We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sotupa Eco House(Puerto Maldonado)
$120
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chimicuas House(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Amazon Yoga Centre(Puerto Maldonado)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Ecoaldea Kapievi(Puerto Maldonado)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ecoamaziona Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$520
$401
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
694
171
35
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
171
35
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest expeditionsopen wallthe rivertree climbingharpy eagletambopata research centrehour boat rideclay lickfarm visitopen airbeautiful lodgemosquito nethot waterserved buffet stylea great experiencefood was greatfew hours
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 920 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our stay in the Amazon was at the beginning of our trip to Peru. Frankly this one one of the most eye opening experiences of our lives. The accommodation were basic and charming at the same time. The open air feeling was remarkable. Food was with a local flavouring and emphasis on traditional, we found however the food was never really hot, which seemed to be a commonality in all of Peru.
In discussion with others who have visited the amazon in Ecuador and Brazil this is better preserved and the opportunities afforded much greater.
Our guide, Yuri was truly exceptional and knowledgable and provided our small group a life remembering experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our stay in the amazon was at the end of a 3 week trip through Peru and it was a fantastic end of a wonderful time in this lovely country. The rooms were clean and surprising - with no outside windows/walls and no real doors, you really felt like literally being right in the middle of the jungle! Sleeping to the sounds of the birds etc was a wonderful experience I wouldn't like to miss. The food was great and we really weren't left hungry! The staff were lovely and courteous and I liked the fact that the lodge was eco-friendly and really lived that fact, no pretension. The boat trip to the lodge was an experience in itself with lots of flora and fauna to be seen. Our night trek was my personal highlight here! Definitely would recommend this lodge to anyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rosls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff could not do enough to help! The food was very good and "special diets" accommodated for exceptionally well. Although the rooms are basic, they are clean and comfortable, what more could you expect in the middle of the jungle ! An experience never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nonnaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here during a four-day trip to the Amazon Jungle. Having arrived in Lima and stayed also in Cusco, this was a REAL surprise. A three hour journey in a small wooden boat with outboard motor up river was a genuine surprise to those used to creature comforts, and we honestly expected something pretty basic. Not at all. Refugio Amazonas is a beautiful wooden hotel in the middle of the Jungle and, far from roughing it you are treated REALLY well.
The place itself is a really beautiful wooden and Bamboo structure and the impression on arrival is....Wow!
The hospitality, food and drink is really great, considering that this place is miles from anywhere in the Jungle.

You are really unlikely to have experienced anything like this before.....Enjoy!

Room Tip: Not Applicable. All rooms face the jungle!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mikehutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent lodge with great food, and fantastic guides--you will be glad you stayed here! This is so much more than I expected in the middle of the Amazon Rainforest! Very organized and well managed. Would recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank singerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews