We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling, beautiful lodge in the Amazon”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had two very different experiences here (stayed one night on the way to and one night on the way from Tambopata Research Center). On the way up we were awe-struck. Its a massive lodge, immaculate, with all the comforts you'd expect of a lodge with easy access. They make it look easy in the middle of the jungle. We had a relaxing evening, very low-key and enjoyable. They prepared a delicious Christmas feast and the next morning we did some hiking before continuing to TRC. Coming back I think we were spoiled by the smaller quieter lodge and on our way back it seemed like Refugio was over run by whiny families with feral children. This wasn't an issue, just something I noticed. The day on the way back showed me that this place is probably better for people wanting a "light" adventure experience with small children. We were happy to have spent our time in TRC, less amenities but being isolated in nature was our goal. We had one inconvenience that we barely noticed but the lodge manager pounced to fix it and gave us some free cold drinks to apologize. They really do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable and I've only been impressed with Rainforest Expeditions and the people they have working for them.

Room Tip: Didn't know there was a "superior" room option. If you want a few more comforts (bigge...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank slc-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Refugio Amazonas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 838 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Refugio Amazonas is a clean, comfortable, well-maintained 'Refuge' as the name says. The meals are relatively good and the central meeting area/restaurant is great. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a twin room with en-suite - beautiful comfy beds with mosquito nets and a hammock where we enjoyed some down time. Appreciated the wellington boots which they provide so you can walk in the jungle even after heavy rain but make sure you check them over for holes before you select a pair ! Apart from the lengthy boat ride (which is un-avoidable) this is a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiewendylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a 3 day, 2 night trip here, and overall we had a good time. The lodging was nice and kept really well, and the food ranged from decent to pretty good. Our guide, Julian, was a little quiet at first, but once we got going he was very nice, funny, and had tons of info (I don't think we had a question he couldn't answer).

The reason they lose points is that our 3 days was really more like 1.5. The boat ride to the lodge eats up a lot of time, and we understood that coming in. But they need to have the boats back by midday, so even though our flight wasn't until 4pm, we were forced to leave the lodge at 8am on day three; literally just wake up, eat a quick bite, and out the door with you. We weren't offered a place to stay at their office, instead being rushed to the airport at 11am. So we had to sit in a sweltering hot airport for 5 hours. That's day 3 of the Refugio experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Christina527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Guest Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank yo for reviewing Refugio Amazonas. We are sorry for your last day experience. The issue here has two sides: (1) due to the increased tourism in the region now there are several flights available in very different hours of departure (and arrival); (2) we are operating our lodge in the Tambopata National Reserve and by regulation of the protected areas we have only limited boat transport to minimize the effects to the environment. This means that coordinating the boat movements is not easy and our primary perspective is that all our guest need to arrive in time to catch their flights. By analyzing your case we found that we did not have another boat leaving later that day and this was the reason why you had to leave with other guests earlier. For these situations we are planning to provide activities in Puerto Maldonado like visiting the town, the market place, the Madre de Dios River, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are just returned from a week in the Peruvian Amazon, through Adventure Life and Rainforest Expeditions. The latter is a master of logistics, and the trip was one of our most memorable. You meet your guide for the week as you leave for the 2 1/2 hour boat trip to Refugio--we had Saay, who was superb--excellent English, calm and supportive, wonderful knowledge of the Amazon flora and fauna!
We were only at Refugio Amazonas for less than 24 hours...the rest of the trip was at the Tambopata Research Center (which see). Refugio is the "luxury" stop, which means marginally nicer amenities, including private shower and toilets. It's also a bit harder to get into and out of...the steps up from the river are treacherous. But apart from the heat, nothing was terribly demanding. And they crammed a lot into our few hours...after orientation and dinner (the same menu and bar at both places--and both pretty amazing), we saw a lecture on caimans, then went back to the river (now with knee-high Wellington rubber boots, to negotiate the mud) for a night caiman search (he was adorable).
The next day, up @ 4 for a dawn walk to the canopy tower--about 133 feet up, with a spectacular view of the forest canopy at dawn. Despite my crushing acrophobia, it was worth it! Then after breakfast, Saay took us to see a Harpy Eagle nest, complete with mama in the nest glaring at the rest of the world...perhaps the rarest thing we saw in the whole trip.
Then back to the river for another 5 hour boat trip to Tambopata Research Center.
1 day in Refugio, 3 full days at TRC is about right. If you have more time, take it, but we were happy with everything and everyone at Refugio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Everything was very organized, and not too strenuous, so I would find it suitable for families or "less active" people.
The food was great, very Peruvian, except for lasagna night, but otherwise it was
It was raining on the day we were scheduled for the canopy tree-top excursion but our guide, Rodulfo, decided to take us hiking during the rain (for those who were up for it), and wait the rain out rather than cancelling the canopy tour. We ended up doing it in the afternoon, so that was great. He was very energetic and knowledgeable.
I highly recommend it, and like the others, it exceeded my expectations as well.

The only thing I wish I changed was to spend a bit more time in the town of Puerto Maldonado where there is a restaurant where you can eat exotic dishes from the Jungle. We flew in and out, so we didn't have time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TorontoTravelBugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked our trip through Rainforest Expeditions from the comfort of my armchair in the UK and have to admit to having a few worries on the lead up to the trip - I needn't have worried! We had a first class service from being meeted & greeted at Puerto Maldonado Airport to our arrival at the Posada Amazons Lodge - which by the way, was immaculate & staffed by the most helpful staff you could wish for!
The accommodation was out of this world & the lack of electricity added to the whole experience - you only have electricity twice a day which surprisingly enough is sufficient! At first the though of being totally open to the jungle (no windows) is a bit daunting but it only added to the overall experience & I found the sounds of the jungle were amazing sounds to fall asleep to - I slept like a baby!
The food is wonderful, served buffet style with several choices - I love the Pecan Chicken & have taken the recipe to make at home!
Our guide, Rodolfo, was excellent & extremely knowledgeable & our days were filled with wonderful trips into the jungle & the itinerary maximises the whole Amazon experience in just a few days!
We did the 4d/3n Soft Adventure programme (which I would highly recommend) & had the opportunity to do day & night walks; night boat trip to see Cayman; canopy tower to see the tree tops; kayaking & swimming in the Tambopata; a canoe trip; canopy climbing up a Brazil nut tree; a farm visit when you got to sample the produce & as many lectures as you wished to attend - I didn't attend any as I felt the treks/excursions filled the day enough!
All in all, I would highly recommend this trip - the whole experience was amazing & I can't think of a better way to relax to finish off our trek to Machu Picchu along the Inca Trail!
I fell in love with Peru; it's breathtaking scenery & it's wonderful people - I hope I have the opportunity to return one day! :o)

Room Tip: We upgraded so had electricity in our room (still only twice a day) but I thought it was worth it...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This lodge was more expected. Construction very beautiful, rooms perfecto. Everything was good, no complaints. good organising and sufficiente electricity for comfort but not spoil jungle with many modern. Lamps were better. Local drink pisco sour was delicious.

Room Tip: End room with one neighbour is better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
875 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
530 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
353 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
173 reviews
32.3 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $551 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing