We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating piece of British industrial history on Lake Titicaca”
Review of Yavari

Yavari
Ranked #15 of 53 things to do in Puno
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating piece of British industrial history on Lake Titicaca”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were intrigued to visit this site having heard about it on BBC radio 4 and had an hour to spare in Puno.
The engineer showed us around with great enthusiasm as he has obviously spent many years working on it.
The B&B looked worth a visit too.
Donation suggested but not enforced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane29650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
legermireille
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is an extremely interesting place to pass just one or two hours. We were able to see almost the whole boat, barely no limits! Very knowledgeable guide (engine engineer). The is no fee but a donation box with a suggested 10 - 20 USD contribution is at the exit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank legermireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This boat restoration is a labor of love. We grabbed a taxi here after our Uros Island visit. The supervisor stopped her work to give us a guided tour. The boat is a gem of polished wood and brass. It has such a fascinating history. 10 soles donation is suggested.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a look if you end up in Puno”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The fact that this was a highlight on a dreary day looking round the sights of Puno doesn't say much for Puno (I'd skip it if you're not already committed to spending time here) but if you are here, go and take a look at the Yavari. It's been beautifully restored and the boat keeper is incredibly enthusiastic. It'll pass 10 minutes of a day, more if you speak any Spanish!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“If you are in Puno go here for a great personal tour!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had just arrived in Puno on the Andean Explorer and found out our hotel was very close to this amazing ship. Arriving on board a very enthusiastic lady showed us around and her English was very good. The story of how it got here from England (and the engine was made at Petters in the Thames - so we think it may have been built in Staines where we used to live) is a totally epic feat.

The brass work is spotless and the restoration project is well underway. You make a donation and there is some merchandise to buy if you want. You can even post letters on board. If you are in Puno and no doubt visiting Lake Titicaca, do spend a hour of so here, it is part of the lakes history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yavari also viewed

 

Been to Yavari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing