary breakfast was the largest we have ever had. We did not get to enjoy the walking paths around the hotel but from the floor to celling windows from the restaurant, the trail looked nice. The view from our room was unbelievable. We were able to watch the lake from our bed. Such a beautiful view!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Your feedback helps us and invite travelers to have this experience in the highlands and Libertador Titicaca Lake.

attentively

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Libertador and enjoyed our stay. Firstly the Libertador is a convenient hotel for anyone arriving by bus being a short 7 minute drive from the Bus Station and departing for Cuzco on the Andean Explorer being just 5 minutes drive to the Rail Station. Our full day in Puno was spent on Lake Titicaca and the Libertador is closely placed to the main jetty for the tour boats.

Secondly it has an amazing appearance being a white building located on the access-guarded island of Esteves jutting out into the lake giving it the appearance of a cruise liner. Every room looks out on the lake and on our second morning we lay in bed and witnessed a wonderful red sunrise over the lake.

Our check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was modern,very well appointed and decorated, clean and comfortable. We did have a water failure on the second afternoon but it was quickly restored.

We had breakfast in the main restaurant which was a buffet with a very reasonable choice and good service from the cheerful staff serving coffee, tea and eggs. In the evening we ate in the bar which was surprisingly empty during our stay but we received excellent service from the bar staff and thoroughly enjoyed the snacks served - pizzas; club sandwiches etc.

For us, the Libertador was a great and comfortable base from which to explore Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We appreciate your comments, it helps other travelers may have similar experiences in the highlands and enjoy conford of Libertador.

thank you very much


attentively

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Puno Libertador, and it was thoroughly enjoyable. We had a rather small room, but it overlooked the lake, and at sunset and sunrise, the view was beautiful. Service was very good. Upon our arrival, we needed a little oxygen, and it was administered readily and with no fuss.....We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and both were perfectly fine; neither was particularly memorable but nothing to complain about either. We weren't expecting gourmet meals. As our introduction to wonderful Lake Titicaca, the Libertatdor did not disappoint; the best was yet to come the next morning as we headed off to visit several of the islands. A stop at a small "reed" island was one of our "magic moments" during the 18 days we spent in Peru.......the 10 Uro families that live on the island couldn't have been more gracious, and learning about the way they built and sustain their island was fascinating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear guest grateful for your comments.

thank you very much


attentively

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Puno is not your typical tourist location, even for South America. The lake is beautiful and the people on and around it are very interesting (albeit excessively "touristic" - as in Uros women singing "Row your boat" or "Vamos a la Playa" to departing tourists) .
The hotel is adequate, somewhat dated with small rooms, but comfortable (you will have trouble sleeping at 3800 meters and 10% humidity in any case).
Beware of rooms very close to elevator - the open atrium design lets you hear everyone in the lobby from four floors up.
Internet is "iffy" - the hotel has many hotspots but apparently very little bandwidth going out.
Breakfast is excellent menu is somewhat "thin" - and nothing to write home about.
All in all, a good base for a day or two on and around the lake, but not exciting ....

Room Tip: Lake view, away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huesped, muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

cordialmente.

Daniel Molero
Gerente de Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed, had a wonderful trip through South America, The Hotel is comfortable a little dated, but the views are the strangest I've ever encountered quite beautiful and eerie at same time. Spent day at Lake Titicaca our guide is godfather to baby there. So glad we went, lovely people and arriving back to hotel at dusk by water unforgettable. Not a luxury hotel missing ambience but worth it for all other reasons mentioned

Room Tip: View of course, take lots of photo's can't remember much about rooms just the feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Very grateful for your comments, we take note of your comments

cordially.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'm surprised by the high recommendations of previous reviews. While the location is very nice indeed (on its own island nature reserve), of all of the hotels we stayed in during our 2 week trip, this was definitely the worst.
1. Very very poky rooms with hardly enough room to put our 2 medium sized duffel bags.
2. Shower impossible to use without getting water all over the floor.
3. Hard to get any fresh air/use the heating - felt pretty cold most of the time.
4. Difficult to get a table at peak dinner time.
5. Food appallingly indifferent - bland menu and bland taste and much more expensive than many other wonderful meals we had all over Peru. We wondered whether they really didn't have to try too hard since there aren't many other easy dining options without either walking to another hotel or getting transport into town.
6. Dining room staff seemed flustered and lacked finesse.

We wished that our travel company had booked us into the Casa Andina just down the road, as we stayed in several of them in Lima and Cusco and they were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

thank you for your comments, we are working on correcting the observed and to assist you with all the conford you deserve.

cordially.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#11 of 64 in Puno
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $116 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing