We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahoy!!! A great experience with the wonderful Captain Giselle and crew!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yavari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Ahoy!!! A great experience with the wonderful Captain Giselle and crew!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic two night stay on the Yavari in April. Captain Giselle, Henry and Malu looked after us well and the breakfasts were really something special - especially Giselle's delicious "eggs of the Captain"!!! Our cabin was cosy and the nightly hot water bottles a delight. The shared bathroom was very clean and user friendly. We used the nearby hotel for meals but didn't enjoy it and recommend heading further afield into town for a better meal. This was a unique experience we would recommend it to anyone with an interest in ships, history and adventure! Very good value for money too! Great work Giselle and crew - we loved our stay with you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the Yavari for one night... and we wish we could have stayed longer!!! The ship is simply amazing! The captain Giselle and crew, Henry, were very accommodating, helpful, friendly and passionate about what they do! Breakfast was one of the best we had during our whole trip in South America! The story of the Yavari is very interesting and the project is inspiring
The rooms are very functional and clean and we were surprised about how well the accommodation has been set up.
The location of the ship is of course the best : In lake Titicaca! It is priceless to wake up and look through the porthole at the morning sun shinning in Lake Titicaca. The ship is anchored in the back of a fancy hotel. They have a family of alpacas with babies that was very cute to watch and pass near by in the morning.
If you love boats ( or ever wondered what it is like to live in one!) you will absolutely love this accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed on the Yavari for two nights in December 2012 and it was a unique and amazing experience.

The location of the ship was very beautiful--on lake Titicaca, with a long wooden bridge to connect the ship with the shore. The shore itself is actually a backyard of another four-star hotel. By the time I was there, there were three Llamas in the garden and I could spot many wild cuys running around on the grass just like wild rabbits (if I could stand still and not moved).

Dinner was limited to the four-star hotel restaurant, but the food was good and well-worth it.
Malu and the staffs were very kind and helpful, always making sure that things were perfect for me. She even prepared a bottle filled with hot water to warm my legs at night on bed (coming from tropical area, I was so not made for weather in Puno).

The room was of course small with bunk-bed, just like what the ship officials used in the past.
I took the top bed, so the round window was next to me head. In the morning, I was awaken by the sun and when I looked out the view was so beautiful, with the sun reflecting on the surface of the water where ducks were swimming.

I recommend at least one night to try this unique experience in Puno. There is nothing much to do in Puno as compared with other major cities in Peru, but one night stay here is well-worth it.

Room Tip: Take the top bed if you are an early riser and don't mind to be awaken by the light. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed on the Yavari in October 2012 for 2 nights. It was a special experience and something very different from the high price tourist hotels outside Puno and the cheaper hotels in town.
Giselle and the crew were really helpful and considerate and could not have done anything more to make our stay a better one. Giselle helped with recommendations for restaurants, organising a private trip to the funeral towers and booking taxis... Her enthusiasm for her ship and its restoration is infectious.
Cabins are each 2 berth (bunks) and as you would expect on a vessel, quite tight for space. There's a share bathroom. Breakfast was really good. Good nights sleep - very quiet and a special touch, the crew provided hot water bottles in the beds.
Excellent value for money.
You are able to tour the boat even if you don't want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had such a nice time staying on the Yavari for 3 nights. We were the only travellers staying on the boat, Beautifully restored ship. If you love boats its a must to at least visit. Nice location. Restricted with resturants not many nearby but that didnt bother us as it was nice to stay just out of Puno. Staff are friendly and proud of the boat.

The resturant at the hotel where the boat is docked is average and expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Long overdue review for this place (traveled here about 2 years ago)... I stayed here a while back with another friend, so that we could have a unique experience on the lake. We stayed one night, went out for a home stay on Amantani and left our luggage, then came back for a final night. Both times we stayed in the bunk beds, complete with porthole to see the sunrise. Definitely an adventure, and worth a visit. We were able to watch the sunset from the boat deck and take a look at the stars. Giselle stayed up with us in the captains quarters and talked about the history of the boat, gave us local recommendations, and told us about how she got she became captain of the ship. I recommend it to travelers looking for a new, memorable experience, or anyone interested in nautical history or boats in general.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank witsylany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed on the Yavari for one night in September and it was lovely. Giselle and the crew were very nice and friendly and gave a wonderful tour of the ship. Giselle also organised my visit to the floating islands and went out and bought my bus ticket to Copacabana while I was away so I wouldn't miss it. The beds were very comfy and warm, I didn't even need to turn on the heater in room. Breakfast was also very good; fresh bread, real juice, eggs, coffee, tea, jam...
The shower though wasn't hot- just lukewarm, but it's a ship and if I head back down to Puno I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#16 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
0.6 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Puno
0.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yavari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yavari Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yavari Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lake Titicaca, Puno 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay aboard the Yavari, built in 1862, you will enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience, and also contribute to the continuing conservation and maintenance of a part of Peru's history and heritage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yavari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing