We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel to experience the magic of Lake Titicaca. Exceeded all expectations.”
Review of Taypikala Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taypikala Lago
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Hotel staff was fantastic in helping with all needs. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Setting was lovely over the lake and very peaceful environment. This hotel will exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: Request a room looking out over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 382 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

strange-looking hotel, architecturally quite different but the food, room & location are quite good - one of the better places we stayed during our time in peru. there are beautiful views of lake titicaca from the rooms & rooftop & it is located in the small town of chocuito, outside of puno, which is a plus!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Hi everybody,
I stayed at the Taypikala Lago, on August and for three nights.
Me and my fiancée got just married on June, and we decided to get away from the noise and stress of the big city.
This hotel lies right on the lake shores, and it has the BEST views from almost everyspot.
The personnel was always attentive and assertive.

A trip we will never forget...

mp.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papuche_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at the Lago hotel (not the Spa hotel across the street). This was one of our favorite hotels in Peru. For $65 a night we had a suite with two sitting areas, a huge King bed and beautiful lake views. The staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant was also very good. It is however a 10-15 minute taxi outside of Puno which was about an $8 US taxi. We thought it was well worth it as Puno is not the most exciting city and we’d rather stay by the lake than intown. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

This review is for Taypikala on the lake hotel. It's right across the street from the Hotel and Spa. Hotel is very nice. Very large rooms by normal Peru standards. Nice views from the balcony. Hotel and area is beautiful. Restaurant is very good and unusually inexpensive. Front desk staff was a little less friendly than the rest, but not an issue. Only issue was a musty smell in the bathroom. Not too bad cause you don't spend too much time in there, but would ruin a relaxing bath. Opening the bathroom window helped. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Oh, and it's a bit off the beaten path. Most hotels are in puno, but this is about a 15 minute drive around the lake, but not an issue if you have transportation.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mantis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Grasiella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: peça um quarto mais perto da recepção se possui dificuldade de locomoção
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarielySteinmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
9.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
10.6 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
10 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
8.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
10.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#16 of 65 in Puno
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Lago

Address: Calle Sandia S/N | Chucuito, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taypikala Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taypikala Lake, located just 15 min. the city of Puno, in the village of Chucuito on picturesque Lake Titicaca. The hotel is an attractive colonial style had implemented and a spectacular view of the lake majestic scenery Titicaca watching as own highland meadows, reed beds, rock formations and specimens of agriculture aymara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Taypikala Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing