We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Mirador del Titikaka(Puno)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Titilaka(Puno)
$1,458
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
360
438
187
39
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
438
187
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea pigslake titicacanice hotelhotel docktaxi ridetwo double bedsboth nightsbreakfast buffetrestaurant staffcomfortable roomsbit datedaltitude sicknesslarge roomuros floating islandshigh altitudeplenty of hot watercoca tea
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is on the lake-side, and we had a view directly onto the old British boat that is tied to the hotel, as well as the alpacas right below us - I would recommend asking for a lake side room if it is available - It was an absolutely beautiful view. Also, we took a tour to the floating islands and they dropped us at the hotel by boat on the way back. The restaurant food was also very tasty, and the room service was good. The staff were also very friendly. The hotel is a little bit out of town, so the taxi costs a bit more (S6) to get in and out, but it's worth it for the view. The hotel is also in a very secure location with security guards.

The only negative experience we had was on our last night because there was a wedding and a lot of noise going on, which meant we struggled to sleep...also I think one of the drunk guys from the wedding kept cutting the power when I was trying to watch TV - I'm pretty sure they were in rooms opposite and next to us, and as the hotel was fairly empty it probably would have made sense for them to put the wedding guests who were clearly going to get drunk somewhere else! Having said this, the hotel staff did apologise for the noise the next day even though we had not mentioned anything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PriyaXiLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We checked in real late thanks to some delays while flying in and we were not able to inform the hotel about it.. The staff was super friendly, got us into the room, gave us a wake up call to ensure we don't miss the lake Titicaca trip (in fact, they ensured the boat didn't leave until we got in).

The hotel is right on the banks of the lake and the morning view is stunning. Do make sure you walk around the adjoining grounds early morning or late evening and enjoy it.

The room was big enough.. very clean, rest room was clean and we had no complaints whatsoever. The breakfast was very sumptuous.. We didn't try any other meals.

Do note that, the hotel is NOT in town.. but there are plenty of cabs (and they are NOT expensive) to take you back and forth all day and night. I would rather stay here to get some quiet time.

The hotel has a dock and you can get dropped off and picked up for almost all the boat tour companies (if you let them know in advance) which is very useful.

We stayed here in November 2008.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a general rule, the Sonesta Posadas del Inca chain seems to be very good across the board. When booking for somewhere like Peru it's often hard to tell but all of the hotels we stayed in were very clean, had excellent food (particularly the pancakes at breakfast!) and the staff were very warm and welcoming. There is good Wi-Fi reception which I believe is free, and also two computers which are free to use in the main lobby. Beds are comfy and warm and there are extra pillows, blankets etc. and the bathroom is spacious and clean with a hairdryer included (this is not always standard in other hotels).

The lakeside view is fantastic, particularly at night. It's lovely to be out of the city as Puno is not particularly attractive in itself and you get a view right across the lake. Grounds also lovely. A taxi is required to get in and out of the city but you must MUST ask the hotel to book a return taxi as well, or at least give you the number - there are a lot of dodgy companies operating in Puno who can spot tourists miles away!

Only bad point is that it is cold in the corridors (there are heaters in the rooms) and can be when getting up in the morning so definitely buy yourself some alpaca socks and an alpaca jumper (they beat any technical clothing for warmth and are half the price - also note that in Puno souvenirs are cheaper but there is less to choose from).

Make sure to sleep with an extra pillow and keep hydrated to combat altitude sickness which may be a problem here (3800m)

Would definitely recommend Esso's restaurant for dinner - lovely atmosphere, cheap quality food.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view on the first floor to avoid overlooking the trainline.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

During our visit to the Puno area, the Sonesta Posada del Inca (Lake Titicaca) was our home. We landed at this hotel because it was booked for us by smartours (we took one of their tours) therefore I can’t come about the reservation process.

The check in/out process was very good even though we were 26 people on our group the ladies at the front desk had everything ready for us. The hotel is a two floor building with no elevators. Our room was room 213 and we had a view of the parking lot. Personally, we did not care about the view because we spent most of the time outside of the hotel. So, the lack of having a nice view was not a big deal for us.

The room was big; it had two double beds, a desk with a chair, a TV with English channels, minibar and a safety box which was not electronic. The safety box had a peculiar key and if you misplaced or lose the key the hotel will charge a fee of $60 dollars.

The only thing that I did not like of this room was the lack of available electrical outlets. The only available outlet was in the bathroom. BTW, you MUST request a converter at the front desk if your electronics are not 220V. Electricity over there is 220V and not 110V.
The bathroom was big, unfortunately the sink’s countertop was small so it was very tricky for us to have our toiletries and at the same time have the converter with our electronics in there. The shower was a regular shower with good water pressure.

One thing that I really like of this hotel was that their Wi-Fi connection was THE BEST off all the connections that we had during our entire trip in Peru. We were expecting a very slow and almost non existing connection in our room but I was wrong. The connection speed in the public areas and in our room was very fast. I couldn’t believe that.

The service at the restaurant was good but a little bit slow. The food was good but not like it was to die for. The presentation of the dishes on the other hand was pretty good but something was missing flavor wise. The service at the bar was kind of decent, their drinks were a little too pricey and they did not have happy hours like the other hotels were we stayed. One thing that called my attention was that the bartender did not like the fact that people tried to charge to their rooms their drinks. He was like pushing us to pay in cash. That was strange.

One thing that I want to mention is that there are no ATM machines in this hotel and the closes ATM was located on the other hotel in this town. Our tour Director recommended us to get money in Cusco because he said that in Puno there are not too many ATM machines.

In general, I liked this hotel it has great views of the lake and the service was good. So, if you are planning in visiting this area you should book a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you plan to stay here you must do your upmost to book a lakeside view. We did not have this opportunity and ended up with a ground floor view of the car park and the railway line from Puno to Cusco. The rooms were a bit cold but there was a heater provided already which I turned on and warmed up with. Beds were comfortable and the room dark. We had no problems with the plumbing and the water was fine, hot water fine. One of our group members felt unwell due to the altitude and was provided with oxygen with no charge. The mask and tube are reused again and again, just cleaned out with an alcohol wipe, some people may not be keen on this. You could take your own if you could get one. We had dinner in the restaurant and four of us enjoyed the meal. The fish from the lake was very tasty. There was no hair dryer in the room but there was a small safe. we did not see much of Puno but we did take a trip to the Uros floating islands which we highly recommend . Look out for wild guinea pigs by the lake.

Room Tip: Get a lake side view!!!!! (ground or first floor)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleocat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIPuno, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mr.
In the name of the hotel managers and partners want to thank you for taking a few minutes to comment in this page about our service, it is very important for us to know how their expectations were met in the hotel. thank you for yours comment those helps us for improve our service.
This e-mail serves to invite to you to return the next time you visit our beautiful city or stay at any hotel in our chain, we will be waiting for you! If you have extra please contact us.
Best Regards,
Delmy Nuñez.
Quality Assurance Manager
Sonesta Posadas del Inca - Lago Titicaca Puno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews