We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value for money”
Review of El Manzano Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Manzano Lodge
Ranked #17 of 76 Puno B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Its just what you need to spend a night in Puno. Puno is not a particularly charming place, so to find this hostel was a nice surprise. Its close to the port, so its quite handy for when you need to be at 7am to get the boat to the floating islands and Taquile, and also walking distance from terminal terrestre when we arrived.
Bedrooms were clean and tidy, shower is sol powered, so there is a helpful sticker in the bathroom letting you know the temperature water is at different times of the day, shower was good.
breakfast was much better than standard jam and butter bread and tea, they gave juice, on the first day chocolate cake, and on the sacond day cheese sandwich.
There are plenty of useful information stick on reception regarding tours and what to do in Puno. Well equipped and nice place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19dragon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We got a taxi from the station to El Manzano for s./5 it´s only a short ride away. Its close to the port away form the main square but this wasn´t a problem. The entrance isn´t obvious as it´s a small doorway in a long street, but our taxi driver knew where it was. We booked a double room with private bathroom. The room was basic and clean but had a strange smell. The bathroom was ok too but it also smelt of sewage and with no window the smell was difficult to escape. Sadly there wasn´t really any hot water it only really got warm once in the three days we were there. The owners are friendly enough and showed us the cafeteria where breakfast is served and instructed us on how to use the 3 x small gas travel stoves which we could use to boil water to make drinks if we wanted. They helped us with a taxi back to the station and check in and out was easy. They only accept cash payments though. It gets really cold in Puno on the night and although we had three heavy blankets and a duvet on the bed we still needed to use our sleeping bags. Heaters are available for an extra S./10 per night. It´s safe and secure and good value for a few nights in Puno.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

It's location is not a problem. The street outside is grubby, but most of Puno is. The staff are friendly and helpful; however, they might come off as being inattentive as they are so laid back.
The room was exceedingly good value at the price I found online.
There is working wifi, and the shared bathrooms use solar-heated water.
Breakfast was included.
I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We walked to El Manzano shortly after sunrise from the bus station. It was an easy walk, but be sure to not expect street signs when planning your route.

El Manzano looked as we expected. The rooms are situated around an interior courtyard. We got a twin room on the first floor with a shelf, and a shared bathroom in the courtyard. A pillow and bedding is included, but no towel or soap is included. Both the room and the bathroom were reasonably clean. We never had to wait to use the shared bathroom.

We had planned to utilize the hotel's laundry service, but when we went to the reception room with our clothes they said washing was impossible since it was Sunday.

For our tour to the Uros Islands, we were the first people to be dropped off at our hotel (and had been the last to be picked up that morning) since El Manzano is away for the main hotel areas and instead is by the navel center and a residential area closer to the port.

There is a really old computer in El Manzano's common area that had usable internet.

The solar powered hot water was a bit confusing. You have to turn the valve on (with no indication of what 'on' is - it was down), and then wait 5-8 minutes. Then you could turn on the hot water facet. When I showered around 9pm, this resulted in a small stream of warm water. However, it was enough to wet hair, rinse hair, and rinse body.

For the excellent price, I would stay at El Manzano again. However, between having to go outside to get to the bathroom and the solar heated water, it might not be a good choice in colder months.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galonthelinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family stayed a couple of nights at El Manzano, and found it just as advertised: secure, reasonably clean, friendly, and affordable. The cheerful courtyard is a nice surprise after the non-descript (I didn't even notice a sign) doorway, and we had a decent sized quad room up on the third floor. The place was busy, but quiet enough during our stay. I had hot water both mornings (including very early) and the breakfast was good. We were out on the lake all day, but El Manzano was a quick walk to both the port and to the dining areas near the Market and off the Central Plaza when we were in Puno. Reserved via internet/e-mail, check-in and check-out went smoothly, and staff was consistently helpful and friendly. A good deal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwaterdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

El Manzano is located just outside of city centre, really only a short walk to the square. The hostel has a nice courtyard setting.
Liked:
- Breakfast! Better than most hostels in this price range (not just bread and jam)
- Solar powered showers, provided hot water most of the day
- Really nice staff
- Fast internet (did not like that they shut it off overnight)
- Fair price, probably better value because you are not on the square

Puno can get really cold at night. Even though plenty of blankets are provided, we wore fleece pants and socks in bed... Duvet instead of blanket would have been nicer. We found out later you can purchase heating in the room (guess you get an electric heater or something)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hostal is a few blocks from Puno port and walking distance to the bus station. It´s located in the lowest part of Puno, at Titicaca level, downtown city is up hill but not a tiring walking, just few blocks and there is a good supermarket near this hostal.
Rooms is very quiet to sleep, hot showers are better until 06:00 PM after that water will warm less and less, the staff are very kind and will help in anything the guest needs.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the first floor near beakfast area...where wifi works better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.1 mi away
Pacha Confort
Pacha Confort
#1 of 76 in Puno
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kusillo's Posada
Kusillo's Posada
#6 of 76 in Puno
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puno Hostel
Puno Hostel
#27 of 111 in Puno
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inka's Rest
Inka's Rest
#5 of 76 in Puno
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Santa Maria Inn Puno
#36 of 65 in Puno
95 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hostal Campestre Casa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Manzano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Manzano Lodge

Address: Avenida Del Puerto, 449, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Puno
Price Range: $11 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Manzano Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel El Manzano Lodge in Puno city, Lake Titicaca, Peru Hostel El Manzano Lodge welcomes us into the quiet streets of the neighborhood "Porteno", just 10 minutes from Lake Titicaca, in the historic city of Puno at 3812 meters above sea level. Where there are two great cultures, the Quechua in northern place and Aymara in south place. Hostel El Manzano Lodge is equipped for the enjoyment of visitors to the tranquility of yesteryear and the comforts of the present, its location is ideal because it allows you to enjoy the tranquility of a village typical neighborhood. Hostel El Manzano offer you single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms and dormitory rooms. When booking your trip with El Manzano will: Low prices always, clean and airy rooms, gardens and pleasant nature, ecological services, keeping for the environment and our planet, help and free tourist information, for programming your trips and tours in Puno and Peru and a comfortable and quiet as you desire. To book just in Hostel El Manzano Lodge send us an email or communicate for facebook or tw. Our phones are also available 24 hours a day, all year. Do not miss it! . Book online, by coming to Lake Titicaca. Remember to book ahead for a private room. The bedrooms are usually always available beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your El Manzano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing