We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family, nice room and place”
Review of Casa Panqarani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Panqarani
Ranked #2 of 74 Puno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and we had a good experience. Edgar was very friendly, helpful with booking trips for us, recommending restaurants and arranging taxis. Breakfast was quite good and at any time we wanted, really. They let me leave my bag there for the day after I had checked out before I got a bus onwards.

My only complaint would be, like a couple of other reviews on here, that there was often a bad eggy drawing smell in the bathroom, we think coming from the toilet. There was no fan or opening window in the bathroom to let the smell out so it did pervade our bedroom sometimes somewhat. This aside, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We staid there for only one night and left early in the morning.
Edgar gave us a beautiful room and woke up in the morning to serve us breakfast.
We had a very peaceful night and highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaegiosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had two rooms at this B & B. My girlfriend and I in one room and my father in the other. Edgar greeted us at the bus terminal where we arrived from Cusco via Inca Express. He had a station wagon cab waiting as he knew there were 3 of us and we packed 3 huge bags. Upon arrival he insisted that he take my girlfriends bag for her. Edgar was simply awesome, need a pen? He had 4! Need a knife to remove the tag off of your new shirt? In his belt! Leaving the house and look like you might be cold? Edgar gives you the jacket off of his back (Literally)! Does your dad want to meet the ship captain who likely sailed him across Lake Titicaca 46 years ago? Edgar had him there in 2 hours! Need a ride to the airport? Edgar already arranged it he just needs to know the time!

All in all Edgar was very concerned that we have an excellent and safe time while in Puno. He nixed a few of the sights we thought we'd go to because as of late there were a few robberies and he didn't think it was safe for us.

Breakfast for the 3 of was available at any hour for us to decide and it consisted of local artisan bread (very tasty), butter, jam, hot water for numerous teas, hot chocolate, instant coffee, puffed wheat, puffed quinoa, liquid yogurt, and milk/cream. Edgar would hang about (which was a little weird at first) but we soon realized it was to refill anything we had finished and vet our plans for the day to see if he could arrange anything for us to allow us to avoid the tourist traps.

The rooms look like they could use a little TLC but are still very nice. We had lot of hot water and the beds had nice heavy blankets as well as down duvets. The gardens are very nice and the decks are covered. As it was the rainy season that was a huge plus as we could congregate outside in the rain without getting wet. Wi-fi was also good, for Peru.

Note that without Edgar's efforts I would have rated it a 3 based on the rooms alone but Edgar goes out of his way to make you feel at home and ensure your time in Puno is memorable.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the front of the building as the Wi-fi signal grows stronger in that direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S4Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this place. Edgar, the owner, treats everyone like family. We had to leave early to catch an early morning flight. Edgar woke up very early and prepared us breakfast. A great place to meet other travelers. There were folks from Singapore, USA, Mexico and Brazil staying at this hotel - making a great campfire talk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 separate nights in the same room. Just like the website says, this casa makes you feel like you're staying in your grand parents' home. They'd give you a key to your room and another key to open the gate. I believe it's important to understand it's not a regular "hotel" but rather a "B&B type" suite room Edgar and his wife share with the travelers.
The room we stayed is cozy; the accommodation is nice and quiet.We arrived in the evening and Edgar came to the bus station to pick us up. He also helped us book an overnight trip to the islands in Lake Titicaca right after he learned about our interests that night. On our departure date, he arranged a shared van for us to transfer to Juliaca airport, which is much cheaper than taking a taxi!!
I'd definitely recommend this warm and nice accommodation to whoever likes the experience to stay with the locals.:-)

Room Tip: Reserve a homemade dinner if you can. The warm meal lighted our hearts when it was raining heavily o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepywy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here during our panamericana tour and we loved the place. Edgar and his wife are very friendly, organised our trip to the lake and told us a lot of interessting stories and things about puno and peru. And the dinner in the casa was excellent! We would come back definitly, not because of the rooms (they are average) but because of the people and the lovely casa!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab4kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had a wonderful stay and they were really kind and helpful! They gave me an extra heather and helped with tips for the tours.
Make sure you get a room at the upper floor, and not in the garden house. This room is not worth it, the others are very nice.
Breakfast is very good too - I liked the bread they had and the juice. Also you will get yoghurt and cereals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
2.4 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 64 in Puno
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Panqarani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Panqarani

Address: Jr. Arequipa #1086, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puno
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ready to receive you at home and help that your stay in Puno will be unforgettable. Casa Panqarani a different alternative for sensitive and singular people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing