We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice in Puno - Clean, Friendly, Convenient”
Review of Intiqa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Intiqa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2012 and would definitely stay there again. It's located in the center of Puno, so you can easily walk to shops and restaurants nearby.

The rooms were clean, airy and comfortable. Street-facing rooms can be a bit noisy with traffic and people about even in the middle of the night, so if possible get a room that faces a quiet location.

The lobby is warm and inviting. The staff seats you in the lobby and brings you tea while they complete the check-in process (typically, hotels in Peru go through a lengthy check-in process). The staff was helpful (most of them spoke English fluently), setting up a tour for us and giving us tips about where to go, what to see and importantly, where not to go! The breakfast buffet was also very good with pastries, bread, cold cuts, fruit and made-to-order eggs and omelets. You can't go wrong staying here if you're in Puno. The prices were reasonable, too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odysseus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 481 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I rented a car and drove in from Cusco. The hotel was almost impossible to find, but we did eventually get there. Parking was free (I had emailed ahead about that) - the front desk person drove our car to an off-site garage and stored it there for us. The staff was very friendly, spoke pretty good English, and were very accommodating. For instance, we wanted to check in for one night, check out for one night, and then check back in for another night. We were doing an overnight tour of the lake. No problem: They kept our bags and car for the day and night we were on the island. It's only a short walk from the hotel to the main pedestrian street. So we stayed in two rooms b/c of the checking out and in thing - both of them king beds. The room we had where the bathroom window opened out onto the interior courtyard was noisy - any noise in that atrium echos all the way up the building. The other room was fine. Both rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. The WiFi worked great. Breakfast was more than adequate. It's not going to win any design awards and it wasn't worth taking any pictures of, but I'd stay here again for the service alone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms are clear and comfortable, they have very big beds, the complimentary breakfast was fresh and delicious with great service and the best coffee around.
The staff was helpful and friendly, the hotel is close the main squeare and the main street.
They are renovating and updating the hotel in some areas and lloks so beautiful. All around, this hotel and staff saved me and made my trip memorable!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intiqa, Propietario at Intiqa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you very much to improve our work with your nice coments, we are having once a week meeting to learn about what our clients like.
Thank you again.

Francisco Aquise
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was found for us, last minute by asking a guide on a bus while travelling on route to Puno. We were in a group of 8 and all of our accommodation needs were met. We found the staff, especially Sandra, were professional and extremely helpful in answering our questions, making arrangements for different tours, bus trips, storing of luggage and giving directions. The rooms are clean, spacious and we particularly enjoyed the king size bed that was 8 foot across. There was some sound transfer in the hallway as all rooms are entered from an open courtyard on all floors. A nice breakfast is included. All amenities worked well including WiFi and TV. An excellent experience for our group.

Room Tip: Matrimonial beds are available upon request and our experience was a large king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this place, maybe other than a loud party next door around 2-3am. We arrived by train from cusco around 6:30pm, and left early the next day on a bus to La Paz. We pre-arranged for a pick up from the train to the hotel (which is required as its just far enough.. but still close by).We were worried about getting our bus tickets for the following day and the staff manager was very helpful in organizing for us as soon as we arrived (pre-arranged, but they rushed off the buy them for us). The room was massive.. it could have been too rooms maybe.. we were on the top floor. The breakfast was great, with a chief on standby to cook the eggs or omelette of your choice. We didn't spend much time in Puno, but this hotel was ideal for a fly-by 12hr stopover to recharge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is spacious and professionally run. The room was well appointed, with Inca like touches. Breakfast was fulsome. The staff were extremely helpful, picking us up from the bus station and helping to organize our Lake Titicaca tours. All amenities worked well, including wifi. It is in a quiet, slightly non-descriptor location, but only one block from the main pedestrian mall, and it is walkable without luggage to the port area for tours. It is a hotel that is used by tour groups at times, this did not affect stay at all. We were mst impressed by the staff, who all went out of their way to assist us. I do not give out excellent ratings lightly, but Intiqa deserves this badge. Well done guys and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We’ve spent 2 nights (separate) at the Intiqa Hotel – in between an overnight-stay on the floating islands of Uros. And we loved it. Staff was really welcoming and helpful (and took care of our luggage for one day). A friendly employee even spoke to us in French (our mother tongue). Rooms were nice and spacious and breakfast was excellent. In terms of location, this place is outstanding as you are in a quiet area, yet only a 2 minutes’ walk away from the main street with tons of restaurants, boutiques, banks, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intiqa, Propietario at Intiqa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

We want to say thank you for your coments,
sincerily
Francisco Aquise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
2.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intiqa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intiqa Hotel

Address: Jr. Tarapaca 272, Puno 051, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $65 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Intiqa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intiqa Hotel offers a themed environment with modern facilities and services and a professional staff that is ready to meet your needs with the efficiency that our guests deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Intiqa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intiqa Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing