We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm, friendly, safe and excellent value.”
Review of Totorani Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Totorani Inn
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Clean, warm rooms. Plenty of hot water, cable tv, WiFi and literally five minutes very safe walk from the plaza del armas. It's really hard to find fault.

But it gets better. Alberto is a courteous and efficient host who not only drove us to and from the bus station in a brand new SUV but arranged our tour to the floating islands and our bus to Copacabana at a really good price.

Puno is not a cheap town to stay in and there are clearly lots of places which cost a LOT more and provide a lot less. I can't imagine anyone getting better value for $30 a night and this would have been excellent value at twice the price.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr0ct0pus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Arriving in puno bus station we saw Alberto was there to greet us. This was great and the level of service we received did not change throughout our stay here.

Our trip to the islands was arranged for us which saved us lots of time and whilst we were on our trip Alberto bought our ongoing bus tickets. This was beyond helpful!!

The hotel itself is positioned on a main road but noise was not a problem. The rooms are clean, comfortable and safe. Breakfast was pleasant and a good start to the day.

The centre of puno is only 8 minutes away and is a safe walk. We would also recommend eating at lago de Flores
On a side street off calle Lima!

All in all totorani provided a comfortable, welcoming, convenient stay and it comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holibobs1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Totorani Inn is very close to the train station which is handy if you are coming in on the Andean Explorer. It's a bout a 10 minute walk from the centre of Puno.
It was clean & comfortable, the staff were unbelievably helful. We told them what we wanted to do & they organised it all for us & we just apid for it all when we settled our bill & it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Fantastic, affordable hostel for all your Puno-staying needs. Alberto is very friendly and easy to communicate with. We arrived by bus in the middle of a rainstorm and he himself was parked but a couple feet away from the bus to help us escape the rain as quickly as possible. The inn itself is cozy, well-furnished, and clean. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Noise was not an issue. Alberto made booking an island tour very easy, and even drove us to the airport himself. Now that's great service!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We picked this hostel after seeing reviews here and on Thorntree. We had a lovely stay here for two nights. Puno itself is not a great city but a must-see if you want to see Lake Titicaca. But the hostel was fantastic- Alberto and his mother are always keen to help. They booked our island tour, bus to Copacabana, and our hotel there too (we were still, and were also really helpful when we needed to make arrangements and phone calls to Australia after realising we lost a bank card back in Arequipa. Alberto even accompanied us to make sure we got the correct phone card! (without us even asking). Rooms are comfortable and clean, and it is lovely to come back to a made bed every night.

Breakfast is eggs, fresh juice, bread, jam and coffee and can be ready very early even on the day we had to leave at 6:45 for our bus. There is reliable hot water and wifi.

There is a walk of about 10 mins to the main street (Calle Lima) for restaurants etc, but it seems very safe and we were quite happy to walk everywhere.

Nothing seems too much trouble for staff here, we would highly recommend staying here while in Puno.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were recommended this hostel by another hostel owner in Arequipa and we werent disappointed. We were picked up from the bus station by the owner, who is a very kind and softly spoken. Room was spacious and had a double and single beds. Everything was spotless and the shower was great. We were offered eggs for breakfast which is a real treat in hostels as they usually consist of bread rolls only.
Enrique arranged a morning and afternoon tour to Uros and to the Incan tombs for the next day and we really enjoyed those as well. Highly recommended whether you're on a budget or not! Just a 7 min walk to the centre of town :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have got mixed feelings about my stay at Totorani Inn in Puno.

On the good side, the owners are very kind and they do everything to help you. Someone was waiting for me at the bus station as planned. They agreed to give me another room when I found out that the one initially planned was facing the street. Breakfast starts at 6:30, which is great when you need to catch an early boat to go to Taquile Island. And wifi works well, although they shut it down during the night so it is generally not available if you wake up early.

On the bad side, the location is not perfect. The hotel is located in the center, but a good 10-minute walk to the main street, where all restaurants are located. The room is very basic, and the bathroom kind of rundown.

Puno is not a pleasant city to live in. Totarani Inn is a cheap option but if I had to go back, I would probably choose a fancier place.

Otherwise I would definitely suggest to go to Copacabana, Bolivia, to visit Lago Titicaca and Isla des Sol instead of Puno.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.6 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#36 of 64 in Puno
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Turistico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Hotel Kuntur Inn
#26 of 64 in Puno
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Utasa Inn
Hostal Utasa Inn
#25 of 64 in Puno
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totorani Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totorani Inn

Address: Av. La Torre 463, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#9 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $14 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totorani Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TOTORANI, offers large rooms, all with private bath, equipped with heating and with all personal services you need to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable, and safe in Puno.We continue to offer the same modern conveniences without compromise, confortable rooms, and personal service as we have since we began business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Totorani Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totorani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing