We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb facility on outskirts of town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libertador Lake Titicaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb facility on outskirts of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Well worth its 5 star billing. Ordinary exterior but modern and well designed interior with plenty of elevators and also spacious stairways. All rooms have sea views. Excellent food in not too large reataurant so booking for dinner advisable. Varied hot and cold breakfast. Hotel has its own jetty 5 minutes walk away so accessing the lake very easy. My room was a little small with a Queen bed but twin bedded rooms larger.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake at the back of the hotel offers spectacular sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolsGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest.
Thank you for telling his experience in Libertador, we are pleased to have served.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    428
    198
    58
    18
See reviews for
204
578
67
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lake Titicaca is a pretty remote location, but if you decide to go, this is definitely the place to stay. Everything about the hotel was amazing, from the transfer service from the airport (not included in hotel price), their arrangements for excursions and a really great restaurant right on site. Depending on which side of the hotel you stay, you will either see the most amazing sunrises over Lake Titicaca or beautiful sunsets. There is also a great lounge bar area with a fireplace for cold nights which will make your stay even more cozy.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to see sunrise or sunset from your room, there are views on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest.
Thank you for telling his experience in Libertador, we are pleased to have served.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at this wonderful hotel and it was exactly where I wanted to be, right on the lake..I researched way in advanced and in my opinion people that look at decor too much don't see exactly the beauty nature where the hotel is located..some reviewers said a "soul less" place...not at all..waking up at 5am and looking at the lake and how the sun was coming up and the panoramas were absolutly stunning,needless to say..I had no interest of staying in the city where there could in danger and too over crowded...The sunsets where amazing the lobby with the fireplace was just perfect to sip on some local tea, please do drink the tea as much as you can and allow your body to adjust to altitude it will help you as is essential for your stay...The staff at Libertador was the best of any of the best hotels that I stayed at I will not mention the others but let's put it this way they were all 4 to 5 star hotels...the staff was superb and super professional..and do take a walk around the hotel and just admire the beauty of nature has brought us...life is too short to complaint..and do put yourself where you want to be..you are at 14,000 feet on the border of Bolivia..and for coming to reality you are out all day on a tour...if the demands you are asking do not meet the staff attention..,I doubt most of you don't realize that if your answers have been met you have arrived at the right place...
Admire the nature and the beautify..I would recommend this place 100% times and would go back again and again...Sonia at front desk was excellent and the bell guys excellent, the man that helped my friend with the oxygen came to the room and make sure he was fine...please..can you get any better, plus the hotel has a oxygen room as well..Also the restaurant has excellent buffet breakfast and soy milk!!! and excellent food..
Again I will stay here in a heartbeat..looking to go back soon if time allows it...stay here!!You won't regret it...

Room Tip: We stayed at a room that overlooked the lake so our wake ups were amazing every single day!!!Unforge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundotraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest.
Thank you for telling his experience in Libertador, we are pleased to have served.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would agree with the many reviews here that the view from the room was spectacular. The room was clean the staff was professional and polite. I would also agree with some that the hotel lacks charter and is somewhat cold but I felt it was no different than most of the major hotel chains in any of the large North American cities.

I also appreciated that I could leave most of our luggage at the hotel while we went to Amantani Island for a homestay. Not having to haul extra baggage around for that adventure was wonderful.

I would recommend the Libertador Lake Titicaca to anyone visiting Puno!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Libertador Lake Titicaca was a pleasant, if somewhat outdated, hotel. It’s located quite a ways outside of Puno directly on the shores of the lake which make for stunning views of the bay from the dining room, bar, and any of the rooms on the lake side of the property. The location isn’t great if you want to be going out to dinner or nightlife in Puno but we were sightseeing during the day and just wanted a comfortable hotel to come back to, so it worked perfectly for us.

The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The layout is kind of strange- small living area with uncomfortable furniture, small bedroom, raised bathtub that made the ceiling feel very low- but the lake views made up for it. Wake up early for the spectacular sunrise. The only real complaint we had was the heating/cooling system. There is no air conditioning, which normally wouldn’t be a problem, but we were experiencing a heat wave while we were there and the floor to ceiling windows let in plenty of heat. There is no thermostat so heating was a switch for the fan with 4 options- off, low, medium, or high- depending on how much hot air you wanted in the room. There was a humidifier/fan contraption in the bedroom that helped some but it was not particularly user friendly.

The staff at the front desk and in the bar was great. The front desk helped us print our boarding passes when the computers in the business center were missing some necessary software upgrades and booked a car to the airport for us with no problem. We ate two dinners and a breakfast at the hotel and all were very good. The breakfast buffet was extensive and they had made to order eggs if you wanted.

Overall a very pleasant stay to finish up our trip to Peru.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lake view. It's worth the cost of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great stay at Libertador! Great view from room and the balcony and trail around the Hotel. The Hotel had helpful service as I was sick one day. Beds and room were excellent who cares if decor was old.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hightea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest.
Thank you for telling his experience in Libertador, we are pleased to have served.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have had great time observing the beautiful colours and panoramas of Titicaca changing from fantastic sunrises through the day to the sunsets and moonlight over it straight from our king size bed in our room at Libertador. Room was not at all big though, but was clean, warm and comfortable. Hotel was apparently quite occupied but each time we went to the lobby or bar there were very few people around. Out of the hotel facilities we enjoyed having fresh muña (andean herb) tea sitting on peaceful terrace watching the scenery and as well very good passion fruit pisco sour sitting at the fire place in the lobby in the evening listening to the andean life band playing there. In terms of restaurant we can say that breakfast is plentiful and of good quality. Contrary to it dinner at the hotels restaurant was very disappointing as our both entrees were bland and far too overcooked, especially for the price paid. Good thing was that due to high attitude we were not so hungry but still pitty as we found Peru to be fascinating good cuisine destination. Last but not least front desk staff were all pollite and friendly enough to feel well serviced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#15 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Property: Libertador Lake Titicaca
Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing