We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sotupa Eco House(Puerto Maldonado)
$120
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
$85
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ecoaldea Kapievi(Puerto Maldonado)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amazon Yoga Centre(Puerto Maldonado)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$31
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
694
170
35
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
170
35
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest expeditionsopen wallthe rivertree climbingharpy eagletambopata research centrehour boat rideclay lickfarm visitopen airbeautiful lodgemosquito nethot waterserved buffet stylea great experiencefood was greatfew hours
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 919 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I spent a week with Rainforest Expeditions, going both to Refugio Amazonas and Tambopata Research Center. At Refugio Amazonas, I spent two nights. It was absolutely amazing, and I had a fantastic time. The lodge was beautiful. I traveled on my own and was paired up with one other traveler and our guide Cesar. First, Cesar was a fantastic guide. I couldn't have asked for more. Second, you wouldn't think that a lodge in the midst of the Amazon jungle with no electricity (only for a few hours at night) and no hot water could be so nice. But this was truly luxury in the jungle. The room was beautiful, and the food was great. I loved my stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent 6 nights between Refugio Amazonas (approx 4 hours up river from Puerto Maldonado) and Tambopata Research Centre (approx 8 hours up river). The week was magical.Refugio is better accommodation with en suite. The Research Centre is comfortable but you have only shared bathrooms. Both have amazing bedrooms with 3 walls and one just open to the view of the rainforest. Both have excellent food - not a lot of choice but very tasty and they even brought me something special when pimento was on the menu. A couple of nights at the Research Centre is a must so you can see the macaws and the clay lick. Also a lot more animals because it is in the national reserve and more protected. We booked through Rainforest Expeditions and we had a guide just for the two of us for the week. Jungle walking tours are so interesting and sneaking into the jungle at 5am to see the macaws and parrots on the clay lick is a very special experience.

Room Tip: Bring a torch. There are only candles and lanterns in the rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Having just returned from our holiday across South America, our three night stay in Refugio Amazonas was one of the best experiences of all. A magical adventure where we were lucky enough to meet with some fabulous fellow travellers and guided by a very knowledgable an likeable Robin! All the staff were Extremely friendly making for a very relaxed and comfortable stay. Lodges were different from the normal holiday accommodation with cold water and open air aspect, but this only enhanced the whole experience. Highly recommended by all our party and well done Danielle for website.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_TMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I looked at a ton of places in the Tambopata reserve, reluctant to make a decision. In the end we were super glad to have gone with Refugio Amazonas for 3 nights. It sounds to me like some bad reviews come from people having bizarre expectations from an eco tourism/remote jungle experience. The lodge is absolutely beautiful, the food pretty tasty and the guides (esp. Daniel) first class. Privacy is not the forte of the lodge, maybe my only complaint. The activities we're a lot of walking and chill out nature time; which was just fine for us. Make sure you know what you're getting and chances are very high you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrieSeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice authentic jungle lodge. Comfortable room. Our boys (9, 11) enjoyed the open air (cold) showers becasue the butterflys would fly in while they were showering. Food was supersisingly good. Wifi for few hours a day. Great guides, very knowledgeable, friendly. Great numbers and variety of birds. Truly a bird lovers paradise. However, paucity of other animals. We saw a Jaguar and Caiman on the boat ride in, otherwise a few large "rodents" and few monkeys. No waterwalls or lakes to swim in, just fyi. We did the following hikes: canopy tower, parakeet lick, mammal lick, Sacyacavayoc lake, brazil nut camp. Most hikes you had to use mud boots provided by the lodge. Not the best fit, particularly for a 6 hour hike, we did ok, several older people there did have some complaints about the boots. The bird lovers were the most happy. If you have never been to a rain forest this will be a nice intro, but does not compare to belize, dominca, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junaid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews