We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“180 from Bothy Arequipa”
Review of Bothy Puno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bothy Puno
Ranked #27 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bothy hostel in Arequipa: yes please. Bothy in Puno: no thank you. The basic hostel facilities were just fine, so, to be honest, if you're looking for a place to get a night's sleep and nothing more, this could be an okay place. They do have hot, clean showers and offer free hot tea 24/7 (well, 14/7, shall we say). However there are never any staff around, and where there are, you feel as if every single thing you do is an imposition. We arrived around midnight on a Friday night and the minute we'd paid discovered we were locked in the hostel and our hostess from the minute before was nowhere to be found! We had to ask everyone we could find and knock on doors and peer into windows before we could be let out to go get food. The whole stay was like this. When we finally tried to leave, we were informed that we were half an hour late for the 10am checkout (which no one had mentioned before) and would have to pay for an extra night (we didn't). Again, as soon as we'd paid the woman began pestering us to leave because she had to go somewhere and couldn't lock the door with us still there.
Anyway, rant aside, don't come here looking for friendly, welcoming staff. Oh, and breakfast only goes until 8am, so don't come here looking for that either.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hostel is just ok. The room was small and kind of old, but clean. The showers were downstairs, right to the reception, so it was a bit uncomfortable. But I have to say that the staff was extremely helpful and organised everything for us: transportation, tours, etc. And it was cheap, breakfast included... so I guess it's not such a bad place to stay in Puno.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EU2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was the worst hostel I have ever seen. We arrived at 11pm at night. The place is dirty, cold, and awful. The shower did not produce enough water for a shower and the bathroom was disgusting. We saw bugs in our room. No heat in the rooms. The beds are sunken and there are stains on the pillows. The place was freezing. We decided not to stay. We had to pay 50% of our reservation and the front desk lady refused to call us a cab to take us to our new place. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: Do your research.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We placed a booking for a triple at this hostel by phone, which was confirmed. When we arrived at the hostel we were told by the same woman we spoke to on the phone there was no record of our booking. Because they did not have our booking and there were no triple rooms free, she offered us a dorm room. When she showed us to the dorm room, the beds were still used from the night before and there was rubbish everywhere, but the attendant just pulled the sheets up and said it was good to go. We then asked how much it would be, and she quoted us a price which was significantly more than we were quoted for the triple room! We said that the price was too much, and we had been quoted by her just the day before much less, to which she replied we were mistaken and we must have been thinking of their sale price, but didn´t explain any further except to say it was no applicable. We said we wern´t interested and were going to look elsewhere, to which she responded by offering a .50cent discount. Not "percent". Cent.
Other than that, the location was terrible, and the communal spaces looked dank and prison-like.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oconnokier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Basic hostel with everything a backpacker may need - internet, good bed, hot showers, kitchen, breakfast, close to donwntown, quiete night time. On the otherhand there is nothing special here, if you are looking for party hostel or superconfortable hostel this is not it (and some people seem to be desappointed at this when they arrive, so set your expectations right).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasek_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We made a booking through Bothy Hostel in Arequipa, of course when we got to Puno, there was no booking... we did get two twin rooms though, the beds were horrendous, to the point of talking about taking out our blow up mattress and putting it on a cold floor. The light and noise made it hard to sleep and the rooms were freezing. There were two toilet/shower combinations for the whole hostel as the upstairs one was broken, with no hot water. They decided to try fix the toilet about our room, so we endured hours of jack hammering above our heads. Breakfast were pancakes and jam, each day I had to make my own as the staff were non existent. A very uncomfortable experience over all.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nad000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was a nice enough place to stay. However, the mattresses werent very uncomfortable, there was no hot water, not enough staff so cleaning didn't happen regularly, wifi existed but was very slow and went in and out of connection. The breakfast was good, except that i had to help myself to cold pancakes or make them myself(I happened to see batter in the kitchen). The bread was stale, and I had to rummage through the kitchen to find butter, jam and coffee. All that being said, I'd probably stay here again, as the staff were very friendly, there was a comfortable movie room and nice rooftop.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perutravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
20.4 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#2 of 64 in Puno
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ollanta Inn - Hostel
Ollanta Inn - Hostel
#21 of 74 in Puno
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#48 of 64 in Puno
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aymarak Hostel
Aymarak Hostel
#23 of 104 in Puno
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Puno

Address: Jiron Iquitos 136, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range: $15 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Friends if you come to Bothy Hostel Puno: when taking a taxi driver at the bus station is better to tell the driver that you already have reserved with us. In our hostel we will always have a space for you. They will try to tell you that we are full when we are not! See You at Bothy Hostels Arequipa Puno Peru. Don't pay more than 4 soles from bus station, not more than 80 soles from the airport. We also offer a pick up service for a fair price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bothy Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing