We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family, average place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puma Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #49 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Iguazu National Park, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice family, average place.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The people who own the hostel are very kind, and the hostel is clean. It is absolutely FREEZING at night. They give you a lot of blankets, but be prepared for the cold.

Its a very small place, feels more like staying at a family home than at a hostel. Its a good place to stay for one night, in my opinion, but no more. Its also quite far from the town center, a few blocks, and though the owners say its a safe area, it was a bit nervewracking walking through the area alone at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamallama_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there 4 nights in double room only because we were sick. To be honest I was a little disappointed about this place. I read from opinions of others people that this place is clean. I don't agree with that. The kitchen and bathroom was not clean, bathroom doesn't have good ventilation so there is mould on walls and ceiling. In the room was freezing but I guess that is normal in Puno. Dorms were very small.
The advantages of this place were: price, quite neighbourhood and friendly owners.

Couple from Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hostel has good rooms, a fine communal area and kitchen and welcoming owners. The bathrooms were close to filthy though and were in need of thorough cleaning.
The breakfast was ok, so that considered the value is good. The location was ok as well, because it is just a short walk to the centre of Puno and Puno doesn't have any allout good locations (it's kinda a shabby place).
The owners were very sweet but not very professional. Sometimes they were nowhere to be found, they didn't know the correct times of the tours they sold, and we almost missed our bus out of Puno because the owner was late when he was driving us to the terminal.
Still, overall a good value hostel because it's cheap and we felt at home.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Copacabana, Bolivia. Puno is rather dumpy so I imagine the options are great. The owner was very friendly, and our room was fine, plenty of blankets for warmth, however the bathroom had not been cleaned (hair, dried toothpaste, trash) and the floor was soaked with water. The location seems sketchy, but like I said I think all of Puno is! We only had to walk about 5 minutes down the road to get to a pizza restaurant. It was fine for one night. I wouldn't recommend staying any longer in Puno!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed in a dorm room which thankfully wasn't full as there would not have been enough space if if had been, bathroom downstairs for dorm was pretty dingy and felt like you were intruding on family who used living space. Would be fine for groups but wouldn't go again if I was on my own as too far put of town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The owners are awesome and will help you plan trips. It's like having a mom and dad away from home. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere bit then again so is Puno. If I had one complaint, its SO FREAKIN COLD

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReyNube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pro's- pick up from bus station (which you pay about 4 soles)
- wifi
- pancakes for breakfast
- really comfortable beds

Cons- children of the family using the living area so you feel you are in the way

Good place to stay for one night

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexthekid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.6 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#29 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marlon's House Puno - Peru
1.4 mi away
Aymarak Hostel
Aymarak Hostel
#20 of 93 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inka's Rest
Inka's Rest
#6 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#1 of 93 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kantaya Hostel
Kantaya Hostel
#10 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puma Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puma Backpackers Hostel

Property: Puma Backpackers Hostel
Address: Jr.Antonio Arenas No 150, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Puma Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing