We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price & a short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marlon's House Puno
Ranked #13 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Big clean rooms for a fair price ($23 for a double) The shower wasn't great, pressure was poor, constantly turning hot and cold. We stayed in both 403 and 405. The Internet was really bad in these rooms with most people sitting in the communal hall on the 4th floor just to get some connection. Breakfast was ok, nice bread, we were never offered eggs like the previous reviewer. The staff were really friendly, and helped us book onward buses no problem. Expensive laundry service but we couldn't be bothered searching for an alternative. It was ok but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u01fw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 228 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our private room was pretty comfortable. The entire front of the room was floor to ceiling windows which was pretty cool. There are restrictions on hot water use, but the hours it is turned off are in the middle of the night and middle of the day. If you need to use hot water just call reception and they will turn it on for you.
Breakfast was pretty good and starts early for those heading off on trips to Lake Titicaca. Bread, cereal, yogurt and eggs.
I won't recommend their tour services however. It is overpriced for what you are getting and we did not enjoy the one day trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights to do the Ulros trip but the room was more than adequate. It was a corner room with floor to ceiling windows giving far views to Lake Titicaca. The room and bathroom was clean with a hot shower. Although one night we couldn't shower because there wasn't any cold and the shower was too hot. Breakfast was the usual, bread, jam and eggs with cold coffee - nothing special. The only downside was the kitchen didn't have a fridge, only 2 hobs for cooking and the bin was overflowing. It had not been emptied in the time we were there and it stank. It cost $20 which wasn't bad for what we got.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place advertises a kitchen. The so called kitchen has no fridge or oven, just a two burner stove. So we could not make dinner as planned, nor store any thing that needed refrigeration. They also advertise hot showers. Our shower was not even warm the entire time we stayed. The place was not clean. It is located on a very busy corner and we were kept awake or awoken from the constant street noise. The staff were not consistently helpful. Breakfast was disgusting, consisting of warm yogurt drink and stale cereal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clover_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Owner at Marlon's House Puno, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Dear Customer.
                              Marlon's House Puno thanked his visit to Peru, Puno City wing and especially the hostel.

We have to say we have 02 kitchens one on the terrace and the other on the second floor. Then do not understand the criticism that is not true. Also we have a fridge everyones used to store their things.

About the hot water system takes a while and for that there is an announcement that has to corer at least about 02 minutes and then we have hot water.

Anyway appreciate your comment and criticism that is very valuable to us and we are taking into account some details.

Best Regards.

Atte.

Marlon's House Puno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Also not sure how this place gets the positive reviews that it does. They told me the cold water was because the gas was shut off for Christmas because the workers weren't working. B.S. The so called back up shower which is electric also puts out nice cold lake water.

Location is terrible, right in front of a collectivo station. Bus there at 5 am, and the back end got yelling to fill in seats. Expect to be awake by 500 am. Also a market people yelling seeing the typical Peruvian garbage.

Don't waist your time of money.

Breakfast is shy of nothing, a bun!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Manager at Marlon's House Puno, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Dear Customer.

Thank you so much for your contribution and comment about our hostel. at the same time we have to ask you apologize for the inconvenience that we have BEFORE but now we have change everything so EVERYTHING IS WORKING PERFECT.

Kind regards.

Atte.

Marlon's House Puno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am not sure why this place gets the good reviews it does. It's marginal at best and poorly located. The traffic noise in the morning ensured an early wakeup at around 5:30. After patiently waiting till about 6:45 AM to ensure I could shower within their published hours for which the gas is turned on (6:00 AM in the mornings and 3:00 PM to 9:00 PM for the evenings), I was greeted to nothing but cold water, the same cold water I showered with the evening before.

The one positive thing is that the place is clean, but that's about it. After the included breakfast I went out for seconds elsewhere.

If you want a wifi connection, you need to sit in the hallways (there are couches) as there is no signal penetration into the rooms. Skype didn't work except to type and email was slow.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street, if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are big. Bathroom is nice and the breakfast is also very good. The English skills at the reception could be a bit better; depends who is in charge. You can easily book e.g. a tour to Sillustani (all tour agents/operator have the same price).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.8 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ollanta Inn - Hostel
Ollanta Inn - Hostel
#20 of 76 in Puno
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inka's Rest
Inka's Rest
#5 of 76 in Puno
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aymarak Hostel
Aymarak Hostel
#20 of 111 in Puno
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Puno

Address: Jr. Independencia # 255, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlon's House Puno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Puno offers a variety of comfortable accommodations to cater to your budget and preferences. Accompanied by our wide range of services and the personal security we promise you, your family and belongings, we know that you'll feel right at home. Our spacious, spotless bathrooms have hot water 24 hours/day. Our roomy, carpeted accommodations feature large windows providing ample natural lighting, and each room is equipped with a telephone, television, and a hairdryer, heating, and beds with super orthopedic mattresses so that you can dream peacefully. Services: When you arrive in Puno, our personnel will be waiting to bring you to our hotel, where you will have at your disposal all the necessary information to enjoy tours of the islands and wonders you'll encounter in the majestic Lake Titicaca, such as the Uros, Amantani, and Taquile (declared a UNESCO world heritage site), wondrous and mysterious locations like Sillustani, Chucuito, and many more! Come to Puno, we can't wait to share the marvels that abound in our cozy city. Here in Marlon's House Puno, in our relaxed atmosphere, you will find the perfect base from which to enjoy Puno, because we are located mere minutes from all the attractions that the city offers! Perhaps the greatest attraction is close to Marlon's House , you can easily walk to any location! Our personnel are happy to offer you all the following services, and more New Location: Marlon's House Puno is located just One block from Puno's Central Plaza, the historical center and monument of the city known as The City of the Lake. We are located at Independencia street # 259 Puno - Peru. Just next to our Hostel we have several places to eat like Pizzerias,Restaurants,Drugstore,Banks,ATM and the most important is that the central Market is just one block from our place. From our Inn it is just a short walk to: The Central Plaza (La Plaza de Armas), where you can admire the Catedral; and the port, which offers access to Lake Titicaca. A longer stroll (or a short ride in taxi or bus) will lead you to: The ruins at Sillustani, 20 minutes from the hotel, and Chucuito, only 15 minutes away, where you'll find the Incan Temple of Fertility. A 15 minute boat tour through Lake Titicaca will bring you to the Uros Islands, while a beautiful and peaceful 4 hour cruise will bring you to the islands Amantani and Taquile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Marlon's House Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing