We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent staff, good room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlon's House Puno - Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlon's House Puno - Peru
Ranked #15 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Puno
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent staff, good room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hostel is located ten min walk from Lima Street which is the main strip for tourists in Puno. Also within easy reach of nearby cafes and cheap eating places. The room was excellent with a big double bed and great view. It was slightly noisy in the morning but not too bad. The shower was hot and had good water pressure. The breakfast was nice and had a good variety. The staff were the best thing about this place, they were extremely helpful and could not do enough for us. Would highly recommend this place for travellers and it is very good value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    66
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
54
50
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and we were satisfied with the room that we had which was a double room with breakfast. The breakfast was good for what we had paid and we were happy with the service we received as the staff were very friendly and helpful. This was further highlighted by Ros as she kindly went out of her way to post my iphone back to me which I had dropped in the room and was found by a cleaner. Ros stayed in contact with and updated me of the progress until the phone was sent back to my home in the U.K at her earliest convenience which I am extremely grateful for.

Thank you Ros and the staff of Marlon's house for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imrangitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is the highest rated hostel in PUNO, a gritty city with lotsvof crime but wonderfully friendly regular people. Marlon's House staff are incredible....caring. Helpful, and flexible. They go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable. Rooms were spacious, breakfast good, nice kitchen, good wifi. Two issues..street noise was very bad between 5 am and 8 pm. Also dogs barking. So no quiet evening in, and hard to sleep in. But 8pm to 5 am was fine, with earplugs! Also no hot water about 7:30 am when I tried to shower. Staff said it was only during the busy part of the morning. Couldn't open window in evening cuz of exhaust. So while location is convenient, it's a bit problematic cuz of the busy streets...lots of honking and siren-like sounds.

Room Tip: Ask them for what you would like. They obviously place high value on satisfying guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaEtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in puno. Not really a bad word to say about it. Nice comfy beds, hot showers, nice breakfast, fast wifi, good communal area and helpful staff.

Was such a nice hostel we transferred to their sister hostel in cusco!

Maybe the excursions on this tour a little more expensive than you'll find on the high street though!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We've been backpacking for a year and have been in Peru for about three weeks. We stayed three nights at Marlon's House. The reason we chose to stay here was because a review said that the breakfast was exceptional. Well, hate to break the news but sadly the breakfast here is just the same as everywhere else in Peru (which is nothing to write home about, ahem). The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are average and range in size. We had a double room that was basic and spacious. The wifi is good throughout the building and also inside the bedrooms. There's a communal lounge on the fourth floor with TV, free coca tea, couches and even a foosball table. Our biggest complaint was the water pressure in the showers. Very low water pressure and the hot water did not really work, which made it painfully cold to attempt to take a shower. Other than that, this is a decent budget place for backpackers.

Room Tip: For a quiet sleep ask for a room in the back of the building, rooms in the front have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjessrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Really comfy hostel with nice clean rooms and great staff, makes an excellent base in puno for a few days
+ very clean
+ breakfast with great variety
+ good Internet connection
+ nice common area
+ helpful staff
+ lockers at reception
+ they store luggage whilst on overnight trips to islands
- could use an additional bathroom for dorms
- kitchen could have more equipment

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGFstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

+ great breakfast (fruits,eggs besides the usual bread and jam)
+ comfy rooms
+ nice staff (we arrived at 5am and we could go to our room without having to pay for that night)
+ secure (doors always locked)

- in puno there's not much to do (we only did the full day lake titicaca tour - dont do the half day tour because then you'd only see the uros islands and that's just a rip off)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dankpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balsa
Hotel Balsa
#30 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#8 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ollanta Hostel
Ollanta Hostel
#14 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Puno - Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Puno - Peru

Property: Marlon's House Puno - Peru
Address: Jr. Lambayeque #144, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlon's House Puno - Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Puno offers a variety of comfortable accommodations to cater to your budget and preferences. Accompanied by our wide range of services and the personal security we promise you, your family and belongings, we know that you'll feel right at home. Our spacious, spotless bathrooms have hot water 24 hours/day. Our roomy, carpeted accommodations feature large windows providing ample natural lighting, and each room is equipped with a telephone, television, and a hairdryer, heating, and beds with super orthopedic mattresses so that you can dream peacefully. Services: When you arrive in Puno, our personnel will be waiting to bring you to our hotel, where you will have at your disposal all the necessary information to enjoy tours of the islands and wonders you'll encounter in the majestic Lake Titicaca, such as the Uros, Amantani, and Taquile (declared a UNESCO world heritage site), wondrous and mysterious locations like Sillustani, Chucuito, and many more! Come to Puno, we can't wait to share the marvels that abound in our cozy city. Here in the Lago Sagrado Inn, in our relaxed atmosphere, you will find the perfect base from which to enjoy Puno, because we are located mere minutes from all the attractions that the city offers! Perhaps the greatest attraction is that from the Lago Sagrado Inn you can easily walk to any location! Our personnel are happy to offer you all the following services, and more New Location: Marlon's House Puno is located just One block from Puno's Central Plaza, the historical center and monument of the city known as The City of the Lake. We are located at Lambayeque street # 140 Puno - Peru. Just next to our Hostel we have several places to eat like Pizzerias,Restaurants,Drugstore,Banks,ATM and the most important is that the central Market is just one block from our place. From our Inn it is just a short walk to: The Central Plaza (La Plaza de Armas), where you can admire the Catedral; and the port, which offers access to Lake Titicaca. A longer stroll (or a short ride in taxi or bus) will lead you to: The ruins at Sillustani, 20 minutes from the hotel, and Chucuito, only 15 minutes away, where you'll find the Incan Temple of Fertility. A 15 minute boat tour through Lake Titicaca will bring you to the Uros Islands, while a beautiful and peaceful 4 hour cruise will bring you to the islands Amantani and Taquile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marlon's House Puno - Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing