We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Backpacker Option”
Review of Hostal Duque Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Duque Inn
Ranked #15 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Duque Inn is a 5 minutes walk away from the City Center. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We paid 20 soles per Person. The breakfast (5 soles) is on the terasse (topfloor) overviewing puno. You can book trips to Titicaca Lake directly at the reception up to 1 hour before departure.

Some rooms have the bathroom on the floor, others it is within the same room. Hot water and WIFI were working great. Room 40 (top floor) and has a beautiful view of the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been to Puno four times and whenever possible I stay at this hotel. It is a great budget option. The rooms are clean, some of them have an amazing view of Puno and Lake Titicaca. The hotel is clean. Rooftop terrace is a great spot to have your tea or breakfast. WIFI works fine, there is even a free computer with internet. Cable TV in the entrance area has lots of channels! There is always hot water. The prices are really good, out of high season you can choose your room.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the main square or 1 USD taxi ride in a quiet and safe neighborhood. You can book tours or bus tickets without having to pay high commissions like in other places I know in Puno.
To mention something negative things: 1. there is no toilet paper in the common toilets, 2.some walls are thin but the hotel is very quiet most of the time. 3. no english spoken but you will manage and besides there is always someone around who can help you translate.
What I like the most is the owner - Ricardo. He is really friendly and very helpful with everything you might need. If you run into any problems in Puno, you are definitely in good hands. Me and my friends have stored bags here couple times and never experienced any problems. If you want to get out of the gringo track in Puno - talk to Ricardo, he will suggest you some amazing trips.

Room Tip: Waking up with the panoramatic view of Titicaca lake - can't get any better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in early march and were initially not upset by the service here - generally speaking we are pretty chilled with most things.
The bedrooms are OK, bathrooms alright (lukewarm water in the showers and no toilet roll or soap in communal bathrooms) , the breakfast is distinctly average and the owner seemed helpful enough trying to organise us a bus to Cusco (even though that turned out quite hard work seeing as our seats ended up being the ones next to the driver not the "cama's" we had paid for!)

What we realised though was that in the hour or so we left our baggage in the "safe room" while we waited for our bus, we had money stolen. We had 20 English pounds, 20 American dollars and 20 Costa Rican dollars taken from little hidden places in our bags. Only enough was taken that we realised only when counting it on the bus, not all of the cash we had was taken, so that we wouldn't realise on a quick glance.

We know it happened there as we checked before and after. It was a mistake to leave cash anywhere vulnerable, but it doesn't take away from the fact it was stolen. Only the owner had the key to the bag room and the hostal was quiet. We spent a lot of money here, 2 nights, breakfasts, a tour to the islands and the fated bus journey...plus what they took for themselves!

Be careful. Don't stay here. Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon10909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent Christmas and a total of 5 days at this hotel. The owner Ricardo was so friendly and helpful with giving us tips of the city. He even made sure we had a thermos of hot water ready in the morning for us to make our cereal and tea. We booked an over night tour to lake Titicaca and it was one of the best things we did in Puno. He even stored our luggage for free as we only took one small backpack to the floating island. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and had a nice view of the lake. We stayed on the third floor. The shared bathroom was cleaned daily and there was lots of hot water. Only thing is the walls were abit thin and sometimes we could hear people slamming the bath room door or our neighbors next door talking. The terrace was nice, had a good view and for christmas, we launched fireworks along with the whole town at midnight. WOW. The location is not bad although the hotel is on a hill, it a 5 min walk to the centre. Usually we would walk to the centre and take a 2S taxi cab back at night. Good workout if you like walking up hills. Ricardo let us use the kitchen anytime and he was a joy to interact with. Excellent customer service and decent budget accom. When you have been traveling for 2 years, you appreciate value places such as Duque Inn.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful panoramic view of the lake and city. The higher up the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livelovebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star resort, but it's a great place to stay for the cost. The accommodations are simple but adequate. Showers have hot water, bathrooms (shared) are clean, and clean linens. Great view from our room. Even better view from breakfast (5 soles) on the rooftop deck. Owner and staff were very helpful and friendly, despite our limited Spanish. A room with a queen was 40 soles a night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in Duque Inn December 26-27th, 2012. When we arrived I wasn't feeling too well, but the owner, Ricardo, was more than happy to make and bring tea to the room for me. Ricardo was very friendly and helped us book our tour of Lake Titicaca. Breakfast on the terrace was nice, with a good view of the city and lake. I accidently left my USB with all my pictures from my Peru trip in the room, and didn't realize it until two days later when I was already in Lima. When I called Ricardo, he had found them and was more than happy to mail them right away. Amazing service!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is the only one from my South America trip that I feel compelled to review because of just how good it was.

The owner, an archaeologist, spent hours with us planning our activities and sharing in some laughs. His service alone was worth the price of the stay. He also booked our busses with no commission (unusual) and made calls around town to work out the best possible plan for us to enjoy the lake in the limited time we had.

The rooms were also fantastic - a big improvement over where we'd come from. I recommend extremely highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Anph_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 64 in Puno
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Los Uros
Hostal Los Uros
#58 of 103 in Puno
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Center Puno Hostel
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#3 of 103 in Puno
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Duque Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Duque Inn

Address: Jr. Ayaviri 152, Barrio Orkapata, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Duque Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Duque Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing