We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-conquistador vibes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taypikala Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taypikala Lago
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Stockholm
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pre-conquistador vibes”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is owned by a local shaman and that´s quite obvious, but not in a disturbing way. It´s the hard-core pre-conquistador non-catholic branch as I understand it, which suits me fine. The reception upon arrival was impeccable and friendly. We had a suite with very nice view over the lake. The place is not a luxurious one but nice enough according to peruvian standards. The Panamerican highway is 50 meters away but the traffic is in no way overwhelming and at least our room was quiet. There is hot water in the shower all the time. The breakfast is of varying quality from day to day, sometimes next to excellent and some days quite poor. The hotel has wifi but it´s relatively slow at least in our room. There is a travel agency, also owned by the shaman, connected to the hotel which gives good service and knows of places off the beaten track. In my opinion this hotel ends up between 3 an d 4 stars but the friendliness and efficiency of the staff makes it tip over in favour of 4.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaPaqariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    101
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
61
106
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect location. Excellent service. Wonderful food. Great staff. Good beds. Impeccable cleanliness..... I have nothing but praise for this hotel which is my favorite in that area. I warmly recommend it.
Michelle K., Los Angeles CA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libellule1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was part of a large group on a spiritual journey that stayed here for several days. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and there was an opportunity to mix with and learn from the local Shamans. This was priceless. The rooms were large and beds comfortable. Everywhere I looked there was beauty and a quiet tranquility. The gardens, the labyrinth and the energy was very relaxing and healing. The food was plentiful with many choices. This was my first time to Sth America and it was a great place to land and adjust to the altitude. It was close to many sacred sites which we visited with our guide Jorge Luis Delgado. A very special thankyou from Australia and for the opportunity of a lifetime to see how other Indigenous cultures live. Much gratitude, Cindy Mathers

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was handy to the dining room and the beautiful gardens. I shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Previously we have stayed in Puno but, this time, we were so in love with the beauty of this hotel and the views of the lake that we never wanted to leave the site, except for our wonderful excursions, of course! The small town location was so peaceful yet we only had to walk a short distance for necessities....a visit to the fertility temple is a must...and some of our friends said they enjoyed a small museum and places to eat. Our room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated and always very quiet for a good night's sleep. We loved the wonderful artwork and collectables displayed everywhere. Our group had all meals included in our package and I wrote home to tell my husband that our meals could rival the cruise ships! Even if you only have breakfast included, it was one of the best buffets in Peru. The staff and the service was first class all the way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent large rooms with stunning views of the lake, 5 minute walk to a quaint village with fertility temple, churches and little shops and only 15 minute taxi ride to city of Puno if you want to go over to the amazing floating reed islands etc. The service and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the buffet food for breakfast was exceptional, and the restaurant meals great as well if you eat in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel. The decor of the hotel is wonderful. The views of Lake Titikaka spectacular. The rooms are large & we had a great view. The meals at the hotel are very good. The location of the hotel is good as well & the service & the staff is friendly & excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
807 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful, big rooms, decorated with famous Seminario tiles, big bath all with a million dollar lake view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The big breakfast buffet was delicious with many choices. It is an easy uphill walk to a charming village. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
10.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
8.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
9.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
8.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
10.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Lago

Property: Taypikala Lago
Address: Calle Sandia S/N | Chucuito, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taypikala Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taypikala Lake, located just 15 min. the city of Puno, in the village of Chucuito on picturesque Lake Titicaca. The hotel is an attractive colonial style had implemented and a spectacular view of the lake majestic scenery Titicaca watching as own highland meadows, reed beds, rock formations and specimens of agriculture aymara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Taypikala Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing