We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base before crossing into Bolivia”
Review of Hostal Duque Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Duque Inn
Ranked #15 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We got a reply when we emailed them and the family were attentive; good room and reasonable views. During our stay the showers did not work properly and had to go to a different floor. The hostel is basic and they arranged our Island trip on Lake Titicaca.

As a place to stay for 1 day is perfect it does the job as there is no much to do in Puno.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd or 4th floor for the views from the 2nd floor you see people's roofs and terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Since the owner, Ricardo, replied our room request mail we knew we hit a jackpot, as he already gave us lots of info and advice in his confirmation reply.

When we arrived to the hotel we were amazed by the room and the views: you can see all puno from the window, no need to go to any lookout place (ask for room 40, the biggest one with the best views). And having breakfast in the rooftop restaurant seeing all the town and the Titicaca lake is breathtaking.

Ricardo also helped us getting our bus tickets to Bolivia and was there to reply any question and to give loads of info, really friendly person.

Honestly, you can´t get more for only 30 soles, it´s a super bargain. And the photo i took from the window at sunrise, with the Titicaca lake shrouded in orange tones, it´s one of the best memories I treasure from Peru.

Room Tip: Get room 40, the biggest and the one with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoifeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Duque Inn. I would have given it an "average" rating, but the friendliness of our service, the cleanliness, and lovely roof-top area made me bump it up a little.

This Inn could use a renovation, it's a little rough around the edges. The carpets, walls, and windows are old and tatty. BUT!!! The beds and sheets are very clean and comfortable. And that's what matters! They cleaned the bathrooms multiple times a day, so we felt that overall the cleanliness of the inn was very good.

Our room, though it lacked personality, was very quiet and we slept very well.

The people that run it are very friendly. Lots of smiles, good recommendations for local eateries, and a willingness to jump at the chance to help us out whenever possible.

Breakfast is average for Peru-but saying that, quite sufficient. Instant coffee/tea, bread, jam and marmalade. I don't think it's normally included, you may want to ask. What's great is that you eat on the roof and the view over Puno and the Lake is awesome. It's lovely and sunny and warm up there. After breakfast when everyone was gone I did Yoga up there. Nice!!!

The wifi is best in the hallway next to the router, and worked fine for skype calls.

The Inn is about a 10 minute walk from town. It involves a bit of a hill, but it's good for getting the heart-rate up! And we felt very safe doing the walk, even after dark in the early evening.

The sunsets from the rooftop with a beer in hand are awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Duque Inn, Ricardo the owner is very sympatique. He booked the tour on Lago Titicaca and it was very nice. He kept our luggage during the trip on the lake. When we had a question, he always said a reponse with information. The price for a water bottle is the correct price like in a convenient store, not a hostel price. The room we got was very clean and the bathroom too.

Room Tip: Take the room on the roof. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hostel was inexpensive. My fiancé and I shared a private room with a bathroom inside. I think it was meant for a family of four because it was so huge! The breakfast was nothing special, just some bread, bananas and tea or instant coffee. We usually brought our own breakfast to eat on the terrace. The owner was really nice and helped us to organize tours and a bus to Chivay. Definitely worth it if you are looking for a good place for your money in Puno!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is huge for just two people, and gets pretty cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter2440947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Average hostel as far as of interiors. Clean room and common shower, very good price. Close to everywhere. The selling edge is the view from the roof top. One of the best I have ever seen. Terrace (closed and open area) overlooks the entire Puno and Lake Titicaca. You can enjoy your breakfast and late dinner there since kitchen is located on the same level. Unforgettable sunsets and sunrises. I would come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patcracow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved this accomodation. It is situated on a hill right above the city center and the rooms on the upper floors have an amazing view of the city and Lake Titicaca. Walking to the city centre takes only about 10 minutes (downhill, perhaps 15 uphill) which is not far, BUT since Puno is on 3.800 metres it´s exhausting (as is everything else) anyway, but totally worth it for the view. Some people say, since it is not exactly IN the city centre, that you should only walk in groups to the accomodation, never alone. I guess that´s a rule you should always follow anyway, so I wouldn´t say it´s especially dangerous there, I felt safe. What we loved was the service and the people there. They were so friendly and did everything for us! They even picked up our bus tickets for the ride to Cuzco for the next day. I do not think that their English is very good, but with Spanish everything is just perfect. I guess they would try to understand in English as well. Only downside: shared bathroom for the whole floor (about 3 rooms if I remember correctly).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 64 in Puno
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Los Uros
Hostal Los Uros
#58 of 103 in Puno
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Center Puno Hostel
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#3 of 103 in Puno
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Duque Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Duque Inn

Address: Jr. Ayaviri 152, Barrio Orkapata, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Duque Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Duque Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing