We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute great location outside Puno on Lake Titicaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We enjoyed the four days/night in this property which is located on Isla Esteves and therefore boasts marvelous views of the lake and Puno (which is very nice at night with all the lights). Even more, the rooms are great, the breakfast selection is good (given that you are at close to 4000 meters above sea level) and the hotel has integrated HVAC. Interestingly, we were there in December (i.e. in Summer) and the hotel turned on heating in the rooms from 4p - 7a each night and this was definitely needed. Btw, we heard that not all hotels have heating - this definitely has it and if you consider to visit in July/Aug (i.e in Winter), this is very important!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, either of the bay & Puno or the open lake & the Uros islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were skeptical about staying here after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, but were pleasantly surprised. The property is on an amazing location with unbeatable views of the lake from all the rooms. (Plus, on the drive to the main entrance, you see llamas and alpacas grazing on the grounds of the hotel.) Contrary to what a lot of reviews suggest, this is, by international standards, a luxury hotel...

The rooms are spacious and have amazing views. The food in the restaurant was excellent and NOT overpriced for this kind of hotel (e.g., still cheaper than normal US or European prices). We got sick and were happy to be here when it happened; we were able to call a doctor and relax.

Only negatives: everything in Puno happens through agencies who organize tours etc. The hotel booked us on a full-day tour for US $98, when I later learned that someone paid 35 soles for the same type of tour (though probably through another agency). There was nothing luxurious or extra special about the tour I went on, so it was basically a total rip off. The next day, we were waiting for confirmation from the same agency regarding our tickets to Bolivia that afternoon. I had to follow up with the staff constantly in order for them to follow up with the agency. For a so-called 5* hotel, service could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantakavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here two nights after traveling from Cusco via Juliaca by air. None of us had had time to eat properly during the day's travel so on arrival at 5.00 pm we rang room service for a light snack. 24 hr room service - not! We had clean rooms with king size beds and stupendous views both sides of the lake. Walking tracks were wonderful but poorly sign-posted or explained by hotel staff. Restaurant and bar service - excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our family vacation to Peru. We stayed at three different casa andina private collection hotels and one other libertador - Colca Lodge.
The good - the views from the rooms are incredible.
This hotel was annoying and off putting.
We travelled from Colca Canyon lodge to Puno that morning and arrived at the hotel at 1pm. My husband and I had a junior suite booked and a room for my children. On the trip through the Andean highlands my son took ill so we elected to arrive at the hotel and let him rest. When we arrived we were told that check in was at 2pm and that we had to wait in the lobby or go to the restaurant (we had lunch along the way and had suppressed appetites due to the elevation so this was not an option). I asked if at least one of our rooms was ready so that he could lie down. It was repeated to me again that check in was 2pm and to wait. She was very short and dismissive. We waited. Finally at 2:30 pm I went to the front desk again - the doorman rushed to find someone to help me. After a few minutes of searching she was found. She said yes the rooms were ready. She could see us waiting the entire time, she knew my child was ill but she just ignored us. She did not have to call anyone to see if the rooms were ready so obviously they had been ready for at least a few minutes. It set the tone for the entire stay.
We ate both dinners at the restaurant and our breakfasts. The breakfast buffet was not very good. On neither morning was the omlete table manned - although we were there during the rush time of breakfast. The bacon ran out consistently and was not filled while we were present. There was some sort of teenage boy sports team there at the same time as we were. They were pushy at the buffet and would empty the hot buffet trays. Their parents said nothing. The hotel was not prepared for them (there was not enough food). At dinner - the food was fine but we had much better at a much lower price elsewhere (read casa andina private collection hotels).
The beds were hard and like rocks. The bed was small even though it was a matrimonial bed. The couch and chairs in our suite was like something in a guidance counselor's office - stained, flat and uncomfortable.
TIP - 6 bottles of water were over 40 soles at the bar - stock up before you get to the hotel as everything is outrageously priced.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Libertador Hotel is located on an island with scenic views of Lake Titicaca from every room of the establishment. The night we arrived we saw alpacas grazing on the grasses outside our window. There is plenty of area to hike on the property. It is a beautiful location for the hotel.

We had two rooms. We had asked for a single king bed but were given a room with two twin beds. It was quite difficult to snuggle up with my love plus because I am 6 feet 3 inches tall my feet stuck out over the edge of the bed. We requested a change but all the king bed rooms were booked on our first night. The hotel changed our room on the second day. The bed on the second day was quite comfortable.

The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was quite responsive to our needs.

We had the buffet every morning. There was a good selection of high quality food. The dining room staff was quite responsive and quick to our requests. The front lobby has complementary coca tea.

The only down side is that you cant walk to downtown Puno. You must take a taxi. The taxis are readily available.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone getting ready to start an adventure on Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oc_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here on our way to and from Copacabana in Bolivia to visit the Island of the Sun, which is the birthplace of the Inka civilisation. I am glad that we chose the Libertator as, if you are older and need the services of a good Hotel then this is probably the only one in the area. True the rooms are small and on our return visit we chose a suit which was roomy and fantastic. We took a taxi into the the town, which is only a mile or so away, to look for a restaurant for dinner, but apart from Mojia, which was closed for renovations, we did not want to eat in any of them. The Hotel dining room service was a bit sombre on the first visit, but I think that they were trying so hard to be very professional that they forgot to smile. Anyway, dinner was excellent. On our return visit there were lots of smiles from all of the very helpful staff. The moral is to smile at the staff and they will smile back.,

Room Tip: Book a suite as the exra cost is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for telling his experience in Libertador, we are pleased to have served.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Not a 5 star hotel by US standards but still a delight. This hotel is on the only peninsula in Puno on Lake Titicaca, so the location is absolutely the best. The view of the sunrise over lake Titicaca and "Isla de los Uros" were borderline spiritual. One interesting rumor about the hotel that we tried to verify with our local guide (but never got a real answer) was that this hotel was at one time a psych hospital. The rumor continues on because the proportions within the rooms, hallways, restaurant, and elevators all seem strange. However, when you think about the people sleeping on a lake on a 30 degree night it's hard to complain about the interesting architecture choices. This was one of the night's we enjoyed the most in Peru. We enjoyed listening to the nightly music of a local band (Ande Sol) over a glass of Peruvian red wine (which is extremely rare in the US). We purchased the band's CD and still constantly listen to it to this day. Overall, the hotel is definitely one of the nicer hotels in the area. By no means is it glamorous but I don't think you'll regret staying here once you see the morning sunrise from the vantage point of this hotel. Additionally, they had the most comfortable beds we slept in during our entire stay in Peru, big plus. Spoiler: attached is a picture of the morning sunrise from the room!

Room Tip: Just make sure you're facing the floating islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#13 of 64 in Puno
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#7 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing