We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marlon's House Puno
Ranked #19 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay in Puno. Big rooms, good breakfast, good service. Slight downside is location (10 minute walk to central) and noise from traffic (on a busy street corner). We stayed for three nights after crossing from Bolivia and it was a nice place to recover!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
57
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights while we were in Puno to take the tour of Lake Titicaca. It is about a 10 minute walk to plaza de armas and also super close to the lake. The staff was really helpful when we needed to book buses and boat tours and the free breakfast was amazing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LRMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I booked the bus and hotel with Marlon in Cuzco and everything worked out well. I had a single room at Marlon's House in Puno which was nice and large. Breakfast was much better than in other comparable hostels in Peru.
The only problem was that the hot showers were only lukewarm most of the times which is quite tough in this kind of climate. The beds are good, but I'm very sensible to street noise and lights, therefore I asked for a backside room on my second stay.
10 minutes walk from the main street and the 2 plazas makes the hotel a good location. Like other reviewers I would like to point out the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaMoorea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had to spend you night in Puno, so this hotel suited my needs. But, if I had to stay longer, I would definitely look for another place.

Rooms aren't quite clean, yet they aren't dirty. I guess carpet floor just doesn't help much.

Bathroom is ok, shower is average.

Price was decent to what the hotel offers.

Breakfast could be better. It feels like the person who buys food for breakfast doesn't know how many guests they're having at the moment, so we were always short on something: bread, butter, cheese, etc. And when they got more of each, the other would finish. Also, they only leave one girl to make everyone an omelet or other stuff. She had good intentions, but was completely lost.

Location: About 10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas (main square).

Staff: Rosario, who worked at the reception was great. Very friendly and willing to help. She's got a 10 herself.

Security: Most times, the hotel glass door is locked from the inside, so I can tell I felt pretty safe in there.

So, my conclusion is: Staff is very good and hotel itself is OK. If you are willing to stay for a long time, I'd recommend somewhere else. If you are staying for one night or two, it should be fine.

Room Tip: Highr floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hostel is located ten min walk from Lima Street which is the main strip for tourists in Puno. Also within easy reach of nearby cafes and cheap eating places. The room was excellent with a big double bed and great view. It was slightly noisy in the morning but not too bad. The shower was hot and had good water pressure. The breakfast was nice and had a good variety. The staff were the best thing about this place, they were extremely helpful and could not do enough for us. Would highly recommend this place for travellers and it is very good value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and we were satisfied with the room that we had which was a double room with breakfast. The breakfast was good for what we had paid and we were happy with the service we received as the staff were very friendly and helpful. This was further highlighted by Ros as she kindly went out of her way to post my iphone back to me which I had dropped in the room and was found by a cleaner. Ros stayed in contact with and updated me of the progress until the phone was sent back to my home in the U.K at her earliest convenience which I am extremely grateful for.

Thank you Ros and the staff of Marlon's house for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imrangitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is the highest rated hostel in PUNO, a gritty city with lotsvof crime but wonderfully friendly regular people. Marlon's House staff are incredible....caring. Helpful, and flexible. They go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable. Rooms were spacious, breakfast good, nice kitchen, good wifi. Two issues..street noise was very bad between 5 am and 8 pm. Also dogs barking. So no quiet evening in, and hard to sleep in. But 8pm to 5 am was fine, with earplugs! Also no hot water about 7:30 am when I tried to shower. Staff said it was only during the busy part of the morning. Couldn't open window in evening cuz of exhaust. So while location is convenient, it's a bit problematic cuz of the busy streets...lots of honking and siren-like sounds.

Room Tip: Ask them for what you would like. They obviously place high value on satisfying guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaEtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intiqa Hotel
Intiqa Hotel
#14 of 66 in Puno
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#11 of 66 in Puno
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Puno

Property: Marlon's House Puno
Address: Avenuida Jr. Lambayeque 144, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlon's House Puno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Puno offers a variety of comfortable accommodations to cater to your budget and preferences. Accompanied by our wide range of services and the personal security we promise you, your family and belongings, we know that you'll feel right at home. Our spacious, spotless bathrooms have hot water 24 hours/day. Our roomy, carpeted accommodations feature large windows providing ample natural lighting, and each room is equipped with a telephone, television, and a hairdryer, heating, and beds with super orthopedic mattresses so that you can dream peacefully. Services: When you arrive in Puno, our personnel will be waiting to bring you to our hotel, where you will have at your disposal all the necessary information to enjoy tours of the islands and wonders you'll encounter in the majestic Lake Titicaca, such as the Uros, Amantani, and Taquile (declared a UNESCO world heritage site), wondrous and mysterious locations like Sillustani, Chucuito, and many more! Come to Puno, we can't wait to share the marvels that abound in our cozy city. Here in Marlon's House Puno, in our relaxed atmosphere, you will find the perfect base from which to enjoy Puno, because we are located mere minutes from all the attractions that the city offers! Perhaps the greatest attraction is close to Marlon's House , you can easily walk to any location! Our personnel are happy to offer you all the following services, and more New Location: Marlon's House Puno is located just One block from Puno's Central Plaza, the historical center and monument of the city known as The City of the Lake. We are located at Independencia street # 259 Puno - Peru. Just next to our Hostel we have several places to eat like Pizzerias,Restaurants,Drugstore,Banks,ATM and the most important is that the central Market is just one block from our place. From our Inn it is just a short walk to: The Central Plaza (La Plaza de Armas), where you can admire the Catedral; and the port, which offers access to Lake Titicaca. A longer stroll (or a short ride in taxi or bus) will lead you to: The ruins at Sillustani, 20 minutes from the hotel, and Chucuito, only 15 minutes away, where you'll find the Incan Temple of Fertility. A 15 minute boat tour through Lake Titicaca will bring you to the Uros Islands, while a beautiful and peaceful 4 hour cruise will bring you to the islands Amantani and Taquile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Marlon's House Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing