We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is very modern it overlooks lake Titicaca on the outskirts of Puno. The bedrooms are huge with lots of storage space, a large comfortable bed, TV and fridge. The rooms have enormous windows to enjoy the view of the lake and surrounding area although we did find it a bit noisy early in the morning as our room was by the side of the busy main road. The restaurant was inviting with a good choice of food the lasagne was delicious! There was a very good choice of food for breakfast, fruit, eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals, etc. This hotel is quite isolated outside the main town so you have to have a taxi to go anywhere so we ate in the restaurant both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drapmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 503 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Jose Antonio a couple of nights as part of our Peru vacation with Gate 1 Travel. The hotel satisfied the most important requirements for us; clean, good bathroom, comfortable beds (no bugs). There was plenty of room for two people and they provided bottle water daily. The buffet breakfast was, at least, good. One downer was that there was no english language news on the TV. The best we could find was a Japanese news channel in english which also provided world news reports. Go figure.

The front desk was helpful and gladly broke down our larger sole bills for smaller change.

The view from our window was of the large bay (part of Lake Titicaca) fronting Puno with the hotel directly across the bay from Puno. That makes the trip into Puno comparatively long. You won't walk it. We understood that taxi fare was about 10 to 15 soles depending on your negotiation skills and for that price you can cram as many people in as the vehicle will hold.

However, Puno didn't seem to offer much. There was one vehicle-free street that had a number of restaurants and shops. The town didn't seem to be a "destination". So, other than one lunch in Puno, we ate in the hotel. Luckily, we found the hotel restaurant food to be above average and the wait staff was also friendly and good at their job. The restaurant also fronts the lake and has large windows to enhance the view.

The best reason to stop here for us was access to the Uro people's floating islands on Lake Titicaca. Our other local visit was to the Sillustani Tombs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANDODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is right on the lake and is very nice. There is a restaurant (which was very good!). It is outside of Puno, but maybe a 15 minute drive. The staff was very helpful and spoke good english. They always have coca tea in the lobby to help combat the altitude sickness also! It is quiet, clean, and comfortable with free wifi also.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the lake and since you are away from the city, you don't have to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

While the hotel is a bit of a trek from the center of Puno, it's beautiful views and in general relaxing mood was a welcomed delight for us after days of high altitude activities. This was the perfect place to winddown and enjoy the scenery (literally). The rooms and hotel facilities were ultra modern (though a flatscreen TV and bigger pillows would've made it even better), and the restaurant was pretty good as well (great views and a photogenic fireplace), which was good since we were super lazy and just ended up eating all our meals there (I enjoyed the lomo saltado a lot; the pastas my friends got didn't look like much though). Decent breakfast spread.

The best thing was definitely that our room opened out onto a huge communal terrace overlooking Puno and the lake, and it looked like the hotel was built so most rooms were lake-facing. Very cool. The lobby was always very quiet, and reception tries hard to be helpful though not all of their reps speak English. We are grateful for the much cheaper car they managed to arrange for us to Juliaca airport - very smooth transaction! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Quite a few rooms on the third floor open onto a large communal terrace - perfect for seeing the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeteorLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Beautiful views of the lake from the rooms, especially at sunset. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. Staff are friendly. Hotel is located very far away from town and you'll definitely need to take a taxi to and from the town if you decided not to eat at the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast has a good spread.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights and we enjoyed this large modern hotel. The rooms were large and clean. My wife needed oxygen due to the altitude, they had it available and were very helpful. They have a nice little gift shop and a restaurant. For the most part things actually worked and in Peru this may be somewhat more difficult to achieve that in the US.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWPILOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at this large modern hotel. As we were only using it as a base to visit the lake we did not mind it not having loads of character - but it had a great view over the lake and seved our purpose well. On the second night there was a Peruvian company conferance taking place which meant that we had to use a smaller restrant and bar on site. The hotel was too far out of Puno to walk but from what we saw of the town it was not worth visiting.

Room Tip: the sunsets / sunrises are spectacular. Be prepared with your camera at sunset to take some very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
3.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
4.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
6.6 mi away
Taypikala Lago
Taypikala Lago
#12 of 64 in Puno
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Puno

Address: Carretera Puno - Desaguadero Km 6.5, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Puno 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing