We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking, this is the Hotel in Puno.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have traveled extensively in South America.
When it comes to five star hotels in Peru, the "Libertador" chain does an outstanding job.

Hotels should always be reviewed based on what is around them.
Dont look any further because nothing matches this hotel in Puno. The best views, unbeatable service and great food.
My compliments to "Miller and Sasha" at the bar for their great cocktails, professionalism and courtesy. I look forward to see you again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Face the lake for the best sunrise or Puno for a beautiful sunset. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPatrickT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear guest, we are pleased to have made ​​it possible to make your stay in Puno special and comfortable, we hope soon with a new experience Liberator.

sincerely

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel markets itself as being unique because it is the only one on Lake Titicaca. That maybe true but it is certainly not the only one with a view of the lake. Whilst it's location is unique and the views are spectacular, particularly the sunrise over the lake. It is isolated from the town of Puno and as such they feel that they can charge a premium. To my mind it was not worth the money. The roof top gardens and the grazing alpaca were charming but the food was overpriced and very mediocre, we were just too tired to go into town to eat. The rooms were much smaller than anywhere else in Peru and the hotel lacked charm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moose97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments write down your sobservaciones.

cordially

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I must admit I had mixed feelings about staying at this hotel because of the reviews about the "small rooms" but as soon as we arrived the service was really great, and the rooms were not bad at all, yes, small but It didn't bother us at all since we had enough space and the beds were really nice as well. The locations and view to the lake titicaca were amazing.

The food and specially the service was excellent. Ask for Miller at the bar, he makes the best pisco sours and all kind of drinks. It was excelent. Never got to say proper bye to him so if u are reading this thanks Miller for your great service.


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannahpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are pleased that your stay was very comfortable, the hope back soon.

cordially

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is located on a private island that looks out over the reed village on Lake Titicaca. The views from our room were amazing especially at sunset. Llama’s and alpaca’s grazing freely on the lawns and also don’t mind a flower or two.. It’s the only place to stay in Puno even though the rooms are a little dated. The restaurant provided great service and fabulous meals at both breakfast and dinner. The spa room opens at 2pm and has a steam room, sauna and a spa bath with awesome views from the spa looking back to the Puno township. The Township is a 30-40 minute walk along the rail line. Interesting walk.

Room Tip: any room the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

cordially

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 3 days here over Easter. It is used more for overnight travelers who want to tick the Lake off the list but we had a ball. Rooms were comfortable, food portions were small (but at altitude you don't want big meals), and the staff were very helpful in both English and Spanish. The airport pick up taxi driver was one of the best drivers we have found in 15 months in Peru.

The gym and spa are terrible, be better if they closed it as machines were d and the spa half empty.

If you want a relaxing stay on the lake, stay here and stay a few nights

Room Tip: Get an upgrade, the junior suites are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are satisfied with your comfortable stay and have shared our warmth with you, thank you for choosing to Libertador.

cordially

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

+ On the plus side:
comfortable beds, nice marble bathhrooms and showers, lots of amenities, spa included in the room, nice location in a private island, nice sunrise views if you ask for a room on a higher floor facing east, delicious breakfast with lots of options.

-On the negative side:
- Rooms are way too small.
-They charge 10% "service fee on top of pretty much everything and they don't tell you up front. On top of that they overcharged for the cost of our room and we had to make a big fuzz to get them to reimburse us.
-The food at lunch/dinner is just average and overpriced. Breakfast however is good.
-The lady at the spa is nice but she micromanages the place way too much, pretty much telling you stuff you don't even need or think about asking like which towel to use where, etc.
-The elevators are tiny and have an ugly strong white fluorescent light.
-Toilets do not work well, you have to flush several times or poop would left for the delight of others.
-Use of the safe in the rooms is inconvenient, they give you a small key with no tags and charge $100 if you lose it. I left mine hanging on the safe and when I was about to leave the bell boy chased me down to inquire about it. Why don't you just offer combination locks?!

Room Tip: Wake up early for breakfast because it is really good. Take the stairs instead of the crammed, ugly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We welcome your comments, we note that observed in their stay and work on improving it.

cordially

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere in Puno, Lima and you are pretty much stuck there to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. The service is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful, most of the staff speaking English. The room wasn´t too bad and the bed was very comfortable. The food at the restaurant wasn´t too bad but just be ready for an additional 10% service fee (which is not bad) plus a 18% fee to your bar or meal tab every time you eat/drink.

If you plan on going over to Bolivia (which is a 2 hour drive) and you are an American, DON¨T go-have your excursions only in Peru. Americans are not welcomed in Bolivia and they hate us, my girlfriend and I had quite the experience and I sure wouldn´t want another American going there and being mistreated by their Immigration, Police and some of their Copacabana store shops owners like we did for being American. I have been to several different countries and never been mistreated just for being an American. If you are from another country and you visit Bolivia, you will be fine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side of the lake so you can enjoy the view of Titicaca when you wake up, east faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hex07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#13 of 64 in Puno
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $107 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing