We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!”
Review of Hostal Monterrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Monterrey
Ranked #61 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place honestly just needs tearing down - it is falling to pieces. Dirty, old and freeeeeezing cold. I could not wait to get out of the place. Awful!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

On route to bolivia we stayed here for 1 night and opted for the cheaper double at 60 soles. Room was dark and dingey and bathroom rank. Carpet covered in dirt and bathroom falling to pieces. No wifi although listed and all receptionist cared about was trying to flog us over priced tours and bus tickets. FYI you'll pay 50% less if you buy your bus ticket at the terminal than from a tour agent. We stayed in far better places in peru for the same price and are now in a better hostel in bolivia for half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1superreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is located directly on pedestrian zone, second block from Plaza de Armas. Everything you need is within couple blocks. I stayed in a double room with private bathroom. Bathroom was spacious, new and it had a bathtub. The room was carpeted and very clean. It had two twin beds, TV, table, chair, built in closet and windows opening onto an inner courtyard. There was no WIFI available in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. In general the hotel was clean and felt safe. I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see more rooms ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Hostal Monterrey in Puno is quite ok.
They have different kinds of rooms. We stayed in a double bed room with private bathroom. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was really clean. I also could take a quick look into another room which had a TV and looked really nice. So I think if you want to spend more money they have really nice rooms. The rooms with a matrimonal bed and private bathroom at the lowest level of the hotel also looked quite ok. The only thing is that the one we saw did not have a window and was a little dark inside.
The staff was nice and friendly. They also have a tour agency where you can book tours to the various attractions arround. We just stayed one night, because actually we just wanted to go to Copacabana at the bolivian side of the lake Titicaca.
The Hostal is directly at the big pedestrian zone, so you are already in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cintya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mystikgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: peça quartos no primeiro andar, com banho individual. São baratos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luiz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Santa Maria Inn Puno
#36 of 65 in Puno
95 reviews
7 mi away
Hostal Campestre Casa Blanca
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 65 in Puno
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
534.7 mi away
Julio Cesar Hoteles
Julio Cesar Hoteles
#54 of 65 in Puno
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Monterrey

Address: Lima 441, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Monterrey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MONTERREY, we are located in the best area of ​​Puno, on the main street( Street Lima # 441) a few steps away from banks, ATMs machine, restaurants, craft shops, one block from the main square of Puno , and five minutes from the bus station by taxi. MONTERREY Hotel offers 22 rooms with private bathroom, hot water 24 hours, heating, cable TV, continental breakfast and free Wi Fi coverage throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing