We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sotupa Eco House(Puerto Maldonado)
$120
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chimicuas House(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecoaldea Kapievi(Puerto Maldonado)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Amazon Yoga Centre(Puerto Maldonado)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ecoamaziona Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$520
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
694
171
36
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
171
36
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest expeditionsopen wallthe rivertree climbingharpy eagletambopata research centrehour boat rideclay lickfarm visitopen airbeautiful lodgemosquito nethot waterserved buffet stylea great experiencefood was greatfew hours
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 921 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

An hour's journey from the airport Puerto Maldonado lands us by the Tambopata River for a three hour boat journey up the waters. Evening descends as we skim over the waters, but it's great as our guide spots some caymen with his torch, and we head towards the bank to watch capybara on their nightly foraging. A ten minute walk (from the landing) through the forest takes us to the lodge, a wonderful wooden structure. Refugio Amazonas is in the midst of the thick jungle, the entire building on stilts. The rooms are large and airy, there are no doors , just drapes to separate. One side of the room is open to the forest.
We explored the jungle at night and hiked to a nearby lake, climbed atop the watchtower to glimpse the treetops.
Here one can slouch on a hammock in the lounge watching the forest , or join in a host of activities.Food is a mix of local fare and international cuisine. And at the bar you can get the best pisco sour!
Whether a nature lover or an advocate of sustainable eco-lodges, or just looking for an adventurous holiday with the family, this is the place. And the guides are just so enthusiatic and wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This eco-lodge was the first night of my five night stay in the amazon. It was absolutely amazing! I wish I had stayed there longer. It is very modern and looks nice. The rooms, dining area etc are clean. The mosquito nets work great. I suggest if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. whether you have a noisy neighbour or the sounds of the jungles may keep you awake. The food was absolutely amazing. There is no electricity, just candles & kerosene lamps. Just follow the rules of staying at the lodges and you will do love it! Make sure you can get out to the canopy tower (25m) for the sunrise. I can guarantee it is worth it. Amazing view when the sun comes up. And the birds you can see are awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wow! This is 5 star living in the wild. Our room was massive with two double beds and one single, all covered in mosquito nets as the 4th wall of the room is missing - just wide open to the jungle. The building is built on stilts so you don't get snakes etc in your room but you do get small mammals (oppossums) and wee beasties. En-suite shower room with toilet and wash basin. No electricity just candles and kerosene lamps in the rooms but mains power (solar) in the bar, restaurant, sauna, massage rooms and lecture areas for a few hours each evening and morning. Full board is provided with oftern early starts (4am) to go on animal trecks followed by lunch (about 1pm) and dinner at 7pm. In between time there was ample opportunity provided by personal guides to see sights, hear the sounds and take in the smells of the jungle. The guides are extremely informative, can often see or hear things we couldn't then pointed them out - e.g tarantula at the base of a tree and howler monkeys in the tree tops having thier morning siesta. Highlight of the trip was seeing a pregnant female jaguar swimming the river and then ambling along the river bank. The scene was silent except for the noise of all the camera shutters clicking away. The food was excellent, the staff extremely attentive and friendly and multilingual with abilities to cover English, Spanish, Dutch, German, French. We opted for a further trip up-river to Tambopata Research Centre where the accommodation was a little more basic (same huge rooms but shared toilet and shower blocks) but with the same comforts and quality of food, staff, guides and opportunities to experience the wild. To get to these sights is a 3 hour boat ride from Puerto Maldonado to Refugio Amazonas then a further 5 hours upriver to teh research centre. Coming back was much quicker due to the high flow rate of the river which on our last night rose 3 metres! due to the very heavy tropical storms we had over 2 nights. This made the river much faster but also more exciting as our boat captain had to keep avoiding all the floating trees. I can't recommend enough the two sites as a truly remarkable experience for a city boy and girl. If you are going to Peru make sure you include this in your itinerary - we had our whole trip in Peru organised by Kantu Tours in Lima (Talk to Carmen Bianchi) and they were truly excellent in making sure everything was catered for (even an unscheduled extra day on Suasi Island on Lake Titicaca to allow my wife to overcome her altitude sickness). True Jungle Magic.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same features and space though some, like ours, are meant for families rather than just couples.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doux79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We loved loved loved the rainforest expeditions organized trip to Tambopata Reserve. Rainforest Expeditions have 3 refugios in the amazon: Posada Amazonas, Refugio Amazonas and Tambopata Research Centre. They are listed in increasing distance from Puerto Maldonado. The more interior you go in the rainforest, the better experience you'll have. We stayed at RA because TRC would have required an extra two days and we were running short on time. But we were not disappointed.

The refugio itself is so beautiful and pristine that I can't recommend you enough to go there. All rooms are built with only 3 walls so that you can have the open air experience of the jungle. This was extremely thrilling as during day time we saw plenty of wildlife from our hammock in the room and at night it felt like we were sleeping outdoors under the stars and so close to the nature.

Next, our guide Aldo gets a mention. He is by far one of the best guides we had. I would even go as far and say that he is better than the wildlife safari in Tanzania guide we had last year. He was extremely knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, kind and a great person to hang out with. We did so many activities together. Some bits of the jungle we went to were so thick that Aldo had to use his machete to make a path for us. But he was always careful and watching out for the group.

I cannot recommend rainforest expeditions enough. Right from trip planning stage to the moment we left, we were treated extremely well. This is also an eco concious expedition that works with local communities. Make sure you go to the evening lectures and learn more about the amazing amazon.

Just go now!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SM_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

After reading the other reviews, I knew what to expect from this place, but my kids were mystified by the whole experience. They loved the hammocks on the second floor of the lodge and in the rooms. They loved the openness. They were not big fans of the cold showers- but they are only 6, 8, & 10. They felt safe anywhere in the lodge, and we felt everything was as clean as could be in an open air environment. On one of the hikes to the lake we saw a tapir swimming in the water. We saw a good deal of wildlife overall, and my kids learned a ton about the rain forest. I would stay here again- although tips to pack: bring as many hiking pants as you own, and then buy more- you are constantly sweaty and dirty- and bring your own biodegradable hair conditioner- they only supply shampoo and soap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews