We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Certificate of Excellence
Riehen, Switzerland
1 review
“Jungle dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have booked the 5 day program and were really delighted. Interesting excusions, nice guide, pleasant food we loved it. even my husband who is slightly disabled was involved in all programs the staff cared always for him to make it possible and also invilved the boys in extra tours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    82
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
48
113
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I spent 3 days/2 nights here. The staff was amazing. I forgot to tell them my husband couldn't have milk and it turned out dinner that night had milk in the soup. I told her no problem, he just would skip it, but they still whipped up another soup without it and it was waiting when we arrived at dinner about 10 mins later. My husband also got sick our first night there with a fever and one of the waiters at dinner ran around and found some medicine for him, which did the trick.

We had Lucy as our guide. She spoke good English and knew a lot of about the plant life and animals that we encountered. Our excursions were all fun (we did a nature walk in the jungle, a night boat trip to find Caiman, the morning trip to the clay lick to see parrots and a full day to go to monkey island as well as to tambopata rerserve and lake sandoval). We saw a lot of animals, and the staff try really hard to find and point things out. But these are wild animals and hard to predict so this is not always guaranteed. We saw parrots, 4 different kinds of monkeys, lots of caiman, a tarantula, river otters, some bats (they were sleeping on a tree -- don't worry, they were not flying around), a tree frog and even a giant rodent (i forget the name). Since my husband was sick, he missed the caiman excursion and Lucy offered to let us go again the following evening since he hadn't been able to go the prior night. He decided to just stay at the lodge, but it was nice of her to offer.

The place has a pool, but it was a little dirty (cloudy water with a slight greenish tinge). It didn't stop me from going in our first day though as it was really hot. Just a tip, bring a towel as they did not provide them. They had a bar by the pool, but it was closed while i was swimming (around 1 or 2pm in the afternoon). I think they opened it up a bit later in the afternoon as i did see it open the following day. I'm not sure if they provide towels while that bar is open or not as i didn't go back over there.

The rooms were generally clean and the mosquito nets were nice to have. the rooms were large although i agree with one of the previous posts about some of the rooms being close to the main lodge area. We had a room #1 by the river and butted up against the forest. Electricity is only available at certain times of the day. I believe they adjust the specific times they offer it depending on how much fuel they have left to power their generator. A prior poster mentioned it started at 5:30, but it wasn't available until 7:30 am when we were there. They turned if off for a few hours in the afternoon and turned it back on around 5/5:30. It wasn't a big deal except for the first day we arrived when we had some free time in the afternoon. I had to take out my flashlight to take a shower. Speaking of, we did have some issues with our water. First our water stopped working and then when that was fixed, we had no hot water. But each time, they fixed it promptly after we said something. The manager was there and he's the one who ended up fixing the problem. the place is in the jungle remember so some of this stuff if to be expected. After they fixed, the water pressure was not great, but it was warm and did the trick. There are no fans in the rooms and the first day it was miserably hot and humid during the day. But surprisingly it was really comfortable sleeping. I slept better here than i did on my whole trip.

In terms of the clothes, i would recommend that if you will be out around dusk or after dark, then you should wear long sleeves and pants. If it's a day trip, then i agree you can get away with shorts or capris and a t-shirt. The mosquitos are much worse when the sun is going down, especially in the jungle. We went for a walk and even though i had proper deet protection, it was still gross the amount of mosquitos. Even our guide commented on how bad they were that day. On the boat later that evening, and the following day, it wasn't bad at all.

The food was all very good. Even things i don't normally like, tasted pretty good. I'm a fairly picky eater so this is a lot coming from me. The place also have a few pet macaws that were pretty interesting. One morning we woke up to one of them talking for like 45 mins straight. Hola, Viva peru, and this laughing that sounded just like a person! I couldn't make out the other words, but it was too funny. A little annoying that it woke me up, but very cute. One of them will fly to people's cabins and almost harass them. If you're scared of birds, just keep this in mind. In general, he's pretty harmless and didn't hurt anyone, but he did try to stop one girl from walking off her porch. The others never really left the one little area where they keep their rubber boots (which we didn't need, but in the rainy season, you will definitely need them).

Overall, i really loved this place and would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a pretty nice place. You'll take a 45min boat ride to get here and the lodge is pretty nice. The good: the food isn't bad, the rooms are big, they have mosquito nets, the electricity runs in morning, lunch and night. The bad: the excursions last all day and will kill you. There is no down time or pool time. We basically had all day exclusions and got back an hour before dinner which we spent in the bar. The trek to lake Sandoval was treacherous because it had rained. There's not much the lodge can do but just be forewarned. The canopy walk is cool but is totally rickety and you are basically taking your life in your own hands. They have a farm excursion which sounds boring. We were the only people in our group who had a canopy walk exclusion booked. Everyone else was supposed to go to the farm but they all pitched a fit and ended up doing the canopy walk but they were charged extra. Something to keep in mind.

Do not sleep in cabin 14 - it is next to their compost heap which we didn't discover until the first night when it sounded like jungle book in our cabin. While it is neatly hidden from humans, there is a bit of a smell and the animals know exactly where it is and go nuts all night.

Make sure to bring a flashlight and poncho. Also forget all the recommendations about wearing long sleeves and pants. When we were there it was 90 and 100% humidity (June). No one in their right mind is going to wear pants/long sleeves. We all wore shorts. You'll be fine, just remember sun block and insect repellant.

Room Tip: Do not take cabin 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trav123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent 4nights/5days in this wonderful place. It was absolutely unforgettable.

Where do you begin really..

The staff themselves were really friendly, always offering you a helping hand. Our guide in particular, Saay, was incredibly knowledgeable on everything to do with the forest, which made every guide particularly interesting, and every one very unique. Every question you would ask, he would have a detailed answer for. Each excursion gave you a chance to witness something different, and you never felt bored, or as if you were doing the same thing.

The huts were very comfortable. Hot water 24 hours a day. Although the electricity was limited, it didnt matter because the times it was off, you were either in bed or out on the excursions. The location of the whole lodge was beautiful. On the banks of the Madre De Dios river, one of the main tributerys to the Amazon river. Also, considering you were in the heart of the Amazon basin, you never felt isolated, in fact, the lodges were a lot nicer than a lot of other places you are likely to visit. It also has a well maintained, clean swimming pool

The food was very well prepared and presented. Every meal, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner there was something different as to keep you on your toes.

I haven't been to any other lodges on the Madre De Dios so it would be hard for me to compare, but on this experience alone I would not look any further that Corto Maltes. A fantastic experience and one I will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Yoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The bungalows are large and spacious. Electricity starts at 5.30am and ends at 10.30. Guided tours are interesting especially the one around the lake.
We unfortunately did not see the parrots ( misty morning).
The food under the French chef was particularly good, especially after having only perurvian food for a few days prior to the trip to the lodge.

Room Tip: Choose bungalows far from that if u want a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Budapest4Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Spending 4/3 days at one of the nicest lodges in Puerto Maldonado, you can't ask for more. The experience is amazing.
All the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: All of them are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacred-Valley-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

First the good parts: Nice riverside location on major Amazon tributary 10km from Puerto Maldonaldo (for airport-efficient transfer by boat provided by hotel) on edge of jungle; some jungle walks from the Lodge and wildlife within perimeter. Interesting packages of activities offered (see website). Knowledgeable and competent wildlife guides (thanks Lucy) who also do their best to provide a contact point for all other guest requirements. Other staff also very pleasant and know their jobs. Food is good standard, served efficiently at set times, tho limited/no selection, which is understandable given location.

Now the less good bits: Some rooms much too near the main block (rooms 2 and 12 especially). So loud pop music first thing from the kitchens (sometimes well before 6 am) and chatter from early walkers assembling . Bar noise in the early evening intrusive but bearable.

Standard of rooms fair although dim poorly-placed room lighting (generator only, power morning and evenings) was a hassle. Maintenance of accommodation is a bigger issue. Should have been hot water for shower but 3 of 4 of my showers were stone cold; complained, fault corrected but failed again immediately due to low water pressure (so adjust or replace pump!). Room not too clean - light switches grime encrusted, blankets (unusually cold at night) left on open shelf and so full of dust. Asked extra for a second blanket, which was provided. Room safe not functioning (batteries dead) until I complained.

Swimming pool: nicely laid out but water not very clean.

No evidence of management on site, presumably in Puerto Maldonaldo.

Room Tip: Take a torch! Avoid rooms 2 and 12; best get a room on edge of plot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanEUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
6.2 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.6 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
28.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.3 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#12 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
19.2 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto Maltes Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto Maltes Amazonia

Property: Corto Maltes Amazonia
Address: Madre de Dios, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corto Maltes Amazonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Corto Maltes Amazonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Maltes Amazonia Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing