We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hate puno but love duque”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Duque Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Duque Inn
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hate puno but love duque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had bad experiences in Puno and am just so glad we stayed here. The owner was very helpful with my troubles offered me to receive mail there even. The view of lago Titicaca is great. Rooms are clean and breakfast is good. Its all cheap too. They didn't tell us breakfast cost money so they waived the fee. So I guess ask about that. There's wifi a computer hot showers and he'll let you use kitchen stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
61
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Friendly stuff, cheap and clean rooms, hot water, great view and location 5min from plaza de armas - the only thing missing was anybody with better english, but the owner is such a nice guy that you can forget about language barreer easily :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Duque Inn is a perfect budget place to stay. Clean, 10 minute walk from the center of Puno, with wi-fi and very friendly and helpful staff. If you're a budget traveler, this is a very good choice to spend a night before heading to the islands of the lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamPotega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Prices we.re reasonable. Double room with shared bathroom. All pretty basic but nicely presented. think ours was like the room on the front picture of this page, it had a great view. Location up a bit of a hill. The owner does everything to make you feel welcome and happy. Will help book your tickets for trips or buses too. Would recommend sweet cafe and the cathedral as places to eat here
Twas nice

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gems1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Duque Inn is a 5 minutes walk away from the City Center. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We paid 20 soles per Person. The breakfast (5 soles) is on the terasse (topfloor) overviewing puno. You can book trips to Titicaca Lake directly at the reception up to 1 hour before departure.

Some rooms have the bathroom on the floor, others it is within the same room. Hot water and WIFI were working great. Room 40 (top floor) and has a beautiful view of the lake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremosna, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been to Puno four times and whenever possible I stay at this hotel. It is a great budget option. The rooms are clean, some of them have an amazing view of Puno and Lake Titicaca. The hotel is clean. Rooftop terrace is a great spot to have your tea or breakfast. WIFI works fine, there is even a free computer with internet. Cable TV in the entrance area has lots of channels! There is always hot water. The prices are really good, out of high season you can choose your room.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the main square or 1 USD taxi ride in a quiet and safe neighborhood. You can book tours or bus tickets without having to pay high commissions like in other places I know in Puno.
To mention something negative things: 1. there is no toilet paper in the common toilets, 2.some walls are thin but the hotel is very quiet most of the time. 3. no english spoken but you will manage and besides there is always someone around who can help you translate.
What I like the most is the owner - Ricardo. He is really friendly and very helpful with everything you might need. If you run into any problems in Puno, you are definitely in good hands. Me and my friends have stored bags here couple times and never experienced any problems. If you want to get out of the gringo track in Puno - talk to Ricardo, he will suggest you some amazing trips.

Room Tip: Waking up with the panoramatic view of Titicaca lake - can't get any better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in early march and were initially not upset by the service here - generally speaking we are pretty chilled with most things.
The bedrooms are OK, bathrooms alright (lukewarm water in the showers and no toilet roll or soap in communal bathrooms) , the breakfast is distinctly average and the owner seemed helpful enough trying to organise us a bus to Cusco (even though that turned out quite hard work seeing as our seats ended up being the ones next to the driver not the "cama's" we had paid for!)

What we realised though was that in the hour or so we left our baggage in the "safe room" while we waited for our bus, we had money stolen. We had 20 English pounds, 20 American dollars and 20 Costa Rican dollars taken from little hidden places in our bags. Only enough was taken that we realised only when counting it on the bus, not all of the cash we had was taken, so that we wouldn't realise on a quick glance.

We know it happened there as we checked before and after. It was a mistake to leave cash anywhere vulnerable, but it doesn't take away from the fact it was stolen. Only the owner had the key to the bag room and the hostal was quiet. We spent a lot of money here, 2 nights, breakfasts, a tour to the islands and the fated bus journey...plus what they took for themselves!

Be careful. Don't stay here. Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon10909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
0.2 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#12 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Duque Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Duque Inn

Property: Hostal Duque Inn
Address: Jr. Ayaviri 152, Barrio Orkapata, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Duque Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Duque Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing