We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to stay in Puno”
Review of Suites Antonio's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suites Antonio's
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a couple of nights here after our trip from Cusco on the Andean Explorer.
They met us at the station although train was some 2 hours late.
Rooms were comfortable and spacious, hot water was only lukewarm, but as the weather was quite warm that wasn't a problem.
Good breakfast, there is a reasonable selection set out and the girl from the kitchen asks if you want scrambled or fried eggs, and prepares them for you.
Location is good, close to the Plaza de Armas, and reception will arrange your tours for you.
We just did the 1/2 day floating islands tour, the altitude is pretty exhausting and we found we were falling asleep around 4pm.

The only problem we found was that if you closed the bathroom door from the outside, it locked and you had to get staff to search or a key to open it for you!

I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 569 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location can't be beat - it's close to everything but on a nice quiet street. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were large, and ours had a great heater. Breakfast spread was good. They have teas out all day on every floor (coca very helpful for altitude sickness!). Older property but lots of charm. Note that not all rooms have a safe. Note that there is another newer hotel also called San Antonio suites right around the corner, owned by the same people - make sure your cab driver knows this one is on Jiron Arequipa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aha3f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights with a day trip to Lake Puno in between. The accommodation was in a great location only a few blocks from the main square and the tourist strip of restaurants. There's not much to see in Puno and it really is the jumping ground for Lake Titicaca, so this hotel is well placed for what you need in the town of Puno itself.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful in arranging our day trip to the lake and our transfer from the bus station when we arrived (for free!) and to the airport for our departure.

The hotel was a little dated around the edges, but was overall comfortable. They had coca tea and other tea and coffee available on each floor with a thermas - which was great. The rooms themselves were okay in size with separate bathroom and toilet and a cupboard for storing clothes plus a tv and plenty of blankets to keep you warm. The hallways between the rooms were quite cold and the room itself was a little cold, but not once you were in bed under all of the blankets.

The only thing that I think really brings this down from a 4 star to a 3 star for me is their use of this potently strong citrus/orange, what I can only assume was - cleaning agent - that really did overpower the smell of the rooms in particular but even the communal places. It really was off-putting and too overpowering.

Other than that, I would stay here again, given all you're likely to do in Puno is sleep - it's not really a city for sight seeing. Sorry Puno, but I LOVED Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMooCount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights will in Puno. It is a nice little hotel very close to the main square.
The people are great and very helpful. Breakfast is very good with a lot of fresh fruit.
All the rooms have wifi and new flat screens which is helpful when you travel with young kids.

Room Tip: Room 205 has the best shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quipu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently spent 3 days here. The location is great, close to the main square and restaurants. The owners picked us up at the bus station as promised and were very helpful in getting us oriented to Puno. On the third day both of us came down with a bad case of altitude sickness and they showed genuine concern for our well being, providing us with oxygen and coca tea.
Be advised that Puno has a higher elevation than Cusco. We had been in Peru for two weeks and thought we were well acclimatized - no fun dealing with altitude sickness.
The rooms were small, but beds were comfortable and there were very thick blankets to keep us warm, we did not see any heat source in the room. The bathrooms have been renovated and are very clean.
Great bargain for the price - would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Although Puno was not our favorite city in Peru, this hotel was the nicest part of our stay.

-great location by the main square
-comfortable room, hot water,
-great service: organized our uros islands tour for us, helped us change rooms when there were paint fumes in our first room

The breakfast was huge: regular bread and jam, but a great selection of fruit as well as cereal, yogurt, and eggs.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place was great, great price and wasn't lacking in any areas because of it.

- Clean and comfortable rooms
- Great location, 2 blocks from main plaza
- Fantastic service, the girls booked our buses and tours, we also got a free pick up from the bus station on arrival, offered via email upon booking
- Delicious breakfast, only place so far in SA we have had fresh fruit for breaky, yum!!
- Hot showers, definitely a plus in Puno

Stay here!!

Room Tip: Walls a paper thin, ask for room away from stairs as you can hear people arriving in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tym0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 64 in Puno
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Antonio's

Address: Calle Arequipa No 840, Puno Puno 51, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $21 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Antonio's 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Antonio's, is the best option for you, stay in a safe, clean and comfortable place . Our rooms are very comfortable, single , double , triple and twin rooms with private bathroom, hot water 24 hours , heating, TV cable, telephones ,free internet service , WI-FI free all the hotel, safe box in rooms , hair dryers and buffet breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Suites Antonio's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing