We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the jungle”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for three wonderful nights at the lodge. The rooms (all with ensuite facilities) are gorgeous....completely open to the jungle on one side so that you are lulled to sleep at night with the sounds of the rainforest but comfortable clean and spacious. The main lodge is luxurious and serves great cocktails. Food was delicious and plentiful. Our guide, Jackson was brilliant, knowledgeable and passionate about the surroundings and wildlife. All the activities were fun and interesting and we saw plenty of amazing mammals birds and insects. Loved every magical moment!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the terrace which was more secluded as. No one passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinfinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for visiting Refugio Amazonas and also for writing a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you had such a great time! The sounds of the jungle are really relaxing, making a special experience to sleep. Hope that you also tried our Tambopata Paradise cocktail :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 857 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The reviews already written give a good summary of our experience except for one thing: it can get cold in the Amazonian rainforest. We had temperatures in the low teens Celcius when we arrived and were a little under-prepared with warm clothing. It will probably be hot and humid when you visit but take some warm clothes (including for sleeping - no walls means no insulation) just in case. The Refugio is an impressively well-oiled operation that offers exceptional services and facilities despite the remote location. Highly recommend the massage and special thanks to our guide Cesar, whose knowledge, skill and friendliness gave us far more than we expected and almost turned us into bird-watchers.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Transported
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent 4 days 3 nights at Refugio Amazonas and had an amazing time! Our guide, César, was so knowledgeable, passionate, friendly, and funny. He spoke perfect English and spent each meal time discussing the rainforest, the wildlife, and their efforts toward conservation with us. His specialty was bird watching so we saw over 20 species of tropical birds, many of them up close with his high powered telescope. We also saw caiman, monkeys, capibaras, and tons of gorgeous macaws. The lodge is gorgeous and the food was great. Highly recommended! Request César!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lexie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

To find this place in the middle of the jungle was awe inspiring! The lodge is gorgeous, the food is buffet style but upper class and delicious!!!! Some of best food I had in peru. There's a bar, a spa, a massage service, kids area, optional activities, rainboots free to use for muddy trekking...
Oh and almost forgot, there's a fruit bowl, coffee, tea & hot chocolate available to you ALL day!!! As well as free clean water.
The staff were so friendly, one was especially eager to help me whenever he could. He even pointed out some monkeys in nearby tree for me.
The rooms are ginormous!!! The showers were the best I had in Peru. The beds are comfy and with mosquito nets that easily protect you. The sounds of the rainforest are actually oddly comforting and an experience themselves. The candlelight is quite romantic, after hostels and backpacking (this was indeed our splurge of our trip), it was nice having this kind of ambiance.
The guides are so knowledgable and passionate about their work. I have NOTHING bad or remotely negative to say about this place. I miss it already!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swiebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Spent 4 days/3 nights at Refugio Amazonas in early June. it was a blast. The lodge and rooms were beautiful. My guide Inez was wonderful and along with my two mates she showed us a great time tromping through the mud and jungle looking for wildlife. There were so many beautiful things to see and enjoy in the jungle. The ride on Oxbow Lake near dusk and climbing the Canopy Tower were amazing. Be prepared to get dirty and to sweat. Bring mosquito repellant and use it. Enjoy the adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The lodge is a beautiful facility with open air rooms meaning one side is open to the jungle no screen or window, no real ceiling there is a thatched roof over the whole living quarters approximately 10 rooms. Bamboo walls you hear everything animals in the walls and outdoors, people next door etc. I knew this before I went so nothing new to complain about, but it would have been nice to have a ceiling fan on the hot nights. I would rate the hotel 3 out of 5.
Meals were served buffet style bland and overcooked (not common for Peru).
Unfortunately, the quality of your stay is determined by the quality of the excursions/guide that you are teamed with. It appears that the lodge has a few places to see during each of the excursions and the guide must get you there and back in a certain amount of time. This does not allow enough time to learn about the life of the rainforest. I went on a similar tour a few years back to Costa Rica and leaned a lot about the forest floor and the animals. I cannot compare that trip to this tour as there was limited animal life and the guide did not take the time to explain the life on the floor. All of the groups go to the same location so if you are not the first group you will miss the animals do to the noise of the groups. It would have been nice if they would have staggered the groups at each location.
Based on the quality of ours, I cannot recommend Refugio Amazonas. We appear to have been in the unlucky minority and are sure that with a different guide, we would have had an entirely different experience.
Bottom line: Save your money, find something else to do in Peru go to the jungle somewhere else.
My main complaint is that there were very, very few animals or birds to see around this lodge and on the excursions. I realize that there are no guarantees regarding animal sightings, but we really didn't see much of anything and we were there for four days and three nights and went on nearly all of the excursions. Each excursion involves a long hike through deep mud and a lot of waiting. Unfortunately that was basically the theme or our stay: lots of effort and zero reward.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest, We are really sad that you did not experience what you expected. We always publish the up-to-date wildlife sightings on our homepage based on the actual sighting feedbacks of our guides. But unfortunately, as you just mentioned as well, there are no guarantees that everyone will see the same amount of wildlife every time. We already have a system where guides write up their activities and locations for the upcoming days so they can avoid disturbing each-others groups in the same places. We will put more emphasis on this system, as also recommended by your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The lodge exceeded our expectations! It had most of the modern conveniences and we didn't feel like we were having to "rough it" too much. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the meals were some of the best that we had during our entire trip. We enjoyed all of the activities and were lucky enough to see a good amount of wildlife. Our guide, Julio, was the best! I highly recommend this lodge to anyone considering a visit to the Amazon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
24.8 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
369 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
893 reviews
22.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
551 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $561 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing