We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anaconda Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Hospedaje Chonta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Fernando Plaza Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ecoamazonia Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    Reviews (196)
    Filter reviews
    196 results
    Traveler rating
    126
    41
    6
    10
    13
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    126
    41
    6
    10
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthai foodclose to the airportshared bathroombaby monkeyhome from homelarge propertythai cookhot dayspisco soursreal junglenight monkeywild monkeystambopata reservelago sandovalan unforgettable experiencejungle experiencethe river
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    96 - 101 of 196 reviews
    Reviewed May 27, 2012

    My partner and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Anaconda Lodge in May 2012: Though the place is very accessible from the airport you feel like you are miles away from anything. The lodge we were given was enormous, you could have fit a family of 7 easily. We booked a 2 day package that included EVERYTHING including beverages (beer too, which is highly unusual). It also included a fantastic excursion along the river to Lake Sandoval with a well versed, English speaking native guide who helped us find the giant otters, cayman and many birds.
    The food at the lodge was great very fresh Thai food (which I love) and enormous, fresh pancakes for b-fest. But of course as other posters have said, it's ALL ABOUT the monkeys! They are amazing, how many times in your life can you nap on a hammock with a little monkey in your lap?? I could have spent a month at the Anaconda just to have more time with the monkeys. We also enjoyed sitting around the main lodge at night telling stories with fellow travelers and the owner, Donald who is something of a Peru expert and published author.
    IF you want the following: TV, WiFi, fancy linens, or things like that then this isn't the hotel for you, but if you want to REALLY feel like you are in the jungle this is the place. Also, the price was quite good compared to other properties and you dont' have to deal with 300 other tourists, we had a great time with our fellow guests but there were only so many. Anaconda Lodge provides a wild, intimate and rustic jungle experience.

    Room Tip: Be sure to bring a flashlight! It gets dark in the jungle at night!
    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Redmango43
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 18, 2012

    Our group of 4 stayed in one large bungalow (#4). We had stayed 2 nights in the jungle at Cayman Lodge Amazonia and came here to Anaconda Lodge for our final night before flying home. We had debated over whether to stay one more night in the jungle or not, but we are very happy with our decision to come stay here. We had spent our entire trip doing early mornings, treks, climbs, etc. It was so nice to just relax for a couple hours around a nice pool, watch the entertaining monkeys, and enjoy delicious thai food.

    Pros:
    -Great service and very nice owners (We loved WaDee! So sweet!)
    -Great thai food for lunch and dinner at a reasonable price
    -Made us breakfast anytime we came in, so we didn't have to be early risers :)
    -Resident monkeys! (watch out though - they'll snatch your stuff on the poolside if you're not careful!)
    -Good bar prices as well (i think a large beer was only 7 soles if i remember right)

    Cons:
    Noisy at night - lots of street noise, loud roosters that crowed all night, and dogs barking
    Hard beds - I think it's a jungle thing because this wasn't the only hard bed we experienced.
    Not a huge bar selection for various drinks, although Wa Dee does make an excellent Pisco Sour!

    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Amandabc123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 2, 2012

    Puerto Maldonado is a stopover point for jungle trips so there are not many places to stay. The lodges in the jungle are great but there are not many choices in the city. The city is a typical 3rd world city. With that being said the Anaconda is a welcome oasis. Comfortable, great Thai food, swimming pool, nice guest huts, tame monkeys, and great hosts. What more do you need!?

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jay R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 1, 2012

    Thai food was outstanding. The place they've created over the past few decades is a winning combination. My youngest son will never forget Capi, the spider monkey, who befriended him, slept on his lap by the pool and followed him home at night. The cabins are bare bones but did the job. Tarantulas were thrilling. Grounds are beautiful.

    • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kristen S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 23, 2012

    My friends and I live in Cusco and we went to Puerto Maldonado for an extended weekend getaway in April 2010. Upon the recommendation of friends, we stayed at Anaconda Lodge. Simply put - small complaints aside - we loved it.

    This is a good lodge for animal lovers. The two adult monkeys are lovable pests. Be sure to keep your valuables and drink cups out of their reach. The owners also had 2 baby monkeys and we got to cuddle with and feed them. The little hairless Peruvian puppy dog was also fun to play with.

    Perhaps not the best Thai food ever, but having lived in Cusco for several months, deprived of even bad Thai food, these dishes really hit the spot. We ordered the pad thai for the 3 nights we were there and the chicken curry dish was really good as well.

    Expect cold showers and no lighting at night. Other than that, the swimming pool was awesome, our bungalows were rustic but well-kept and cleaned every day, the staff & owners were totally hospitable, and the pancake, egg, fresh fruit breakfast every morning was superb.

    Oh - the tarantula. One of these buggers crept into to my friend's room in the evening. The owner happily rooted it out with a broom. Just a taste of jungle living, I guess.

    The lodge is located in between the bus terminal and the airport. A good alternative if you don't have time to travel to a jungle lodge down river. Not walking distance from the center and the Puerto Maldonado nightlife, but you can get there in 10-15 minutes by moto-taxi.

    • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank andariega_6
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews