We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Cultural exchange' probably not worth the extra cash....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of All Ways Travel

All Ways Travel
Ranked #2 of 46 Tours in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All Ways Travel Titicaca Peru is a highly recommended tour operator based in Lake Titicaca area. We do not have a company with the same name in Cusco. Be aware of deceptive companies in Cusco or Lima claiming to be us!!
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Cultural exchange' probably not worth the extra cash....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We were offered a 'cultural' overnight tour to the Floating islands of Uros, Amantani and Tequile by this agency in Puno.

We were told that for 120 soles plus 30soles to the family we stayed with (each), that we would be getting a different experience to all the other tour groups visiting the islands. We were specifically told by the person we booked with, that on Tequile, we would visit other 'less touristy' places.

It was pretty disappointing to find that we ended up going to the same places as all the other groups that had paid significantly less than us. our guide (who was great btw) even told us they aren't allowed to go to the other areas on Tequile any more, so the agent who we booked through must have known this.

It was great getting to work with the children for an hour as part of the cultural exchange, but all the other tour groups came to watch anyway, so again seemed like we paid extra for nothing.

The positive side to this agency is that the money for the homestay goes directly from you to your family.

Helpful?
1 Thank caiti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    29
    9
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I used All Ways Travel to book several tours - ranging from my Wonder Peru bus from Cusco (they provided free transportation from the bus terminal to my hotel Punuypampa Inn, which was a great, very convenient hotel), to my overnight homestay on Amantani Island in Lake Titicaca, and the Sillustani tour. I had Evan as a guide for Lake Titicaca and Ivan for Sillustani, and both guides were so helpful and kind and were so knowledgeable about anything you ask them. I was quite impressed. Highly recommended

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kimichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good organisation of the 2-day trip to Uros, Amantaní and Taquile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did a two-day tour with All Ways Travel in September to visit Uros, Amantani and Taquile islands. We chose the so-called “cultural tour”, more expensive but it ensures a smaller group (10-12 persons instead of 20+) and includes a visit to a local library of a community in Amantani, a project that the company owner started a few years ago to bring an extra benefit from tourism to local communities. They have funded small libraries where children read and play in Spanish and English with the help of a volunteer teacher. It was great for our children and for us to meet and play with the local children and families. We also stayed with a family in Amantani. This was a very good experience. Accommodation is very rustic but people are really wonderful. As we speak Spanish, we talked with them quite a lot and were able to learn many things of their day to day lives. We really enjoyed the whole trip. It is true that it is quite busy, moving from one place to another without much time spent in any of the places (in particular we found the time spent in Taquile too short), but it is a great experience. Organisation was great and our Amantani-born multilingual guide Dulio (he speaks 7 languages!) was outstanding. We also booked a private transportation from Puno to the Bolivian frontier and it was very well organised and comfortable, in a large new Mercedes van. We can only recommend All Ways travel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JorgeRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Helpful Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The husband and wife that own this company our two of the kindest people I have met. They not only provide fantastic tours, but great advice about travel in Peru as well as Bolivia. They opened up their doors to my friend and I after the store had already closed for the night to assist us with information on crossing the Peru/Bolivia boarder. They also told us their story and of their passion for tourism. I definitely recommend them!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Well organised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We did 2 tours with Allways travel, both private. Both tours were well organised and the guides good. The second tour was a cultural tour and we visited a farm and a school before travelling by boat to Sillustani. We really enjoyed the insight into Peruvian life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Ways Travel also viewed

 

Been to All Ways Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing