We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can be considered a good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Santa Maria Inn (Puno) is a good hostal with excellent location, because there is a great supermarket on the corner, and you can find a great pharmacy inside it. We couldn't enjoy the breakfast, because my husband was not feeling very well. This Hostal provided us a good drug that helped my husband recovering. The service was good, but, the hot watter was cut at last night after we paid the daily. We're so disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deisemalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

After leaving a disappointing stay in Cusco (with staff that seemed to just not give a damn anymore), I was so happy to be staying at a hostal where the staff really cared about their individual guests.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was incredibly friendly. First off they gave us a room off the main street to limit the noise. They brought us hot water bottles at nighttime (without us needing to ask - we stayed in June.. brr) during our stay which was very appreciated! Breakfast was great and the lovely woman who made it for us was simply the sweetest. My friend and I just felt very cared for here unlike other hostals we have stayed at in South America, where we just felt ignored.

Its true what people stay about the five floors (with breaky served on the 5th), a little tiring, but it shouldnt be much of a problem.

As a smaller hostal this staff really tries to make your stay as special and as comfortable as they can. I would definitely stay again. Leaving the hostal we almost felt like we wanted to hug the young man who also works there.... I miss them! Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room that doesnt face the main street to help reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked this through booking.com more than 5 days in advance, we read good reviews on trip advisor so were confident in our choice. When we arrived the receptionist took a long time to assign a room, when she finally did, we took the key and unlocked an already occupied room, not the greatest security..... When we told her she basically said that they had given away our room, some administrative stuff up. She was obvioisly not personally ar fault and was clearly stressed by the situation. We spoke to the manager and They did try to find another hotel, a relative or a friends hotel close by. The price on their wall was 70 soles but they told us it was 80 soles. I read the reviews on trip advisor of this suggested hotel and the one they suggested had awful reviews. Santa Maria was ranked 11 and the one they suggested ranked 54..... Bit of a difference especially as they were going to charge us the same. I understand this was an unfortunate error and these things happen but I don't think they dealt with it properly. Our friends stayed here however and were happy, I guess we were unlucky but pretty dissapoonting when you book through a good website and they give away the room, just wanted to share that with the trip advisory community. We ended up staying at la casa de manuelita and we were very pleased with this choice, see review.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in June and for the money we were very impressed.
As previous Reviews have stated there are 5 floors but if taking slowly all is manageable. We arrived at this alttitude and after 18 hours seemed to cope well.
Hotel is ideally placed for Most locations. Plaza de Armes 5 min stroll as is Calle Lima & Lake frontage.
Staff very friendly and Breakfast one of best we have had all included in price of $23 for room.
Room slightly cool at night but blankets plenty warm enough and hot showers too.
Would recommend
We were in room 303 - rooms with 3 at end maybe slightly less noisy than ones with 1 at end as they (1s) front on to Calle Ugarte
Front door locked at all times and this added extra sense of security

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is located close to the center of Puno and many artisan markets and cafes/restaurants. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They can help you organize tours through the region and to the lake. Breakfast is included, and showers have hot water. Very good value for money!

Room Tip: It gets cold at night, so bring warm clothes. They offer lots of blankets, but people who aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad_girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in the Santa Maria Inn in April as a stopover whilst travelling from La Paz to Cusco. We arrived in the late afternoon and left early the next morning so just needed somewhere cheap and easy and this place fit the bill. Just a few minutes by taxi from the bus station, as with all buildings in the town of puno, certainly nothing to look at but:

1) The owner was welcoming, polite and friendly with limited English
2) Front doors were kept locked at all times so felt safe
3) Room and bathroom were basic but clean and we had 2 hot showers in a row
4) Breakfast was made for us at 5am to allow us to get our bus at 6 and included a delicious fresh mango juice
5) WIFI worked in our room on the 4th floor

Only negative was that the room was very cold, but thanks to a previous TA review we remembered that heaters were available to hire - at 10 soles (£2) definitely worth it

All in all a decent stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you're likely to struggle with altitude (Puno is high and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife is tired of travelling, so she stood home and I travelled alone in this trip to Peru.

Two things made me book this ho(s)tel: the low price for a solo traveller and the good references in Trip Advisor.

That said, IMHO, it was better than I expected. ALWAYS BEARING IN MIND THE CHEAP PRICE.

There was nothing really that I could complain. The only thing that occurs to me is to warn people who have difficulties to walk, that the hotel is a 5 story building and that it has NO elevator. Not only that, the breakfast is served on the 5th floor. One should also bear in mind that the climbing up and down the stairs is done at almost 4000 meters altitude (more than 13000 feet).

So if you have difficulties to move, this is not a hotel for you. Otherwise, it is an excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfcarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#48 of 64 in Puno
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#31 of 64 in Puno
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Turistico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Utasa Inn
Hostal Utasa Inn
#25 of 64 in Puno
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#36 of 64 in Puno
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Inn Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn Puno

Address: A. Ugarte 171, Puno 36 8608, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $11 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Maria Inn Puno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Inn Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing