We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent find in the jungle”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An excellent find in the jungle”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is an amazing place. The cost includes transport from & to the airport to where you leave your luggage and then up river to the lodge. They wait for each flight that comes in. Food is wonderful and our guide, Ivan was the best we've ever had. All the day & night walks are included. If you go with your family ask for a 4 bedded room - it's fantastic value & all inclusive. The cold showers take some getting use to but you'll need 3 a day to cool down. I can't stress how marvellous this place is and matches the best places in Africa we've been to at a fraction of the cost. Don't be tempted to book via an agent - the price will go up - booking direct is really easy and their e-mail communication is brilliant. Be careful of the floors - they are doused with petrol at regular intervals to stop the termites eating the place - but the foors are very slippy as a result. Electric generator is put on for a few hours each day to re-charge torches and cameras.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank addicted2travelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    143
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
199
320
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The entire trip was amazing .... The hotel is beautiful, the food so fresh and tasty, and most of all, the activities and informative guide were top notch. Our guide, Frank was helpful, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to be around..... He truly made this trip go from great to amazing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trine-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

After arriving in the tiny, airless airport, a slightly terrifying hour bus ride to a port, a 3 hour journey up the Amazon river, and a 15 minute uphill hike.. I would have been glad to see a tent. However, the lodge which appeared through the trees was simply stunning. The whole lodge/building is on stilts. The main lodge is two storeys high, with a bar, lounge, massage room, shop and dining area on the ground floor, and on the top floor there are hammocks, more lounge area and a small video bit. The bar does amazing cocktails and ice cream in the evenings, although remember to bring enough cash to see you through your stay for the bar bill - no cash machines here!
The bedrooms are in seperate lodges connected to the main by raised walkways - they are seperated from each other by wooden walls, so you can hear your neighbours, but to be honest you're not here for the sanitised quiet air conditioned type holiday! They are open on one side to the jungle (don't worry, at least 20 feet between your room and the actual foliage) and there are three single beds in each room. Each has a mosquito net on it and you soon become an expert with it. The bathrooms are all wooden panelled and the shower (cold, believe me you won't care about hot water) has one of those rain shower heads.
The food is delicious. Be prepared for early mornings. Take a couple of torches as it gets dark quick and the kerosene lamps get blown out fairly early. Insect repellant is a must, and long trousers for the hikes. Take a good book.
The tour guides are lovely, we had Ivan who was increadibly knowledgable and funny, and we met really lovely people when there!
I couldn't recommend it enough! Especially the swim in the Amazon on the last day. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathMissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We loved the rainforest, the staff was wonderful. It was a new experience, the rooms open to the outside, the butterflies, the smell of the forest after a rain, the early morning, the peaceful feeling that there is no buildings beyond the complex. We liked the hikes, saw monkeys not in a zoo, caiman, pigs. We have 2 teens, 15 & 17 yr old and they said it was one of the best things we did in Peru. All of us exposed to a totally different lifestyle, trip to a nearby farm, men panning for gold on the river, people in town. If we could would do it again, we would. It was beautiful and fascinating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

It was an amazing lodge, only thing is the location took a while, took away from our vacation having to travel for 3 hours to the lodge and back. It was very humid and would be great if they had a pool. We didn't see much wildlife and I was very sad that there were no macaws or parrots. The food was excellent, but if you didn't go early to supper you'd risk the chance of not eating at all.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_V_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in December, children enjoyed their time there. With your own guide, service is very personal and you can have a say in what you do. Rooms are unusual, open to the jungle on one side, but the mozzy nets are very good. Food is excellent. An expensive place but worth the money for the level of attention and service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Don't expect to be able to "do your own thing" when taking a rainforest trip to Refugio Amazonas. Your days will be organised from dawn to dusk, and beyond if you go caiman hunting (cameras only) at night! Guides are local, enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Situated two hours up river from Puerto Maldonado in the Tambopata Reserve, the Refuge (I prefer to call it a forest lodge), is close to the river and deep into the rainforest. Neighbours are some distance away and most of them are subsistence farmers whom the Refuge supports by buying some of their produce and saving them the long boat trip to market in Puerto Maldonado.

The bedrooms at the lodge are in stilted wooden structures and are open to the forest. You do not need an alarm clock - the dawn chorus is close by and noisy. Guided activities are concentrated in early morning and later afternoon, leaving the hottest part of the day for relaxation back at the lodge. Be ready for early starts; the proximity to the equator means more or less 12 hours day and 12 hours night, and that means it is light from around 6:00am to around 6:00pm. The bedrooms have no electric lighting so a few days of going early to bed and early to rise seems perfectly natural.

Opportunities for viewing wildlife are good, but real "birders" may wish to consider an additional excursion further up river to the more remote Tambopata Research Centre which can offer more variety and numbers.

Catering at Refugio Amazonas is fairly basic but offers ample opportunities for guests to try tropical fruit and vegetables. Meal times are fixed and there is something of a noisy school canteen atmosphere in the big communal dining room. Guests queue self service style to be served by the lodge staff and the pace of the days' activities mean that most guests are more than ready to get in line when the grub appears!

The Refugio Amazonas offers a good introduction to the vast range of animal and vegetable species in the Amazon basin. A very worthwhile jungle experience made comfortable by the excellent staff and thoughtfully planned accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRowBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
9.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
32.3 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#13 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Property: Refugio Amazonas
Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing