We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else....we had money stolen after leaving bags in the "safe room"”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Duque Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Duque Inn
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else....we had money stolen after leaving bags in the "safe room"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in early march and were initially not upset by the service here - generally speaking we are pretty chilled with most things.
The bedrooms are OK, bathrooms alright (lukewarm water in the showers and no toilet roll or soap in communal bathrooms) , the breakfast is distinctly average and the owner seemed helpful enough trying to organise us a bus to Cusco (even though that turned out quite hard work seeing as our seats ended up being the ones next to the driver not the "cama's" we had paid for!)

What we realised though was that in the hour or so we left our baggage in the "safe room" while we waited for our bus, we had money stolen. We had 20 English pounds, 20 American dollars and 20 Costa Rican dollars taken from little hidden places in our bags. Only enough was taken that we realised only when counting it on the bus, not all of the cash we had was taken, so that we wouldn't realise on a quick glance.

We know it happened there as we checked before and after. It was a mistake to leave cash anywhere vulnerable, but it doesn't take away from the fact it was stolen. Only the owner had the key to the bag room and the hostal was quiet. We spent a lot of money here, 2 nights, breakfasts, a tour to the islands and the fated bus journey...plus what they took for themselves!

Be careful. Don't stay here. Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon10909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
61
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent Christmas and a total of 5 days at this hotel. The owner Ricardo was so friendly and helpful with giving us tips of the city. He even made sure we had a thermos of hot water ready in the morning for us to make our cereal and tea. We booked an over night tour to lake Titicaca and it was one of the best things we did in Puno. He even stored our luggage for free as we only took one small backpack to the floating island. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and had a nice view of the lake. We stayed on the third floor. The shared bathroom was cleaned daily and there was lots of hot water. Only thing is the walls were abit thin and sometimes we could hear people slamming the bath room door or our neighbors next door talking. The terrace was nice, had a good view and for christmas, we launched fireworks along with the whole town at midnight. WOW. The location is not bad although the hotel is on a hill, it a 5 min walk to the centre. Usually we would walk to the centre and take a 2S taxi cab back at night. Good workout if you like walking up hills. Ricardo let us use the kitchen anytime and he was a joy to interact with. Excellent customer service and decent budget accom. When you have been traveling for 2 years, you appreciate value places such as Duque Inn.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful panoramic view of the lake and city. The higher up the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelersx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star resort, but it's a great place to stay for the cost. The accommodations are simple but adequate. Showers have hot water, bathrooms (shared) are clean, and clean linens. Great view from our room. Even better view from breakfast (5 soles) on the rooftop deck. Owner and staff were very helpful and friendly, despite our limited Spanish. A room with a queen was 40 soles a night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in Duque Inn December 26-27th, 2012. When we arrived I wasn't feeling too well, but the owner, Ricardo, was more than happy to make and bring tea to the room for me. Ricardo was very friendly and helped us book our tour of Lake Titicaca. Breakfast on the terrace was nice, with a good view of the city and lake. I accidently left my USB with all my pictures from my Peru trip in the room, and didn't realize it until two days later when I was already in Lima. When I called Ricardo, he had found them and was more than happy to mail them right away. Amazing service!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is the only one from my South America trip that I feel compelled to review because of just how good it was.

The owner, an archaeologist, spent hours with us planning our activities and sharing in some laughs. His service alone was worth the price of the stay. He also booked our busses with no commission (unusual) and made calls around town to work out the best possible plan for us to enjoy the lake in the limited time we had.

The rooms were also fantastic - a big improvement over where we'd come from. I recommend extremely highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Anph_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

booking promised an ensuite room with 24 hours hot water, TV, 180degree lake views from room, free wifi, kitchennette...

on arrival at night after all day journey from Cusco were told the only room they had was a tiny (and dirty) room with bunk beds, dark and no ensuite which we had to stay in for that night and then would be moved to our ensuite room with view the next day.
talking with other travellers, this seems to be a habit; everyone we talked to had been put into the tiny dirty dark room for their first night....
next day we were told we had to choose between view or ensuite that no rooms in the inn had both (which is fine if you don't advertise that the rooms have both!!)
our booking said Duque Inn has a restaurant, but it doesn't - only offers small breakfast and there are no restaurants or eating places around the inn; need to walk 10-15 minutes down very steep hill into the city to find anything.
there was no hot water for showers and weather was cold. no toilet paper in shared bathroom.
wifi very occasionally worked very slowly, usually couldn't connect
no kitchennette.
no common rooms to relax with other travellers
reception desk often unmanned, not helpful when asked to book trips or airport transfer - ended up walking into city and booking them there where people in shops were very helpful, friendly and pleasant.

pros - view from rooftop was great with panoramic view over city and lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nepalidocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Great little place, stunning view over puno and of the lake from the roof terrace. We stayed in a 2 bed room which was comfortable, with shared bathroom which was average. Wi fi in the rooms.
The owner was really helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
0.2 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#12 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Duque Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Duque Inn

Property: Hostal Duque Inn
Address: Jr. Ayaviri 152, Barrio Orkapata, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Duque Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hostal Duque Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing