We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Lucky Your House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucky Your House
Ranked #8 of 76 Puno B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The staff were helpful and the bed was warm, though a tad hard. At first we were given a room on the street which you might like since it has a small balcony but we found it very noisy. They were only too happy to move us when we asked and I guess we were lucky they had another room. Shower was hot although the tub leaked onto the floor but apart from that it was good

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jazman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a twin room, as there were no doubles available.

Pros....

Good location, good tv in room, hot shower, accommodating staff, secure. OK breakfast. Easy check-in, relaxed environment. Good price. Clean.

Cons...

Not a comfortable bed, cold and fairly dated throughout. Not that social.

I would recommend as a stop-over.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We liked this place enough, which is just as well because we got stuck in Puno behind a miners' roadblock for three days.

PROS:
The staff, when they were around, were friendly and helpful.
The beds were firm and toasty warm
There was a heater in the room and the shower was hot as well
The breakfast was nice - yoghurt, cereal, fruit, bread and jam. Bit of a sugar overload (eggs would have been nice, as mentioned by other reviewers)
It was warm and quiet in the hostel

CONS:
They don't provide a key to the outside door and twice we came back from lunch and had to knock and knock before someone came to let us in ...in the middle of the day.
It's quite dark in the lobby and breakfast areas
Our toilet had no pressure and we ended up using the one in the lobby so we didn't have to battle trying to flush ours. As with many S. A. hostels, there was the occasiona sewage smell in the bathroom.
When it came to payment, there was a palaver with paying by card, even though they proudly advertise this on the booking website and all over the lobby with stickers etc. It involved a phone call and the boss having to come and dig out the card reader from a plastic bag under the desk, plug it in and take our payment. If I hadn't spoken Spanish this would have been impossible.
In the downstairs loo, there was no soap for the first two days, and the same thin, damp towel was hanging there for our entire stay.

Overall this place is definitely worth a try in Puno. It did have a low budget hotel feel as opposed to a hostel, and we felt safe and cosy there the whole time. They just need to pay a bit more attention to detail.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road get ots of sunlight but also the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Located close to Plaza de Armas and not too far to walk to the port.
Rooms are basic but clean and ours had a heater (much appreciated). No hot water on arrival but this was quickly sorted out by the front desk staff.
Staff are very friendly and nice. They made our bookings for us and were very helpful with any problems.
Breakfast is basic but starts at 6.15am so you don't go hungry if you have an early start.
Fairly good value accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPerrin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Friendly stuff, room is ok, but I was disappointed with the shower! They claim hot shower, but it took me 1 hr waiting with the shower open ( with a lot of water wasted) to get something slightly warm, the shower itself was pretty horrible, and the toilet doesn't flush properly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Delfina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As Dave said below, we arrived very early in the morning on an overnight bus to Cusco and were welcomed by the lovely Valentino who showed us to our room straight away. It was basic but clean (and great value!) and a very good size for three people - ideal for a two night stopover. We had a lovely breakfast each morning with fresh bread, eggs, fruit and yogurt (much more than most hostels offer!) and tea always available. What the hostel lacks in atmosphere, Valentino and the other staff more than make up for with their wonderful Peruvian hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wings89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and the staff specially Valentino was very helpful, he show us a place to exchange our money, he help us to buy the tickets to Copacabana and La Paz. The breakfast was good, and the rooms were very clean and nice. They has a Good location from central square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#3 of 111 in Puno
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
577 reviews
20 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 65 in Puno
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Santa Maria Inn Puno
#34 of 65 in Puno
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#47 of 65 in Puno
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Your House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Your House

Address: Avenida Titicaca 144, Puno 00 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Puno
Price Range: $16 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lucky Your House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a glass of Peruvian pisco sour when you will arrive at the Lucky your House or if do you want prepair it yourself..... Totally free, is the WELCOME DRINK!!!!! Lucky your House is a spectacular building to match the spectacular city of Puno. Titicaca Lucky House is the fanciest Hostel backpackers in Puno, You can take in the front desk a list of the most usual Spanish words for you learn whit us. The wonderfully late checkout time of 12 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Lucky Your House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing