We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, caring owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Europe
Level Contributor
484 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great value for money, caring owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

We unexpectedly found ourselves having to stay overnight in Puno due to road blockades and unrest in Bolivia. The tour company of the bus we were on recommended this place as cheap and good value for money. They were right. We asked for a quiet room, and we got one not facing the main road. The bathrooms are basic and we had to ask for soap, but they did the job. Breakfast is served on the top floor and I recommend the hot chocolate as she makes it fresh. Coffee is instant, but she does go to the market for fresh bread and makes fresh mango shakes. All this for 50 soles.
And if you want really good value for money food, walk out your hotel, turn right, walk up the street about 100 m at most, and there is a Chinese restaurant that has a sign for wonton soup. They do all sorts of fried rice dishes. For 9 soles, you get a small mountain of rice and soup. The two of us couldn't finish it! Was great.
I would stay here again and I think the owner goes above and beyond to make guests feel special. If you speak Spanish, she will chat with you about the area, your life, etc. She's great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    13
    12
    1
See reviews for
4
41
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, simple but sufficient breakfast included in the price: one glass of juice, tea or coffee with milk, 2-3 pieces of bread with butter and jam. It is served until 9 pm; you can tell them the previous evening what time you want it to be served. Room basic but clean. They didn't speak English but took the effort to understand my broken Spanish. The only small inconvenience was that their computer was infected so I basically didn't have internet access. They lock the main door and sometimes you have to keep knocking for a while until they show up, but it's not too bad. There is no alarm clock in the room but they knock on your door if you ask for a wake-up call :) I paid $18 per night. I can recommend this place to people who just want a clean, safe place to spend a night at and are happy with a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piciorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Friendly staff, held our stuff when visited Lake Titicaca over night. Ask for a room at the back of the building. We had one at the front the first night and it was super noisy. Maybe because it was Saturday night too...Room at the back was much bigger, warm and quiet. Great price 50 soles peak time...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmclehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We relocated to this jem after following a group to some enterprise hostel that offered everything under the sun, but without much quality. Santa Maria was actually the first place that was ready to offer a heater - and they offered a great deal, followed by replacement toilet paper, and nice clean towels. We were amazed after seeing all three of these dream treats during our cold trip.
We loved our chats with the operators so much, we agreed that of all the places we had been during month visit, this was the one that truly deserved a good word.

I miss the wool blankets too! the room actually inspired us to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalamalka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Gorgeous hot showers, cable TV, friendly reception, and only S/.40@ double (off-season) with bathroom, S/.10 more for an electric heater. And whenever you return from touring the town, the Manager will deliver a large thermos bottle of hot water to your room for coca tea. Just like home ...

  • Liked — Value.
  • Disliked — Stairs to our third floor room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.4 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#28 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#50 of 67 in Puno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#12 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pumakala Hotel
Pumakala Hotel
#59 of 67 in Puno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Hotel Kuntur Inn
#27 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Inn Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn Puno

Property: Santa Maria Inn Puno
Address: A. Ugarte 171, Puno 36 8608, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Maria Inn Puno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Inn Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing