We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel Kuntur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great option. Room and bathroom spacious, clean and comfortable. Some views over the lake from the room. Short safe walk to the main square and main streets - but the slight uphill on the way back can feel knackering at the altitude! Staff were lovely, and the collection from the bus station was appreciated. Breakfast was really good, with a really wide variety of options and tasty fresh eggs. We had a couple of earlier starts and it was really lovely that arranging that to be slightly before normal breakfast hours wasn't an issue. Great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 153 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Antonio and Livia were great, picked us up from the bus, organised our tickets to and from copacobana and got us on a brilliant Uros trip between arrival and our nightbus to Cusco. Paid for all our cabs too as he came with us to make sure we got on OK. Amazing how much better your trip gets with an experience like that, definitely stay with them and book your tour with Kuntur!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bobmeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

You want to enjoy Puno, the titicaca lake and the beauty of the city as well as keeping a homy feeling, this hotel is perfect for you. When you arrive it feels like you arrive at some friends place. Not only that the welcome is good but the rooms are so cosy, so nicely decorated that you feel like home.
On top of that try the cake of Livia in the morning for breakfast it is amazing.
Staying in this hotel is enjoying everything at once, the friendliness, the perfect location, the nice view on the lake and the great breakfast. Go there you won't go wrong

Room Tip: choose on the street, it is quiet and you will have the view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Really nice owners, clean rooms, hot showers and great breakfast. The owners were really helpful in planning my onward journeys to Copacabana and Arequipa and in organising a last minute tour out to Uros Island.

Big breakfast included, 3 blocks from main square and a free transfer from the bus station on arrival. Really good value. A backpackers dream and a leisure travellers idea of clean, cosy and comfortable! Would happily stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Lucyhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A free transfer is included which you should definitely take. I'm usually a fan of walking to a hotel if it's < 2km away, but Puno is HIGH (~4000m above sea level - read: exhausted after climbing 4 steps) and the hotel is up a hill, so you do not want to be walking there.

The hotel itself is really nice, and the owners (at least I think they're the owners) are lovely, talkative people. Liv checked us in and gave us some tips about the city and what to see. The room was great -- adequate size with clean beds, and it's located just about a 10 minute walk to the main square.

For breakfast, you get eggs made to order, but coffee connoisseurs beware! Only instant coffee is served here.

I would give 5 stars, but the owners have a draconian policy of 'no food in the rooms' which was enforced upon me when I brought a pizza into the hotel. Now obviously, the owners have had issues with previous guests making a mess of things I suppose (there's also a silly sign in the room about 'house rules' which basically tell me that they often have people who behave like children staying here), but the hotel only had maybe 2 other rooms occupied, and the two of us were > 30 years old and if I want to eat a pizza in my room, I should be able to! And since they already have a sign on the room doors saying 'any damage to the room will be charged' they should simply allow me to eat my pizza in peace and charge me should I have a moment of insanity and smear pizza sauce all over the walls. :P

I digress. I wouldn't let this one black mark prevent me from staying here again if the price was right. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a very clean hotel with extremely friendly and helpful family running it. Antonio will advise you of the best spots to eat in Puno and arrange local tours to Lake Ttitcaca or Sillistani if required.
The hotel was the cleanest we stayed in while travelling in Peru. Breakfast is included and is adequate to start the day. Antonio very kindly offered to pick us up and drop us off at the bus station upon arrival/departure.

I must urge a note of caution however. When we told Antonio we were en route to La Paz he arranged a tour with a company called Confort Tours run by a friend of his called Giovanni Villaneuva for us. We were overcharged by $60 each, had a tour guide with no English (overpriced ticket included English guide) for tour of Uyuni, he subcontracted us to a different company once we arrived in Uyuni and upon our arrival back to La Paz we were harassed in our hotel for 2 days with phonecalls from Giovanni to take another tour with his company. Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a great value, friendly, family run hotel in a good location in Puno.

They offered to pick us up at the bus station but unfortunately we didn't have internet access so didn't get the email.

The rooms are clean and fairly spacious. Breakfast is included and is more than enough to start he day. Tea and coffee is available all day in the reception area.

When we arrived we were told about local restaurants, where to walk to the city centre, how much the taxi home should cost, and all sorts of info.

It is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LysaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#22 of 64 in Puno
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Qalasaya
Hotel Qalasaya
#28 of 64 in Puno
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Helena Inn
Hostal Helena Inn
#29 of 64 in Puno
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 64 in Puno
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Turistico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kuntur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kuntur Inn

Address: Jr. Ayacucho No 708, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kuntur Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new hotel, with friendly service, to 2 blocks from the Main Square 45 minutes from Juliaca Airport. Clean and safe. All rooms have private bathroom, with hot water. Many rooms have great view of lake titicaca. Free fruit, coca tea, sweets offered all day in the lobby. Laundry service,taxi service. Ask about our daily tours too uros island,taquile and amantani and sillustani ruins. General tourist information we want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Internent wi-fi, telephone service and TV. in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kuntur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing