We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from staff, central location and comfortable rooms- a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real Turistico
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service from staff, central location and comfortable rooms- a little gem”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Arriving at this hotel we were welcomed at reception by a woman who quickly assisted us in booking a Lake Titicaca tour to pick us up from the hotel the next morning (we didn't need to pay for it until our return), she went to the bus station to book us tickets to La Paz (and only charged us for her minimal taxi fare), took our filthy washing, gave us agreat resturant suggestion, helped us book her recommended hotel at LaPaz (also a great choice) and made us feel so welcome and relaxed in Puno that we couldn't help loving the hotel.
The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable with good hot showers and had WIFI in the room. There was a walk upstairs to the room which was more of a challenge with the altitude of Puno.
Breakfast was good and included eggs cooked to order. Again service from staff was outstanding.
Location was an easy, safe walk of a couple of blocks to the central shops and resturant district. Although this hotel does not look enticing from the outside it is a little gem.
Book ahead as it was full on our stay before and after Lake Titicaca

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergiestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
48
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We showed up at the Hotel Real Comino at 4 in the morning off an overnight bus, hours before the hotel opened, let alone check in time. We banged on the door for a while and were expecting an angry reception. Instead a cheerful employeed let us in, apologized that our room wasn't ready and gave us blankets and hot tea so we could settle on the lobby couches. He even allowed us to get breakfast when it was served a few hours later.

We had a 6:45 departure out to the islands, but one of my friends had to stay back because she was sick. In our abscense, the hotel found her a clean room to nap in until our was ready. They also gave her more tea and bread for her stomach. They even called her a doctor to make sure she didn't get any more sick.

Besides the excellent service, the hotel was clean and there was lots of hot water. It was also located very near the plaza de armas. I would highly recomend it. Also there is a computer with free internet for 15 min of use.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in Puno and we were delighted! We had a double room, which was not too big but was nicely and comfortably decorated. Had a locker in the room, 24 hour hot water that worked perfectly and a nice and spotless bathroom.
The reception and service was one of the best we have seen during our 2 months travel through South America so far. They booked our trip to Lake Titicaca and arranged our bus tickets for Copacabana and were really helpful and friendly and happy to oblige whenever we needed anything. Our laundry was taken care of quickly and we got 2 extra cushions upon request. Wifi in the room had a good signal.
Location was very good, only a 3 minute safe walk to the main restaurant and shopping street, Jiron Lima. Puno is not the most attractive town in Peru, but food was pleasant and this little hotel made our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivoandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Located two blocks from the main plaza in Puno this hotel has clean rooms with good sized bathrooms. Comfortable bed and happy to provide extra pillows and blankets when requested. Wifi works well and also PC downstairs for internet access. Good continental breakfast with coffee/tea, bread, cheese, meat, cereal and juice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisa
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

As mentioned above, I had a really great and comfortable room (a corner room with a matrimonial bed), with a modern bathroom, both very clean. I had first been attributed another room, and when I asked to change (as it did not have a lot a daylight), I got a new room without problems. The staff at reception (Liz) was very helpful and nice. When I wanted to use internet in the lobby, it was busy, and Liz told me that she would call me once it would be free. I can recommend this place!

  • Liked — Nice room and clean; courteous staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coogee20233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#40 of 65 in Puno
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Utasa Inn
Hostal Utasa Inn
#23 of 65 in Puno
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#29 of 65 in Puno
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 65 in Puno
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balsa
Hotel Balsa
#28 of 65 in Puno
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Turistico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Turistico

Property: Camino Real Turistico
Address: Jr. Deza N. 328, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Real Turistico 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Turistico is situated in the heart of Puno in the cultural center of the town. Our guests enjoy easy access to the center of the town, restaurants, places where they can find the nightlife and easy access to the best of Puno. Camino Real Turìstico offers you all the comfort the guest expects to have to feel at home; stay in one of the better hotels in the town of Puno where you will feel at home and from where you will enjoy Puno. Our idea in to be able to satisfy all the guest`s needs and wishes from the moment he arrives at the hotel. Camino Real Turistico offers 20 finely decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Camino Real Turistico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing