We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refuge in the Amazon!”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Refugio was truly a refuge in the Amazon. Everything was amazing--our guide, Carlo Schenone was a gem; the staff was incredible, warm and helpful; food was terrific; rooms very comfortable and peaceful; and the wildlife all around was overwhelmingly, astoundingly beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I travelled with my husband and my two teenagers aged 15 and 16. We all loved every minute of the time we spent at Refugio Amazonas. We were joined at the boat by a trainee guide named Jorge. He was with us the most of the trip along with our fantastic guide Cesar. They were both amazing the whole time we stayed there, which was 4 nights. Having no clue of what to expect we were excited to experience what ever came our way. The rooms were fantastic, having one wall missing so we could see straight into the rainforest was amazing to wake up to every morning. The hikes we long and hard, but worth every minute to experience the wildlife we did. Having lunch and dinner every day with the Guide and listening to other peoples travel experiences over a few drinks was great to in the open air dinning and lounge areas. Thanks again to Cesar and Jorge for making our stay so AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here for three nights to experience the Amazon rainforest not knowing exactly what to expect, yet it seemed a perfect way to enjoy the environment. A three hour trip from the Puerto Maldonado airport mostly by long boat, you know you're being transported far away. The experience felt like roughing it just a little bit but not too much. The open air lodge features a comfortable lounge area and dining room with surprisingly nice food, 3 hot meals daily. The rooms are unique, with a missing wall facing the forest, a modern toilet, with a shower that yields just enough hot water, and comfortable beds with mosquito nets. Waking up to the sounds of the rainforest and seeing the flora emerge with the return of daylight was an unforgettable experience. The walls separating the rooms only extend to about 8 feet whereas the roof is much higher, so you can hear even regular conversations from the adjoining rooms, and even occasional snoring. More importantly, however, the staff and our guide were uniformly warm, accommodating and informative. The program of hikes, nature watching and travel on the river was beautifully orchestrated and incredibly exciting. We saw a herd of wild pigs, countless, insects and birds, and the most breathtaking congregation of about 75 scarlet macaws at the clay-lick I could possible imagine. Now I'm trying to sort through the hundreds of photos - a photographer's and birdwatcher's paradise. One issue worth considering is that you have to been in pretty decent shape to enjoy the many hikes and stairs, so this wouldn't be ideal for someone dangerously out of shape or uninterested in walking. Overall this was one of the greatest experiences of my very rich traveling history!

Room Tip: Thankfully my neighbors were quiet but it could have been problematic with small children in an adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hepadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I are experienced Eco lodgers and this is one of the best we have been to. Just remember that this kind of experience is rustic and not for everyone. Do not expect five star comfort. It is five star jungle comfort!

Guides are experienced and professional. Site is very visually appealling well designed, and offers a lot for this kind of place including a few hours of wifi per day, hot water, and a great network of gas lamps and candles for light. They also had the best mosquito net beds I have ever had. Food was good and bar was great (fully stocked, music, reasonable prices). We also had a good reservation experience when our flight was cancelled and the hotel was able to shift our entire reservation by a day without any extra charge. I thought we were screwed and I really appreciated that they made something work for us.

My only critique is that it was not clear exactly how things work once you arrive in Puerto Maldinado. There is a lot of coordination with other groups on other flights involved and you could get stuck waiting around a bit if early or missing out if late. Just be sure it is clear what is the best time to arrive so you can book the right flight. Also, ask a lot of questions about what your specific activities and schedule will be. I would also ask who your guide will be and check whether they are an actual professional botanist / zoologist or just an experienced local. Our guide was the later and it showed sometimes. I would recommend Horje, he seemed more knowledgable. We had Juan Carlos and he was really nice but hard to nderstand sometimes and did not seem educated About the jungle habitats (albeit he was knowledgable). The clay licks are by far the best wildlife activities but make sure yu are taken at dawn for the birds. By 7am the show is often over.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Refugio Amazonas has a great thing going. Very peaceful and as adventurous as you want to make it. I wish we had one more night there (I think 3 should be the minimum). Perfect to go by yourself for some zen time, with a group or as a couple. The lodge itself has everything you need and encourages a social atmosphere with its open "hang out" spaces. The lack of electricity is actually great - forces people to play games or read a book. Food was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The best end to a fantastic intrepid trip in Peru...!! Wish we had of spent more time there... Staff were amazing..!! Would love to go back and stay for longer...! Food was great and the whole experience was fantastic....!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a fabulous adventure at Refugio Amazonas. We spent 3 nights which was the perfect amount of time. Our guide Rueben was great, he took very good care of us and was quick to share all of his rainforest knowledge. The lodge itself is very well appointed considering you are really in the middle of nowhere. Our room was very nice and even though it was open to the jungle it felt very safe. We did most of the activities and were totally exhausted at the end of the day. I hope we can go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
24.8 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
369 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
893 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
178 reviews
22.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $561 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing